What's new
Van's Air Force

Don't miss anything! Register now for full access to the definitive RV support community.

static line

bobnoffs

Well Known Member
hi all,
anyone found inaccuracies in airspeed etc. by just putting a filter on the static port of an instrument and let it sample air from the avionics bay?
i am a vfr only pilot. seems like less places for the static line to plug up etc. i could never see any inaccuracy the last time i did this but am wondering if others have noticed the same.

hi all,
anyone found inaccuracies in airspeed etc. by just putting a filter on the static port of an instrument and let it sample air from the avionics bay?
i am a vfr only pilot. seems like less places for the static line to plug up etc. i could never see any inaccuracy the last time i did this but am wondering if others have noticed the same.

Air inside the aircraft is not necessarily "static". Open and closing outside vents will change the "static" inside the fuselage.
On low speed aircraft like Cubs & such this is sometimes acceptable, but not in an aircraft like the RV.

Mel's advise is as usual valid. I failed to secure a static connection one time after messing with an autopilot. opening or closing a cabin vent would make the autopilot change altitude because it was reading cabin static.

My Alternate static source valve switch from Stein is cockpit air behind the panel.

Open the valve in cruise with vents open or closed on the autopilot and the plane descends 30 to 50'.

Lots of posts with reported airspeed errors due to static port issues, recommend you go with the stock van's setup.

Question about static air

I was wondering why cabin air cannot be used as a static air source. If it could be used, there would be no need for static plumbing. I assume the reason is that cabin air pressure varies due to aerodynamic effects of the aircraft?s speed, e.g. inlet ram air from ventilation ducts, suction from Venturi effect of airflow around the fuselage, etc.