VansAirForceForums  
Home > VansAirForceForums

- POSTING RULES
- Donate yearly (please).
- Advertise in here!

- Today's Posts | Insert Pics

  #1  
Old 03-30-2020, 12:04 PM
jbDC9 jbDC9 is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 825
Default OAT probe, shared output?

Here's a dumb question I'm sure, and I've searched the archives but haven't found the answer yet, so here goes...

Can a single OAT probe split the signal to feed 2 different instruments? I'm installing a dual G5 system with the GAD13 OAT to be fed by a Davtron probe. But, I'm also installing a uAvionix AV-20S as a backup EFIS; the AV-20S has provisions for OAT input for for the usual TAS/DALT functions. I'm hoping to avoid having another OAT probe sticking out... but then again, with the G5 having OAT functions enabled, I could probably just skip the OAT input to the AV-20.

What say ye smart fellers?
__________________
John Bixby
RV-8 QB sn 82030 - 1650 hrs
O-360-A1D/CS/Pmags
Houston, TX
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-30-2020, 01:05 PM
airguy's Avatar
airguy airguy is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Garden City, Tx
Posts: 4,952
Default

Most OAT probes are simple resistance devices - needs a voltage across it and read the current going through it - not something that lends itself to multiple devices trying to share it.
__________________
Greg Niehues - SEL, IFR, Repairman Cert.
Garden City, TX VAF 2020 dues paid
N16GN flying 600 hrs and counting! IO360, SDS, WWRV200, Dynon glass, 430W
Built an off-plan KC9A with too much fuel and too much HP. Should drop dead any minute now.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-30-2020, 01:09 PM
ColoradoSolar ColoradoSolar is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2018
Location: Westcliffe, Colorado
Posts: 43
Default

I doubt that will work as each device would be expecting to be the only one controlling the sensor.
__________________
Eric Vickery

RV-6A Tip-Up Bought Flying
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-30-2020, 03:18 PM
lr172 lr172 is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Schaumburg, IL
Posts: 4,879
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jbDC9 View Post
Here's a dumb question I'm sure, and I've searched the archives but haven't found the answer yet, so here goes...

Can a single OAT probe split the signal to feed 2 different instruments? I'm installing a dual G5 system with the GAD13 OAT to be fed by a Davtron probe. But, I'm also installing a uAvionix AV-20S as a backup EFIS; the AV-20S has provisions for OAT input for for the usual TAS/DALT functions. I'm hoping to avoid having another OAT probe sticking out... but then again, with the G5 having OAT functions enabled, I could probably just skip the OAT input to the AV-20.

What say ye smart fellers?
agree with others that sharing is highly unlikely. Not sure why you would need TAS for your backup EFIS. Assuming you only plan to use it if the primary EFIS fails, TAS is relatively unimportant. It's mostly for flight planning, fuel consumption, etc. Im guessing you have Ground speed presented somewhere else, if not the av-20. I don't have an OAT on my GRT mini (backup) and don't feel that it is a compromise for it's intended purpose. It provides GPS speed.

Larry
__________________
N64LR - RV-6A / IO-320, Flying as of 8/2015
N11LR - RV-10, Flying as of 12/2019

Last edited by lr172 : 03-30-2020 at 03:21 PM.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:15 PM.


The VAFForums come to you courtesy Delta Romeo, LLC. By viewing and participating in them you agree to build your plane using standardized methods and practices and to fly it safely and in accordance with the laws governing the country you are located in.