VansAirForceForums  
Home > VansAirForceForums

- POSTING RULES
- Donate yearly (please).
- Advertise in here!

- Today's Posts | Insert Pics

  #11  
Old 03-11-2020, 11:12 AM
vic syracuse vic syracuse is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Locust Grove, GA
Posts: 2,567
Default Connected to GTR 225

I installed this setup in my son's airplane and can't seem to make this function work:
Should the GNX 175 send frequencies to the Garmin 225? It looks like it should according to the manuals, but the frequencies don't seem to do anything on the 175 when touched, and I don't see an option to "send".
175 configured for Aviation output 1 on serial 3, and 225 configured for aviation in.

Thanks.

Vic
__________________
Vic Syracuse

Built RV-4, RV-6, 2-RV-10's, RV-7A, RV-8, Prescott Pusher, Kitfox Model II, Kitfox Speedster, Kitfox 7 Super Sport, Just Superstol, DAR, A&P/IA, EAA Tech Counselor/Flight Advisor, CFII-ASMEL/ASES
Kitplanes "Unairworthy" monthly feature
EAA Sport Aviation "Checkpoints" column
EAA Homebuilt Council Chair/member EAA BOD
www.Baselegaviation.com
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 03-11-2020, 12:04 PM
FlyingBanker's Avatar
FlyingBanker FlyingBanker is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Location: Eatonton, GA
Posts: 139
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by vic syracuse View Post
I installed this setup in my son's airplane and can't seem to make this function work:
Should the GNX 175 send frequencies to the Garmin 225? It looks like it should according to the manuals, but the frequencies don't seem to do anything on the 175 when touched, and I don't see an option to "send".
175 configured for Aviation output 1 on serial 3, and 225 configured for aviation in.

Thanks.

Vic
I'm having the same issue with the GNX 375 that was just installed in my plane - touching frequencies on the 375 does nothing and no option to "send" to the G3X or GTR 20.
__________________
Jim Bedsole
N62MG - RV-6A "Promises" - bought flying
Dues Paid
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 03-11-2020, 12:22 PM
agirard7a's Avatar
agirard7a agirard7a is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Newport, RI
Posts: 679
Default Push frequencies

I am almost 100% sure that I read in earlier posts by the g3 expert that the 175 and 375 does not push frequencies to the radios.
__________________
Al Girard, Newport, RI
N339AG
RV-9
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 03-11-2020, 12:27 PM
Raymo's Avatar
Raymo Raymo is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Richmond Hill, GA (KLHW)
Posts: 2,156
Default

The G5 install manual for experimental contains a lot of the wiring information needed for the 2" navigators.
__________________
Ray
RV-7A - Slider - N495KL - First flt 27 Jan 17
O-360-A4M w/ AFP FM-150 FI, Dual PMags, Vetterman Trombone Exh, SkyTech starter, BandC Alt (PP failed after 226 hrs)
Catto 3 blade NLE, FlightLines Interior, James cowl, plenum & intake, Anti-Splat -14 seat mod and nose gear support
All lines by TSFlightLines (aka Hoser)
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 03-11-2020, 03:50 PM
g3xpert's Avatar
g3xpert g3xpert is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Olathe, KS
Posts: 2,774
Default GNX 375 Tuning

Quote:
Originally Posted by vic syracuse View Post
I installed this setup in my son's airplane and can't seem to make this function work:
Should the GNX 175 send frequencies to the Garmin 225? It looks like it should according to the manuals, but the frequencies don't seem to do anything on the 175 when touched, and I don't see an option to "send".
175 configured for Aviation output 1 on serial 3, and 225 configured for aviation in.

Thanks.

Vic
Vic,

The Aviation Ouput of the GPS 175 provides GPS position data to the GTR 225, so that the GTR can cross reference the current aircraft position with its internal frequency database. It does not however allow you to tune the standby frequency of the GTR 225.

Thanks,

Justin
__________________
Garmin G3X Support
g3xpert@garmin.com
1-866-854-8433 - 7 to 7 Central Time M to F
Please email us for support instead of using Private Messaging due to the limitations of the latter.
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 03-30-2020, 06:49 PM
pmillard pmillard is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2019
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 10
Default

Hi Justin,

I recently installed a GPS175 and GTR225 in my plane. Love both.

My understanding was that the 175 didn't "push" frequency information to the 225 like my Aera 660 used to.

If I now go ahead and connect the two, what I will I see on the 225 display?

Thanks...Peter
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 03-31-2020, 10:12 AM
g3xpert's Avatar
g3xpert g3xpert is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Olathe, KS
Posts: 2,774
Default GTR 225

Quote:
Originally Posted by pmillard View Post
Hi Justin,

I recently installed a GPS175 and GTR225 in my plane. Love both.

My understanding was that the 175 didn't "push" frequency information to the 225 like my Aera 660 used to.

If I now go ahead and connect the two, what I will I see on the 225 display?

Thanks...Peter
Peter,

That is correct, the GPS 175 can provide GPS position data to the GTR 225 however. The GTR 225 will use that GPS position data to cross reference its internal frequency database.

Thanks,

Justin
__________________
Garmin G3X Support
g3xpert@garmin.com
1-866-854-8433 - 7 to 7 Central Time M to F
Please email us for support instead of using Private Messaging due to the limitations of the latter.
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 03-31-2020, 11:29 AM
pmillard pmillard is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2019
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 10
Default

Thanks Justin,

So what is the benefit of cross referencing the internal frequency database? Will the GTR 225 display show anything differently? Or is it just an internal thing between the two units?

Thanks...Peter
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 03-31-2020, 11:53 AM
g3xpert's Avatar
g3xpert g3xpert is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Olathe, KS
Posts: 2,774
Default GTR 225

Quote:
Originally Posted by pmillard View Post
Thanks Justin,

So what is the benefit of cross referencing the internal frequency database? Will the GTR 225 display show anything differently? Or is it just an internal thing between the two units?

Thanks...Peter
The GTR 225 has Nearest Frequency lists of a few different kinds, it needs GPS to generate them. Also, it uses GPS determine and display the station identifier for the selected frequency.

Thanks,

Justin
__________________
Garmin G3X Support
g3xpert@garmin.com
1-866-854-8433 - 7 to 7 Central Time M to F
Please email us for support instead of using Private Messaging due to the limitations of the latter.

Last edited by g3xpert : 03-31-2020 at 11:54 AM. Reason: Typo
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 03-31-2020, 12:32 PM
MS19087's Avatar
MS19087 MS19087 is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: West Chester, PA
Posts: 647
Default g3xpert question . . . Future feature?

Quote:
Originally Posted by g3xpert View Post
Vic,

The Aviation Ouput of the GPS 175 provides GPS position data to the GTR 225, so that the GTR can cross reference the current aircraft position with its internal frequency database. It does not however allow you to tune the standby frequency of the GTR 225.

Thanks,

Justin
g3xpert . . .
Will this be a future feature? It is very useful - had it on my previous 796 and loved it.
__________________
Mark
RV-9A; N91RV Sold
RV-14A; building
2020 =VAF= donor
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:55 PM.


The VAFForums come to you courtesy Delta Romeo, LLC. By viewing and participating in them you agree to build your plane using standardized methods and practices and to fly it safely and in accordance with the laws governing the country you are located in.