VansAirForceForums  
Home > VansAirForceForums

- POSTING RULES
- Donate yearly (please).
- Advertise in here!

- Today's Posts | Insert Pics

  #1  
Old 05-26-2018, 07:57 AM
Carl Froehlich's Avatar
Carl Froehlich Carl Froehlich is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Dogwood Airpark (VA42)
Posts: 1,530
Default Need to decide on an audio panel

Iím just about ready to pull the trigger on the second large avionic buy (dual SkyView install). I was planning on using the PS Engineering PDA360EX audio panel but for for the extra $1K over the Dynon Audio Panel I get Bluetooth - nice but for calling to get IFR clearance I currently use the Bluetooth in the headset.

Those you are using the Dynon audio panel - happy?

Carl
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 05-26-2018, 08:15 AM
rvator51's Avatar
rvator51 rvator51 is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Peoria, AZ
Posts: 1,006
Default

I have the Dynon intercom and it has worked great for me. But Dynon now says not to use it to control two radios as it doesnít have a transmit inhibit function and the two radios could interfere with each other. Dynon told me they are trying to fix it with software changes but that was a year ago. So for one radio, intercom works fine. For two radios, potentially not so much. Also there is not a pilot isolate switch on the intercom which Would be nice to have.
__________________
Regards,

Thomas Velvick
Goodyear, AZ (KGYR)

2017 Donation sent.

N53KT RV-6a Flying
N7053L RV-4 Wife's RV (RV4chick's blog)
N56KT RV-4 Finishing
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-27-2018, 04:59 AM
Mark Dickens's Avatar
Mark Dickens Mark Dickens is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Collierville, TN (KFYE)
Posts: 957
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by rvator51 View Post
I have the Dynon intercom and it has worked great for me. But Dynon now says not to use it to control two radios as it doesnít have a transmit inhibit function and the two radios could interfere with each other. Dynon told me they are trying to fix it with software changes but that was a year ago. So for one radio, intercom works fine. For two radios, potentially not so much. Also there is not a pilot isolate switch on the intercom which Would be nice to have.
I have their intercom and while I probably would opt for another if I had to do it again, itís worked well for me with two radios. I missed Dynonís warning about this. Where was this posted? Also since it doesnít actually ďcontrolĒ the radios, I am confused about that. I have a separate switch to select which transmitter is keyed.
__________________
RV-8 #81077 Super Slow Build
Titan IOX-370, Dual P-Mags, AFP FM200A FI, Sensenich GA Prop
First Flight November 20, 2016 - Phase One Complete June 1, 2017
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 05-27-2018, 05:56 AM
rleffler's Avatar
rleffler rleffler is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Delaware, OH (KDLZ)
Posts: 3,888
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Carl Froehlich View Post
Iím just about ready to pull the trigger on the second large avionic buy (dual SkyView install). I was planning on using the PS Engineering PDA360EX audio panel but for for the extra $1K over the Dynon Audio Panel I get Bluetooth - nice but for calling to get IFR clearance I currently use the Bluetooth in the headset.

Those you are using the Dynon audio panel - happy?

Carl
I canít offer any opinions on the Dynon. Iíve got a PSE8000BT that works as advertised. They have a new model that was just realized that supports two Bluetooth sources.

Mine is currently setup for phone that I use primarily for clearances. But on long trips it would be nice for music too.
__________________
Bob Leffler
N410BL - RV10 Flying
http://mykitlog.com/rleffler
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 05-27-2018, 06:35 AM
Jesse's Avatar
Jesse Jesse is online now
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: X35 - Ocala, FL
Posts: 3,496
Default

The Dynon is an intercom, not an audio panel. As is mentioned, it can work with 2 com radios, but is no longer recommended for that. The main problem is the crossfeed you can get when transmitting from one com while the other has the volume turned on/up. You basically control which you listen to with volume and then switch which one you transmit on.

As you said, Bluetooth in the headset is often enough, especially if your passenger doesnít like the same music as you do. I personally rarely listen to music, but if my passenger wants to, Iíll let them do it through their headset. I think it would be nice to have a poll of how many people use music ports, headset Bluetooth or audio panel Bluetooth to listen to music and/or make phone calls (of course, only for clearance on the ground).
__________________
Jesse Saint (Saint Aviation, Inc. - VAF Advertiser)
352-427-0285
jesse@saintaviation.com
RV Hotel (hangar, room, car) at X35 in north FL

Commercial ASEL/S A&P/IA EAA Technical Counselor

Dynamic Prop Balancing, Prebuy Inspections, Condition Inspections, Repairs and Mods, Injector Tuning, Airframe, Engine, Panel Upgrades, Ferrying, etc.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 05-27-2018, 02:58 PM
RONSIM's Avatar
RONSIM RONSIM is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Largo, FL
Posts: 828
Default +1 For the PSA 8000BT

Very nice unit, and bluetooths to my headset/telephone --- handy for making and answering phone calls (on the ground) --- I have never listened to anything other than ATC in flight, (and my wife), so the music, etc capabilities are never utilized.

Ron
__________________
RV-10 Co-built, maintained, flown (sold)
RV-8A Maintained and flown (Sold)
RV-6A Bought and Flying (N177RV), upgrades $$$
IO360, 180HP/CS, AFS 5600T, D10A, G650, G430, G327, ADS-B, VIZ385
Very Happy Contributor
Comm, CFII, A&P
Based at KCLW (Clearwater, FL)
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 05-27-2018, 05:51 PM
BobTurner BobTurner is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Livermore, CA
Posts: 5,193
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jesse View Post
The Dynon is an intercom, not an audio panel. As is mentioned, it can work with 2 com radios, but is no longer recommended for that. The main problem is the crossfeed you can get when transmitting from one com while the other has the volume turned on/up. You basically control which you listen to with volume and then switch which one you transmit on.

).
The crossfeed issue is easily delt with if the radio has an audio mute input (e.g., Garmin 430 series). Just run an extra wire from the #1 PTT line to the #2 audio mute input, and similarly for #2 PTT and #1 audio mute. This does mean that you cannot receive on #2 while transmitting on #1, but if you have a cross-feed issue that would interfere with reception anyway.
I use this wiring with my home-brew intercom ‘audio panel’ and have zero crossfeed problems.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 06-04-2018, 10:32 PM
lr172 lr172 is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Schaumburg, IL
Posts: 2,885
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by rvator51 View Post
I have the Dynon intercom and it has worked great for me. But Dynon now says not to use it to control two radios as it doesn’t have a transmit inhibit function and the two radios could interfere with each other. Dynon told me they are trying to fix it with software changes but that was a year ago. So for one radio, intercom works fine. For two radios, potentially not so much. Also there is not a pilot isolate switch on the intercom which Would be nice to have.
Most radios have a xmit interconnect to solve this issue. Connect unit A's PTT to Unit B's xmit interconnect and vice versa. When the radio sees the ground on the xmit interconnect pin, it inhibits reception. You shouldn't need any intercom functionality to make this work. It's possible the Dynon radios don't have this feature and why they made that recommendation, but most radios have it.

Larry
__________________
N64LR
RV-6A / IO-320, Flying as of 8/2015
RV-10 in progress

Last edited by lr172 : 06-04-2018 at 10:36 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 06-05-2018, 07:27 AM
Canadian_JOY Canadian_JOY is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 1,683
Default

Our aircraft had a PMA8000B audio panel and it worked very well. Wanting Bluetooth functionality, and thanks to a member here who was liquidating some avionics, I purchased and installed a PDA360EX.

I was hesitant to make the switch to the EX because, well, the PMA8000 sets a pretty darned high standard and I was afraid of what PS Engineering might have cut out of the EX in order to get the cost down.

I should never have feared. PS Engineering will not cut corners on audio quality. The PDA360EX works beautifully. I'm glad I have the Bluetooth capability and appreciate how it is integrated, especially for telephone functionality. I've had several calls in the air trying to coordinate ground resources and most folks simply cannot believe one half of the conversation is coming from the airplane.

As far as having multiple comms, the transmitter inhibit as mentioned above is a great feature to use if you have a simple audio system. While that feature works, it's not nearly as nice as having a real audio panel. You might change radios over time, but if you've got a good audio panel and it's well installed, you will never regret having it and it will quickly become the one thing in your airplane you just won't change (unless it's for a newer, more feature rich model from PS Engineering, as I've recently learned!).

Never scrimp on the installation of the audio panel. Wire it right, especially when it comes to shielding of wires. After all, your ears are listening to that audio every second you fly. A well-installed audio panel is the core of an avionics installation so do it right and you'll be a very happy camper for many years to come.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 06-05-2018, 08:41 AM
az_gila's Avatar
az_gila az_gila is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: 57AZ - NW Tucson area
Posts: 9,421
Smile

Quote:
Originally Posted by lr172 View Post
Most radios have a xmit interconnect to solve this issue. Connect unit A's PTT to Unit B's xmit interconnect and vice versa. When the radio sees the ground on the xmit interconnect pin, it inhibits reception. You shouldn't need any intercom functionality to make this work. It's possible the Dynon radios don't have this feature and why they made that recommendation, but most radios have it.

Larry
As I read the Skyview manual, the 25K "US version" Comm radio does not have a Transmit Inhibit input while the 8.66K "EU version" Comm does.
__________________
Gil Alexander
EAA Technical Counselor, Airframe Mechanic
Half completed RV-10 QB purchased
RV-6A N61GX - finally flying
Grumman Tiger N12GA - flying
La Cholla Airpark (57AZ) Tucson AZ
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:38 AM.


The VAFForums come to you courtesy Delta Romeo, LLC. By viewing and participating in them you agree to build your plane using standardized methods and practices and to fly it safely and in accordance with the laws governing the country you are located in.