VansAirForceForums  
Home > VansAirForceForums

- POSTING RULES
- Donate yearly (please).
- Advertise in here!

- Today's Posts | Insert Pics


Go Back   VAF Forums > Regional Forums > Canada
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-07-2015, 06:36 PM
terry.mortimore terry.mortimore is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Sault Ste Marie, Ontario Canada
Posts: 178
Default MD-RA requires avionics shop to test pitot?

Hi gang:

I was just reading the March issue of COPA magazine which had an article about MD-RA.

In the article there is a paragraph that states that it is necessary to have a "Certified avionics shop" test the pitot static pressure system as well as any instruments or avionics associated with that such as the Altimeter, Transponder, Encoder, etc.

To my knowledge there is no Certified Avionics shop here in the Sault and I would guess the closest one would be in Southern Ontario.

I'm wondering how I will manage this, some sort of ferry permit once the airplane is flying?

Any first hand experience out there?

Terry.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-07-2015, 09:52 PM
SMO's Avatar
SMO SMO is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Salmon Arm, BC
Posts: 892
Default

I believe this is just for the purpose of certifying the transponder/encoder, and validate the same against the altimeter. A transponder is not required equipment except to enter certain airspace. Therefore you are legal to fly anywhere a transponder is not required. What I did was fly to an avionics shop located at an airport whose airspace did not require a transponder. I did this after the test hours were flown off - my test area did not include any "transponder required" airspace.
__________________
Mark Olson
1987 RV-4 Sold
2003 Super Decathlon - Sold
F1 EVO Rocket, first flight May 31/14

Last edited by SMO : 03-07-2015 at 09:55 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-08-2015, 07:40 AM
Ron B. Ron B. is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Yarmouth, Nova Scotia
Posts: 2,120
Default

I just had my fuselage inspected and my MR-RA inspector said that they just had an MR-RA refresher coarse and that changes were coming to the MD-RA program. One was what was mentioned in the OP. He did not say they were in effect now as stated in COPA. HE also did not know how we could comply other than have a shop come to the build site. A lot of people do not know what rural means and think planes are only built in large cities that have avionic shops just down the block (what's a block).
__________________
Thanks Ron
RV-10 SOLD
RV-14 Flying
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-08-2015, 10:59 AM
terry.mortimore terry.mortimore is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Sault Ste Marie, Ontario Canada
Posts: 178
Default MD-RA requires avionics shop to test pitot

Thanks for the replies.

My original plan was to test the Pitot system using the following.

http://www.iflyez.com/manometer.shtml

I'm sure this would have calibrated my airspeed indicator accurately enough to allow the initial flights. Once the 40 hours are flown off I can fly to a avionics shop to have the encoder and transponder checked.

I hope MD-RA is not going to paint us into a corner here.


Terry.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 03-08-2015, 02:54 PM
Ron B. Ron B. is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Yarmouth, Nova Scotia
Posts: 2,120
Default

He also advised that Transport Canada wants very little to do with us (my interpretation of our discussion)and is tasking MD-RA with more duties. It will soon be MD-RA issuing the final C of A after the time is flown off.
In the past the builder could increase the gross weight as long as the wing loading was within Transport Canada's limits from now on we will need the blessing of the kit manufacturer. I'm sure the kit manufacturers will be happy with this.
__________________
Thanks Ron
RV-10 SOLD
RV-14 Flying
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 03-08-2015, 08:32 PM
kamikaze kamikaze is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Ottawa, ON, Canada
Posts: 353
Default

This is a common service in the certified world ... ask any Cessna owner near you who the use for their "24 month avionics check" (it has to be done every 2 years BTW).

As was mentioned, only required to operate in controlled airspace. Find a shop that isn't in such an airspace, and you should be golden. Some will travel to you, the equipment fits in the trunk of a car.

Lachute, near montreal, has a shop that will do it for you while you wait ... you can get there without ever entering any controlled airspace ... Long ways to go for you though!

Peterborough also has a shop (Toronto Avionics) ... another place you can get to without controlled airspace ... more reasonable distance ...

Sault college has an aviation program, maybe they could help?

Make sure you dig deep and find the right company to do business with, you'll need them every 2 years if you want to stay certified.
__________________
J.F.
Sling 4 empennage kit on order!
Future EAA 245 Member (Hopefully)
Current Piper Warrior PA-28-151 Owner/Pilot
Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
http://www.sling4.ninja
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 03-09-2015, 08:21 AM
Snowflake's Avatar
Snowflake Snowflake is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Victoria, BC, Canada
Posts: 2,970
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by terry.mortimore View Post
My original plan was to test the Pitot system using the following.

http://www.iflyez.com/manometer.shtml
You should do this anyway. It will be much more economical if you can go to the avionics shop knowing you have no leaks... You won't be paying for their time to chase them down.

How these tests are performed seems to vary from shop to shop. Some want to remove your airspeed and altimeter gauges to their bench for testing, some will test in the airplane. I don't know what they do when your AHARS is mounted in the tail of the airplane and your backup instruments are teed off and mounted in the panel.
__________________
Rob Prior
1996 RV-6 "Tweety" C-FRBP (formerly N196RV)
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 03-09-2015, 09:14 AM
kamikaze kamikaze is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Ottawa, ON, Canada
Posts: 353
Default

The ASI is not part of the process for certification for controlled airspace. That only affects transponder, encoder, altimeter and pitot-static.

It certainly can be a good idea to check and calibrate your ASI mind you, but that's a separate issue.

There are schools of thought on the best way to check your altimeter calibration. If you're going to unplug your altimeter anyways, it's just a few more screws to pull it out. Some people test your altimeter in place, but use the tubing that's there ... which would be a not as clean solution, since leaks in the system could skew the results. For best results, pull it out ... once again though, the "bench test" can be fully portable.

Even though there are several avionics shop in the neighborhood around me, I still struggled to find them. Many don't have websites, and you have to ask around.

Another source of info would be a nearby AME that does annuals on certified aircraft (i.e. your average Cessna/Piper type AME). He likely refers his clients to *someone* for this work ...
__________________
J.F.
Sling 4 empennage kit on order!
Future EAA 245 Member (Hopefully)
Current Piper Warrior PA-28-151 Owner/Pilot
Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
http://www.sling4.ninja
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 11-09-2017, 09:32 AM
rv7guy2 rv7guy2 is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 60
Default MD-RA-avionics shop requirements

Hi Terry

I've used Geoff Lee at Tailwind Aviation Services on several occasions for my pitot-static certification for my RV-7 . He's at Tillsonburg airport. Here's the link. "http://www.tailwindaviation.ca/"
He's done several RV's own here in these parts of S W Ontario..he knows what he's doing and will sign your aircraft logbooks and issue the proper paperwork. VERY reasonably priced. Send him an email or give him a call. He may have some suggestions on how to solve your issue.
I've flown from the Sault to my homebase at Stratford , CYSA, in my RV-7 in just a tad over 1 1/2 hours..Tillsonburg is about 15 minutes further on. Nice little airport with a good breakfast/lunch counter.

Good luck
Dave C
RV-7
C-GCPD
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:57 AM.


The VAFForums come to you courtesy Delta Romeo, LLC. By viewing and participating in them you agree to build your plane using standardized methods and practices and to fly it safely and in accordance with the laws governing the country you are located in.