What's new
Van's Air Force

Don't miss anything! Register now for full access to the definitive RV support community.

A few RV-12 questions

garyr78

I may be asking a number of inane questions, but it is because I am convinced that I want to build an RV-12 and being an Engineer I tend to over analyze things before I make a decision.

Q1: Is my understanding correct that one really does not need to keep a build log for the RV-12 ELSA, since one has to take the 16 hour maintenance course regardless, to be able to do Condition Inspections?

Q2: My unscientific analysis of the last year of RV-12 postings and review of builder's websites that have completed and are flying their planes, seems to show that RV-12 owners tend to fly more hours per year than typical RV owners. Is this true or am I delusional?

Q3: I've reviewed a number of build logs and web sites where the builders have completed their RV-12s in 12-14 months. Is this atypical or reasonable. I have a full time job but can easily put 20 hours per week into the build so by my calculations it seems realistic. I'd like to finish it in time to fly it to Oshkosh 2017.

Q4: Does it make sense to order the empennage and wing kit at the same time?

Thanks.

Gary, I can't answer your first two questions because I built my 12 as an EAB,
and I really don't know if 12 owners fly more than the other model owners. I don't fly my 12 as much as I did my 8, but it was aerobatic and I loved doing some simple maneuvers.

As for your third question about build time, I finished my very basic 12 (No
wheel fairings, lights or paint, in about 800 hours.

With question four, my feeling is that you should just buy the empennage at
first to see if building a plane is really your kind of thing. It's relatively easy build, but building any plane is not something to be taken lightly.

Walt Shipley

RV8, RV8A, RV12