What's new
Van's Air Force

Don't miss anything! Register now for full access to the definitive RV support community.

Oxygen System Recommendations?

jswareiv

Well Known Member
Oxygen

I have no mountain experience and will be flying up to Montana this summer. I would like to purchase an oxygen system for the flight in case I have to climb higher than I want to. Any recommendations? It probably won't get much use, but if I need it, I would like it to be available and perform. I can't imagine needing more than a couple of hours for two people. I have a -7. As always, I appreciate the help of the community. Thanks.

Here's what Norm Younie told me about O2:

Go to a medical oxygen supplier and rent a tank ($3/mo) and child's regulator ($15/mo) and buy the oxygen-conserving cannulas for about $30. If you need more than one place, you'll need a tee from the local auto parts store.

Norm says you don't need flow meters if you use the regulator, and he provided the following calibration chart:

11,500ft to 13,500ft .25 liters/min.
13,500ft to 15,500ft .5 liters/min
15,500 to 18,000ft .75 liters/min
above 18,500ft use 1liter/min (supposed to use a mask)

This seems like a good plan for occassional use.

Vern

jswareiv said:
I have no mountain experience and will be flying up to Montana this summer. I would like to purchase an oxygen system for the flight in case I have to climb higher than I want to. Any recommendations? It probably won't get much use, but if I need it, I would like it to be available and perform. I can't imagine needing more than a couple of hours for two people. I have a -7. As always, I appreciate the help of the community. Thanks.

Many options available. Search previous threads.

I heartily recommend the system from Mountain High in Redmond Oregon. A little bit on the expensive side, but I get 30 hours or more out of one fill.

It is so convenient that my wife and I use O2 on almost every flight. We seem less fatigued at the end of the flight.