VansAirForceForums  
Home > VansAirForceForums

- POSTING RULES
- Donate yearly (please).
- Advertise in here!

- Today's Posts | Insert Pics

  #1  
Old 07-31-2018, 02:14 PM
dmat dmat is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Union County, NJ
Posts: 454
Default Removing Steam Back-up?

Hi All,

Would like to get everyone's thought on removing steam gauges all together?

I am installing a g3x system 2x7 inch screens and a G5 and would like to see if it's worth it to keep the steam or just use the G5 as back-up.

Thanks in advance,
Dan
__________________
RV6A - N6389 - flying regularly
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 07-31-2018, 02:49 PM
control control is online now
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Stockholm, Sweden
Posts: 552
Default

I am using a G5 as a primary on my Cozy3 so I cannot imagine the need for an additional backup to that one (provided you have the battery for the G5)
__________________
RV-14 kit #140138
I have entered the 90% done, 90% left to do zone
Http://magnusrv.blogspot.se
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 07-31-2018, 03:02 PM
BobTurner BobTurner is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Livermore, CA
Posts: 5,350
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by control View Post
I am using a G5 as a primary on my Cozy3 so I cannot imagine the need for an additional backup to that one (provided you have the battery for the G5)
I presume the OP is contemplating IFR operation, where it is prudent to ask what you will do if something suddenly rolls over and dies (or worse - very slowly rolls over and dies).

If your existing gyros are vacuum powered, Iíd ditch them. May do more harm than good to have backups that are less reliable than the primary.

I presume the G5 has its own battery.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 07-31-2018, 07:32 PM
Carl Froehlich's Avatar
Carl Froehlich Carl Froehlich is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Dogwood Airpark (VA42)
Posts: 1,721
Default

On new panels I add an analog airspeed instrument. Not as a backup, but as my preferred airspeed indication for take off and landing. On my first glass panel I also added an analog altimeter. I donít anymore as I found I never used it.

Carl
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 07-31-2018, 08:06 PM
grubbat's Avatar
grubbat grubbat is offline
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Ga
Posts: 574
Default Certified lead

Many certified glass panels will also have backup steam airspeed and altimeter gauges. Is it necessary? Maybe not if you only fly VFR and can land your plane without looking at airspeed gauge or that annoying backup altimeter.

If you ever experienced an electronic or software "glitch" that rendered your glass panel a big black hole, then you may want a backup steam gauge or two. Having experienced several experimential glass panel glitches over nasty terrain, once during the approaching evening hours, there is no question that I'll keep airspeed and altimeter steam gauges with my nice experimental glass stuff. It's amazing what runs thru a persons mind when that one pretty colorful panel goes blank........ and they do go blank .........
__________________
Craig

RV-3 Sold
RV-4 Sold
C-140 In a barn
Maule MXT-7 Sold
RV-6a Sold
Twin Comanche - Sold
RV-9 IO-360 CS, Built and Flying
J3-65 Cub - low and slow stuff
Comanche 260 - poor mans RV-10
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 07-31-2018, 09:32 PM
Blain's Avatar
Blain Blain is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: El Dorado Hills, CA
Posts: 652
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by grubbat View Post
Many certified glass panels will also have backup steam airspeed and altimeter gauges. Is it necessary? Maybe not if you only fly VFR and can land your plane without looking at airspeed gauge or that annoying backup altimeter.

If you ever experienced an electronic or software "glitch" that rendered your glass panel a big black hole, then you may want a backup steam gauge or two. Having experienced several experimential glass panel glitches over nasty terrain, once during the approaching evening hours, there is no question that I'll keep airspeed and altimeter steam gauges with my nice experimental glass stuff. It's amazing what runs thru a persons mind when that one pretty colorful panel goes blank........ and they do go blank .........
Alt and AS. I also had my glass go dark over hostile terrain. I find myself cross checking the steam gauges with what the glass has to say. Keeps them both honest...!
__________________
Blain
R-22 sold.
RV-8 AW Cert 02-09-17
N82 Sierra Tango
Avatar courtesy of AircraftStickers.com!
Dues gladly paid thru Nov. 2018(my reminder)
.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 08-01-2018, 06:54 AM
uk_figs's Avatar
uk_figs uk_figs is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Tulsa, OK
Posts: 879
Default +1 on AS and Alt

Also had glass go dark and I do reference the AS, also set the altimeter to the glass as part of checklist.

Personal preference I think as I fly with many people who are straight glass and a number of portables can give you GPS speed and altitude which works in a pinch.
Figs
__________________
Dave (Figs) (RV-7 N256F, Flying)
Dave's RV-7 Blog
Email me
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 08-01-2018, 08:01 AM
dmat dmat is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Union County, NJ
Posts: 454
Default

Thanks Gents. I plan on making the ship IFR when funds become available for a 650. So having back-up's would make me feel better.

Thanks,
D
__________________
RV6A - N6389 - flying regularly
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 08-01-2018, 08:05 AM
Walt's Avatar
Walt Walt is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Dallas/Ft Worth, TX
Posts: 4,839
Default

Not sure why anyone would install an AI, AS, Alt when a single self powered G5 does it all these days. Flown plenty of IFR practice approaches using just the G5 and Ipad.
__________________
Walt Aronow, Dallas, TX (52F) RV7A, IO360, C/S, 1500+hrs

EXP Aircraft Services LLC
Specializing in RV Condition Inspections, Maintenance, Avionics Upgrades
Dynamic Prop Balancing, Pitot-Static Altmeter/Transponder Certification
FAA Certified Repair Station, AP/IA/FCC GROL, EAA Technical Counselor
Authorized Garmin G3X Dealer/Installer
RV7A built 2004, 1700+ hrs
Website: ExpAircraft.com, Email: walt@expaircraft.com, Cell: 972-746-5154
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 08-01-2018, 01:12 PM
alcladrv alcladrv is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Southeast
Posts: 455
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Walt View Post
Not sure why anyone would install an AI, AS, Alt when a single self powered G5 does it all these days. Flown plenty of IFR practice approaches using just the G5 and Ipad.
Because the AS and ALT require no power.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:20 AM.


The VAFForums come to you courtesy Delta Romeo, LLC. By viewing and participating in them you agree to build your plane using standardized methods and practices and to fly it safely and in accordance with the laws governing the country you are located in.