What's new
Van's Air Force

Don't miss anything! Register now for full access to the definitive RV support community.

All I can do is watch.

Timbeck2

Hi everyone, newbie here. I was a member of this site for all of one day and I had two offers (one for stick time) to check out two of the Tucson area member's RV-7A's. I just saw them both fly over (with the benefit of radar...hence the thread title) within 10 minutes of each other.

Background for me - retired USAF ATC and I now work for the DoD in Davis-Monthan AFB's tower with 24 years + air traffic experience...no I'm not the enemy. Deployments include two in Saudi Arabia during the first and second gulf wars and Kirkuk Iraq in 2005. Enough on that. Why I'm here.... I started my private pilot training while I was stationed at Kadena Air Base, Okinawa. I had 17 hours (soloed at 9) prior to coming back to the states. Life got in the way after two kids (at the same time) and I'm just now getting started finishing up my license.

My plan is to order my first kit after I finish my IFR training and build up time along with money to finish my own RV-7A. This site is a wealth of knowledge (much of it I don't understand but still learning) so I'm happy to be here.

Tim and lurking and learning on a forum near you.

Welcome to VAF!

Hi everyone, newbie here.

Tim,
welcome.gif
aboard the good ship VAF.

Thank you sir. Talking about putting the cart before the horse....I already put an application in with the FAA reserving my tail number. :D

Thank you sir. Talking about putting the cart before the horse....I already put an application in with the FAA reserving my tail number. :D

Smart--------many of the good ones are already gone.

We wanted 104LM---------RV 10 for Laura and Mike. Almost every conceivable 104xx was long gone.

What did you reserve?

N962TM

- but I have to wait 3 weeks to see if someone else beat me to it.