What's new
Van's Air Force

Don't miss anything! Register now for full access to the definitive RV support community.

Oil analysis. Yes or no?

AAflyer

Well Known Member
I've been flying my -8 for almost 3 years, with only very minor issues. My new IO-360, with dual P-mags runs great. I cut open my oil filter every other oil change, and have found decreasing metal on each inspection.
I have never submitted my oil for a lab analysis, but is something I've always considered.
My questions are: , is it worth the effort if the filter is clean?
Who do you use?
Pros...cons...?
Thanks.

It isn't worth it if you're only going to do it once or if you wait until you suspect a problem. Oil analysis is about identifying trends, and you'll need regular data points to establish base line numbers for your engine.

I've been using Blackstone Labs. Quick turnaround (usually about a week), and I've appreciated the analysis and interpretation of the data they've given beyond simply "here are the numbers".

Oil Analysis

Bruce:

I just recently started oil analysis every other oil change after "Widget" sent his engine down to JB Engines to be topped. Never shown any metal in filters. Turns out engine was trashed. JB sent pics back. The metal turned out to be so fine .. like black mist ... maybe not even able to get with a magnet.

I cut my filters on every change but now I use a large magnet and oil analysis every other change. Want to see if there is a trend.

As Barrett has mentioned, it is most useful when it is done on a regular bases to see the trend. I have been doing it and I think it is worth it, small fee to catch things early if it was going to go south.

I use Blackstone and they have been great in providing useful info as what the report means.

Mike Busch recently suggested on a newer engine do it every 3 or 4 oil changes if you are flying regularly. Kind of made sense to me, but everyone has a different opinion on tjis subject.