What's new
Van's Air Force

Don't miss anything! Register now for full access to the definitive RV support community.

Ground to firewall

jswareiv

Well Known Member
For those of you that have done this before, maybe you can help me answer this question. According to others, the ground goes to this spot on the firewall (Blue Circle) from the battery:

mlpp1e.jpg

Then you are supposed to go the engine, I get that. But on the back side of the firewall, that's a nutplate and you go from that spot to the ground for the panel. How do you affix the grounding wire to the backside of that bolt? Probably a stupid question, but I have never done this before. I'm sure Van's will tell us in the FWF kit, but I am trying to get some work done while waiting. Thanks.

Last edited:
Wiring

I am not an RV Builder but here is how I do it- ground wire from forward side of firewall, thru hole in firewall for other wires, alternator, etc, to panel ground. The engine ground wire works best if grounded to starter.

Van will tell you on the fwf kit.

Here is how I did it on my 6.... Brass threaded lug (use brass or copper nuts) passed through a hole in the firewall and brace. Nut on each side. Field of grounds on cold side. Motor side you connect battery and strap to engine case on back side. And another ground strap from engine MOUNT to sump bolt.

All connections coated with DE-OX.

Ground

Here is how I did it on my 6.... Brass threaded lug (use brass or copper nuts) passed through a hole in the firewall and brace. Nut on each side. Field of grounds on cold side.

Sounds like I don't have this correct. The ground on the aft side of the firewall does not specifically need to attach to that bolt. Always learning new stuff, thanks.

Sounds like I don't have this correct. The ground on the aft side of the firewall does not specifically need to attach to that bolt. Always learning new stuff, thanks.