What's new
Van's Air Force

Don't miss anything! Register now for full access to the definitive RV support community.

IFR training..back at it.

miyu1975

Well Known Member
So I have restarted my IFR training officially. I am currently studying again for the written that I took and passed 6 years ago (prior to RV building) Looking in my logbook I had acquired 27.5 hrs under the hood with a CFII...then I started building my RV7. I figure I will fly with a safety pilot and relearn much of it and then get a CFII to finish up.

Now that I am starting fresh in the book again, my first thought is that is seems silly to be learning about gyros just so I can fly behind my glass panel. I wonder how many other old stuff I will have to learn about to pass the test/requirments?

NDB

You will have to know about NDB approaches although you may not need to fly one on the checkride if there is not one in the area or plane not so equipped. IIRC you need to fly three different types of approaches. I did a VOR, LOC/DME & GPS

You will have to know about NDB approaches although you may not need to fly one on the checkride if there is not one in the area or plane not so equipped. IIRC you need to fly three different types of approaches. I did a VOR, LOC/DME & GPS

The requirement is for one precision approach - either an ILS, or an RNAV(gps) to LPV minimums - and two different types of non-precision approaches.

The requirement is for one precision approach - either an ILS, or an RNAV(gps) to LPV minimums - and two different types of non-precision approaches.

Right...I recall being required to shoot three approaches for the check ride...I planned on LOC, VOR, ILS.., as I am installing an SL30 for these and will not have an ifr approved gps on board...at least not for a while.

IFR checkride in my 6A

Just passed the checkride in my 6A.