VansAirForceForums  
Home > VansAirForceForums

- POSTING RULES
- Donate yearly (please).
- Advertise in here!

- Today's Posts | Insert Pics


Go Back   VAF Forums > Model Specific > RV-9/9A
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #21  
Old 12-14-2017, 12:23 PM
Dugaru's Avatar
Dugaru Dugaru is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: Richmond VA, USA
Posts: 198
Default In an effort to reduce thread drift that I helped cause....

I've got a slider -9A with an O-320, carbureted, Hartzell CS prop. I pretty consistently see 150KTAS at 5-6000ft and 23/23. Less sure of fuel burn at that setting, it seems to vary, but I'm guessing no more than 7.5 gph. I can usually get 160KTAS at 24/24 and maybe 8.5 gph, at the same altitude.
__________________
N929JA, 2007 RV-9A
Found it in the classifieds here!
Based W96 - near Richmond, VA
2017 Dues Paid
Reply With Quote
  #22  
Old 12-14-2017, 07:20 PM
N941WR's Avatar
N941WR N941WR is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: SC
Posts: 11,338
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dugaru View Post
I'm starting to explore higher altitudes in my (relatively) new (to me) RV-9A. I've got O2. Over what distances do you think it makes sense to climb to 10K or more?
Yes!

See :
http://www.vansairforce.com/communit...d.php?t=112604
__________________
Bill R.
RV-9 (Yes, it's a dragon tail)
O-360 w/ dual P-mags
Build the plane you want, not the plane others want you to build!
SC86 - Easley, SC
www.repucci.com/bill/baf.html

Last edited by N941WR : 12-14-2017 at 07:31 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #23  
Old 01-02-2018, 03:09 PM
Capt Capt is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Australia
Posts: 196
Default

Some amazing fuel burns & speed you guys are getting out of a 9, best bang for buck Good to know your TAS too with today's modern glass panels as VNE can be reached (& beyond) very quickly at high Alt's
Reply With Quote
  #24  
Old 01-09-2018, 02:20 PM
BMW_X6M BMW_X6M is offline
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Los Angeles Coast
Posts: 39
Red face Why does anyone use MPH for speed?

I still can't understand any reason why someone would fly using MPH instead of Knots? It would be great to hear the reasoning.

ATC is using Knots, the charts are divided into nautical miles, etc.
Aren't most POH listing speeds in Knots?

I am disturbed that Van's lists the airplane speed in MPH, it should be in Knots.
MPH should be used when you are on the ground in a car or motorcycle IMO.

Random Rants.
Reply With Quote
  #25  
Old 01-09-2018, 02:29 PM
airguy's Avatar
airguy airguy is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Garden City, Tx
Posts: 4,142
Default

It looks good for marketing, that's about the only reason any of the manufacturers do it.
__________________
Greg Niehues - VAF 2018 dues paid
Garden City, TX
N16GN flying! http://websites.expercraft.com/airguy/
Built an off-plan 9A with too much fuel and too much HP. Should drop dead any minute now.
Reply With Quote
  #26  
Old 01-09-2018, 02:38 PM
N941WR's Avatar
N941WR N941WR is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: SC
Posts: 11,338
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BMW_X6M View Post
...

Random Rants.
Drifting
..........Drifting
.....................Drifting

Because many of us owned and flew airplanes that were documented in MPH. Heck some of them didn't have electrical systems, radios, or noseeheels. Oh the horror of it. Can you imagine having to navigate with a paper chart, bouncing whiskey compass, and wristwatch?

Heck, some of those planes didn't even have a starter and I heard they may have had cloth over their wood wings.
__________________
Bill R.
RV-9 (Yes, it's a dragon tail)
O-360 w/ dual P-mags
Build the plane you want, not the plane others want you to build!
SC86 - Easley, SC
www.repucci.com/bill/baf.html

Last edited by N941WR : 01-09-2018 at 02:42 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #27  
Old 01-09-2018, 02:53 PM
Bevan Bevan is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: BC
Posts: 1,538
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by N941WR View Post
Drifting
..........Drifting
.....................Drifting

Because many of us owned and flew airplanes that were documented in MPH. Heck some of them didn't have electrical systems, radios, or noseeheels. Oh the horror of it. Can you imagine having to navigate with a paper chart, bouncing whiskey compass, and wristwatch?

Heck, some of those planes didn't even have a starter and I heard they may have had cloth over their wood wings.
That was then, new aircraft and associated marketing should be knots. It's got to start at Van's though. If they decide their target audience can't understand knots, I'm not sure what to think.

Bevan
__________________
RV7A Flying
O-360-A1F6 (parallel valve) 180HP
Dual P-mags
Precision F.I. with AP purge valve
Vinyl Wrapped Exterior
Grand Rapids EFIS
Located in western Canada
Reply With Quote
  #28  
Old 01-09-2018, 02:53 PM
airguy's Avatar
airguy airguy is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Garden City, Tx
Posts: 4,142
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by N941WR View Post
Heck, some of those planes didn't even have a starter and I heard they may have had cloth over their wood wings.
Nahhh, that's just a dirty rumor. Things like that can't really fly, we all know that.
__________________
Greg Niehues - VAF 2018 dues paid
Garden City, TX
N16GN flying! http://websites.expercraft.com/airguy/
Built an off-plan 9A with too much fuel and too much HP. Should drop dead any minute now.
Reply With Quote
  #29  
Old 01-09-2018, 03:01 PM
RVbySDI's Avatar
RVbySDI RVbySDI is offline
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Tuttle, Oklahoma
Posts: 2,484
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BMW_X6M View Post
I still can't understand any reason why someone would fly using MPH instead of Knots? It would be great to hear the reasoning.

ATC is using Knots, the charts are divided into nautical miles, etc.
Aren't most POH listing speeds in Knots?

I am disturbed that Van's lists the airplane speed in MPH, it should be in Knots.
MPH should be used when you are on the ground in a car or motorcycle IMO.

Random Rants.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bevan View Post
That was then, new aircraft and associated marketing should be knots. It's got to start at Van's though. If they decide their target audience can't understand knots, I'm not sure what to think.

Bevan
I cannot answer for anyone else but me. As for me, every other speed measurement in all other aspects of my life are measured in MPH. Every non-aviator who I talk with about flying asks me how fast my plane flies. I tell them I cruise around 150 knots. They answer with: "How fast is that?" Telling them in MPH bypasses that drawn out conversation.

Besides, knots are for boats and boy scouts!
__________________
RVBYSDI
Steve
RV9A
Live Long And Prosper! 🖖🏻
Reply With Quote
  #30  
Old 01-09-2018, 03:09 PM
BMW_X6M BMW_X6M is offline
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Los Angeles Coast
Posts: 39
Default

OK, but when you report your distance from an airport on the radio, it should be in nautical miles!
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:39 AM.


The VAFForums come to you courtesy Delta Romeo, LLC. By viewing and participating in them you agree to build your plane using standardized methods and practices and to fly it safely and in accordance with the laws governing the country you are located in.