VansAirForceForums  
Home > VansAirForceForums

- POSTING RULES
- Donate yearly (please).
- Advertise in here!

- Today's Posts | Insert Pics


Go Back   VAF Forums > Main > RV General Discussion/News
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #11  
Old 05-18-2018, 07:13 PM
MS19087's Avatar
MS19087 MS19087 is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: PA
Posts: 536
Default I needed an external antenna

Have the G5 mounted top center on my panel (RV9 tip up). Could not get a reliable signal without an external antenna.
__________________
Mark
RV-9A; IO-320 w/ Whirlwind WW-151
(Flying since June 2011)
2018 =VAF= donor
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 05-18-2018, 07:55 PM
bullojm1's Avatar
bullojm1 bullojm1 is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Baltimore, MD
Posts: 961
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bavafa View Post
Too bad one can not share the signal from an existing antenna to multiple devices, like using a splitter type.
Oh but you can. GPS splitters exist and work PERFECTLY. I've been running a 1-2 splitter for over 2 years without an issue.



And to get back OT - I have a G5 mounted at the bottom of my panel and it seemed to work fine as long as I had shallow banked turns. Anything last 45 degrees would cause the signal to be lost. I linked the G5 to an external antenna and it's been rock solid since.
__________________
Mike Bullock
RV-7, Flying!
http://www.rvplane.com
EAA Technical Counselor
The Best FAA N-Number Availability Search Engine -TailNum.com
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 05-18-2018, 08:01 PM
g3xpert's Avatar
g3xpert g3xpert is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Olathe, KS
Posts: 1,860
Post

Quote:
Originally Posted by Walt View Post
In a G3X installation does that required GPS data come from the MAPMX or the CAN bus? Or is it best to still have an antenna on the G5?
Hello Walt,

Yes, using MapMX from a GNS/GTN or using GPS data from the G3X/G3X Touch displays over the CAN bus are additional ways of getting high quality GPS data to the G5.

Using these external sources of GPS data does, however, place some reliance on these external sources and reduces the independence of the G5. Increased independence can be achieved by adding an antenna to the G5.

It isn't uncommon for a G5 in a G3X Touch system to have 3 sources of GPS data (internal GPS receiver, MapMX from GNS/GTN, and CAN bus). The G5 prioritizes the internal GPS receiver above all other sources when the signal is good.

Thanks,
Steve
__________________
Garmin G3X Support
g3xpert@garmin.com
1-866-854-8433 - 7 to 7 Central Time M to F
Please email us for support instead of using Private Messaging due to the limitations of the latter.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 05-18-2018, 08:02 PM
ralph skorupa ralph skorupa is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: WI
Posts: 18
Default G5x

Mine didnít work well until I went with the aux antenna on the glare shield.
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 05-18-2018, 09:18 PM
az_gila's Avatar
az_gila az_gila is online now
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: 57AZ - NW Tucson area
Posts: 9,252
Question Q. For Steve, G3xpert

Steve, if I am using a G5 as an independent back-up instrument without any other electrical connections in or out to any other data source, how important is the GPS function?

Is it simply an automatic backup if the pitot pressure fails?
__________________
Gil Alexander
EAA Technical Counselor, Airframe Mechanic
Half completed RV-10 QB purchased
RV-6A N61GX - finally flying
Grumman Tiger N12GA - flying
La Cholla Airpark (57AZ) Tucson AZ
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 05-19-2018, 07:30 AM
g3xpert's Avatar
g3xpert g3xpert is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Olathe, KS
Posts: 1,860
Post

Quote:
Originally Posted by az_gila View Post
Steve, if I am using a G5 as an independent back-up instrument without any other electrical connections in or out to any other data source, how important is the GPS function?

Is it simply an automatic backup if the pitot pressure fails?
Hello Gil,

The simple answer is yes, having a source of GPS data, internal or external, is important to allow the G5 to perform at it's maximum potential.

While the G5 is not TSO'd, we designed the G5 to meet the TSO-C201 performance requirements.

The TSO-C201 performance requirements are specified for both "normal" mode and "degraded" mode. Each manufacturer is allowed to define what is normal mode for their product, and for the G5, normal mode relies heavily on GPS data for maximum performance to avoid being dependent on air data which could suffer a blocked pitot. One of the reasons we designed a high performance WAAS GPS receiver into the G5 was so it could independently perform at the highest level with no reliance on external GPS sources.

The G5 meets these performance requirements both with GPS (normal mode) and without GPS (degraded mode), but the accuracy requirements for degraded mode are a little less stringent.

Thanks,
Steve
__________________
Garmin G3X Support
g3xpert@garmin.com
1-866-854-8433 - 7 to 7 Central Time M to F
Please email us for support instead of using Private Messaging due to the limitations of the latter.

Last edited by g3xpert : 05-19-2018 at 07:37 AM.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:12 AM.


The VAFForums come to you courtesy Delta Romeo, LLC. By viewing and participating in them you agree to build your plane using standardized methods and practices and to fly it safely and in accordance with the laws governing the country you are located in.