VansAirForceForums  
Home > VansAirForceForums

- POSTING RULES
- Donate yearly (please).
- Advertise in here!

- Today's Posts | Insert Pics

  #1  
Old 10-26-2016, 08:36 PM
Tram Tram is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Florence, AL
Posts: 594
Default Vacuum hose..

Long story short, I've been flying our -6 without a DG and AI for a couple years and figure it's time to reinstall them.

I've moved a handful of times and cannot find the original vacuum lines that were in the aircraft so I'm looking at new.

Anyone running automotive silicone vacuum lines? $20 @ 10' is much nicer than $8.95/foot at Spruce.

Is this a terrible idea?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-26-2016, 09:04 PM
AlexPeterson's Avatar
AlexPeterson AlexPeterson is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Maple Grove, MN
Posts: 2,080
Default

It is an excellent idea. Coincidentally, I just took all mine out tonight for a panel upgrade, and it was like new after 15 years. Be sure it is real silicone and not some thermoplastic that will get hard and be very difficult to remove.

I don't know what automotive application would have large enough lines for the flow you need.

I had two different ones, some braided stuff for the higher vacuum to the pump, and non-reinforced thick wall stuff for the regulated (lower vacuum) side.
__________________
Alex Peterson
RV6A N66AP 1600+ hours
Maple Grove, MN
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:25 PM.


The VAFForums come to you courtesy Delta Romeo, LLC. By viewing and participating in them you agree to build your plane using standardized methods and practices and to fly it safely and in accordance with the laws governing the country you are located in.