VansAirForceForums  
Home > VansAirForceForums

- POSTING RULES
- Donate yearly (please).
- Advertise in here!

- Today's Posts | Insert Pics

  #1  
Old 01-02-2017, 10:46 AM
Tram Tram is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Florence, AL
Posts: 594
Default Circuit breaker for EFIS?

Anyone here not running the VPX setup?

We are contemplating a Skyview upgrade in our 6 and looking at options.

Planning a fairly basic system, we mostly fly VFR, but would like IFR capabilities for getting through layers, etc.

Those of you not running the VPX system, what is your answer?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-02-2017, 10:50 AM
BobTurner BobTurner is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Livermore, CA
Posts: 5,321
Default

Is 'yes' too simple for an answer?
I run 3 EFIS displays, each on its own pullable breaker. One with automatic switchover to a backup battery.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-02-2017, 10:56 AM
Carl Froehlich's Avatar
Carl Froehlich Carl Froehlich is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Dogwood Airpark (VA42)
Posts: 1,660
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tram View Post
Anyone here not running the VPX setup?

We are contemplating a Skyview upgrade in our 6 and looking at options.

Planning a fairly basic system, we mostly fly VFR, but would like IFR capabilities for getting through layers, etc.

Those of you not running the VPX system, what is your answer?
Three RVs will full SkyView installs and no VPX (and never will have one).

The SkyView power requirements and recommended breaker sizes are well documented in their detailed install manual. Very simple.

Carl
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-02-2017, 11:04 AM
Tram Tram is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Florence, AL
Posts: 594
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Carl Froehlich View Post
Three RVs will full SkyView installs and no VPX (and never will have one).

The SkyView power requirements and recommended breaker sizes are well documented in their detailed install manual. Very simple.

Carl
Kinda what I was thinking. Just didn't want to be alone. LOL
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-02-2017, 11:41 AM
Ironflight's Avatar
Ironflight Ironflight is offline
VAF Moderator / Line Boy
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Dayton, NV
Posts: 11,687
Default

Four flying experimentals in our household - all with CB's for the EFIS's. Makes it easy to power cycle them when doing software maintenance. It just works for me.
__________________
Paul F. Dye
Editor in Chief - KITPLANES Magazine
RV-8 - N188PD - "Valkyrie"
RV-6 (By Marriage) - N164MS - "Mikey"
RV-3B - N13PL - "Tsamsiyu"
A&P, EAA Tech Counselor/Flight Advisor
Dayton Valley Airpark (A34)
http://Ironflight.com
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 01-02-2017, 12:51 PM
DanH's Avatar
DanH DanH is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: 08A
Posts: 7,844
Default

Let's not forget the lowly fuse. Lighter, cheaper, equally reliable, and they power cycle with the same two fingers
__________________
Dan Horton
RV-8 SS
Barrett IO-390
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 01-02-2017, 02:23 PM
Raymo's Avatar
Raymo Raymo is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Richmond Hill, GA (KLHW)
Posts: 1,734
Default

Dual SV 1000T on a 12 fuse block with a few breakers for control of things I want to see and manage without pulling a screen or ducking under panel. Plus, I was out of fuse slots and didn't want to double up on any.

If only running fuses, you'll likely need more than 12.
__________________
Ray
RV-7A - Slider - N495KL - First flt 27 Jan 17
O-360-A4M w/ AFP FM-150 FI, 1 PMag, Vetterman Trombone Exh, SkyTech starter, PlanePower Alt
Catto 3 blade NLE, FlightLines Interior, James cowl, plenum & intake, Anti-Splat -14 seat mod and nose gear support
All lines by TSFlightLines
NSDQ

"The object of the game, gentlemen, is not to cheat death: the object is not to let him play."
Patrick Poteen, Sgt. U.S. Army
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 01-02-2017, 03:08 PM
rzbill's Avatar
rzbill rzbill is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Asheville, NC
Posts: 2,536
Default

I think the question may not be fuse or breaker but "ability to turn off the efis while flying"

I installed my EFISeseseses (IFii?) with fuses. I chose to turn them on with an avionics master or a staged battery bus backup switch. The GRTs do not have a built in power switch. This means that in order to power down my Primary Flight Display, all my panel has to go completely down.

In experiential retrospect it is obvious that I should have installed a pilot accessible way to reboot the screens and maybe even reboot the AHARs without loosing the NAV and COM equipment.

So, my recommendation is to NOT do what I did.

If you choose fuses, put in power switches. Or put pullable breakers on the panel. My preference on a do-over would be pullable breakers for these and fuses everywhere else.
__________________
Bill Pendergrass
RV-7A: Flying since April 15, 2012. 710hrs
YIO-360-M1B, mags, CS, GRT EX and WS H1s & A/P, Navworx
Unpainted, polished....kinda'
My RV Construction Page
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 01-02-2017, 03:49 PM
Tram Tram is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Florence, AL
Posts: 594
Default

I was planning pullable breakers, but many of the people I've spoken with seem to speak of the VPX like it's mandatory, and I didn't feel like it was.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 01-02-2017, 07:15 PM
Ironflight's Avatar
Ironflight Ironflight is offline
VAF Moderator / Line Boy
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Dayton, NV
Posts: 11,687
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tram View Post
I was planning pullable breakers, but many of the people I've spoken with seem to speak of the VPX like it's mandatory, and I didn't feel like it was.
They are giving their opinion. Airplanes have been flying for a very long time. With fuses and breakers - that's a fact.
__________________
Paul F. Dye
Editor in Chief - KITPLANES Magazine
RV-8 - N188PD - "Valkyrie"
RV-6 (By Marriage) - N164MS - "Mikey"
RV-3B - N13PL - "Tsamsiyu"
A&P, EAA Tech Counselor/Flight Advisor
Dayton Valley Airpark (A34)
http://Ironflight.com
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:47 PM.


The VAFForums come to you courtesy Delta Romeo, LLC. By viewing and participating in them you agree to build your plane using standardized methods and practices and to fly it safely and in accordance with the laws governing the country you are located in.