VansAirForceForums  
Home > VansAirForceForums

- POSTING RULES
- Donate yearly (please).
- Advertise in here!

- Today's Posts | Insert Pics


Go Back   VAF Forums > Main > Safety
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #41  
Old 04-19-2018, 09:20 AM
agirard7a's Avatar
agirard7a agirard7a is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Newport, RI
Posts: 635
Default Smoke hood

Quote:
Originally Posted by Aggie78 View Post
Smoke in the cockpit is one of my biggest concerns...I have had it happen before in a Transport Category aircraft (fire broke out behind engineerís panel) and it filled the cockpit with smoke so fast I couldnít believe it. Luckily, we were on the ground taxiing in, so we came to a screeching halt, killed power, and dumped the crew by doing the Evac checklist. Killing power killed the fire, but even then, it still smoked for a long time....if it had happened 15 minutes earlier in flight, I donít like to wonder what the outcome could have been. Especially since we had just shot an approach at night, overwater, near minimums.

I carry that concern to the GA aircraft I fly. Airlines are required to provide a number of ďPBEĒ or Personal Breathing Devices to cockpit and crew in the event of a fire/smoke event. I decided to search the marketplace for something similar to at least give me a fighting chance of getting the aircraft on the ground before becoming overcome if I have another smoke event. I found a supplier that has these:

https://www.aeromedix.com/safety-equ...e60-smoke-hood

I bought a couple of them to fly with. While they arenít TSOíd like the stuff in the Part 121 world, they donít carry the $$$$ price tag those have either. All Iím wanting from them is 10-15 minutes to put the airplane down...somewhere. Anywhere.

Like I said, Iím looking for a fighting chance; having had a few smoke events now over 30+ years, Iím convinced that I wonít be able to hold my breath or keep my eyes clear without some kind of help. I hope I never use these things, but Iím glad Iíve at least got them with me...
Just ordered one. Thanks for the post! $70 is not a lot of money and a smart safety investment just in case.
__________________
Al Girard, Newport, RI
N339AG
RV-9
Reply With Quote
  #42  
Old 04-19-2018, 09:53 AM
Aggie78 Aggie78 is offline
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 344
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by agirard7a View Post
Just ordered one. Thanks for the post! $70 is not a lot of money and a smart safety investment just in case.
Al, I agree!

In fact, when not flying the RV I throw one in my suitcase and take it with me during my airline trips. Most every layover we have stays in a high-rise hotel in a 3rd world location...and I've experienced a couple of (minor) hotel fires in my career.

I don't want to be found dead in a stairwell 2 floors above ground level and safety....

Again...a fighting chance is all I'm looking for.

Fellow road warriors might want to consider it as well.

Sorry to the OP for the thread drift....

Rob
__________________
Rob Schroer
RV-7/N75WV
YIO-360-M1B
T67-Hicks Airport, Texas
Reply With Quote
  #43  
Old 04-19-2018, 10:48 AM
gasman gasman is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Sonoma County
Posts: 3,427
Default

This.... https://www.amazon.com/Safety-iQ-Eme...E30+Smoke+Hood
may work long enough to slow the plane and open the canopy (depending on your model). You need to get the smoke out right after you kill the master and have your breather in place..... Visibility is the next thing to go.
__________________
VAF #897
2017 =VAF= Dues PAID
Reply With Quote
  #44  
Old 04-20-2018, 08:10 AM
slngsht slngsht is offline
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Purcellville, VA
Posts: 228
Default

I didn't want to take focus of thread away from wiring, but was thinking about the smoke issue. The masks posted above seem like pretty good steps in terms of breathing, but what have people done to help suction the smoke out of cockpit after fire is put out? Opening vents helps with air flow in - if there is an out path to move air in bulk.

Thoughts?
Reply With Quote
  #45  
Old 04-20-2018, 08:29 AM
agirard7a's Avatar
agirard7a agirard7a is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Newport, RI
Posts: 635
Default Good question

Has anyone ever cracked opened a tip up or slider in flight?
__________________
Al Girard, Newport, RI
N339AG
RV-9
Reply With Quote
  #46  
Old 04-20-2018, 08:37 AM
Sam Buchanan's Avatar
Sam Buchanan Sam Buchanan is offline
been here awhile
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: North Alabama
Posts: 3,753
Default

Several documented instances of a tip-up being unlatched during takeoff, mine included. The canopy will ride open about 6" without significant trim change, at least that is the case at pattern speeds. I suspect the same will occur at cruise, but my unlatched canopy experience is limited to ~125 kts.

If the cabin was filling with dense smoke I would definitely slow to 125 kts and open the canopy. If rapidly filling with dense smoke....probably not wait to slow down.....
__________________
Sam Buchanan
1999 RV-6
1918 Fokker D.VII replica

Last edited by Sam Buchanan : 04-20-2018 at 09:18 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #47  
Old 04-20-2018, 08:53 AM
rv7charlie rv7charlie is offline
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Pocahontas MS
Posts: 2,952
Default

Anecdotal evidence is that sliders will act more or less like the tipup, which is widely documented. At worst, you wouldn't be able to open the slider at all, but it won't fly aft if you unlatch. High pressure on the back of the canopy prevents it.

The side tippers like the -4 are the radical exception. They are *designed* to 'unzip' and depart the a/c if unlatched in flight. And yes, it's been tested, multiple times.
Reply With Quote
  #48  
Old 04-21-2018, 04:59 PM
Ron B. Ron B. is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Yarmouth, Nova Scotia
Posts: 2,214
Default

I have a single plasma III and it calls for 5 amp. protection. I have a panel mounted 5 amp. breaker as per LightSpeed's instructions but after reading this post for a while I've decided to add a fusible link at the battery. I installed a 24 gauge wire about 3/4" with the proper sleeve (purchased a fusible link kit a while back). I do not have any literature with the kit so I looked up the load that one can put on 24 gauge wire and it's 3.5 amps. So I'm thinking if 24 gauge wire is good for 3.5 amps and LightSpeed is asking for 5 amps I should be about right with this for a fusible link? What do you think ? 24 gauge wire came with the kit.
Thanks
__________________
Thanks Ron
RV-10 SOLD
RV-14 Flying
Reply With Quote
  #49  
Old 04-22-2018, 06:49 AM
DanH's Avatar
DanH DanH is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: 08A
Posts: 7,719
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ron B. View Post
I have a single plasma III and it calls for 5 amp. protection. I have a panel mounted 5 amp. breaker as per LightSpeed's instructions but after reading this post for a while I've decided to add a fusible link at the battery. I installed a 24 gauge wire about 3/4" with the proper sleeve (purchased a fusible link kit a while back). I do not have any literature with the kit so I looked up the load that one can put on 24 gauge wire and it's 3.5 amps. So I'm thinking if 24 gauge wire is good for 3.5 amps and LightSpeed is asking for 5 amps I should be about right with this for a fusible link? What do you think ? 24 gauge wire came with the kit.
Thanks
Size the fuse link for some reasonable multiple of the actual load, which may or may not be the breaker size somebody specified earlier. In theory, that breaker was sized to protect the specified wire; the load was smaller.

Klaus specified 18 or 20 ga power supply wire. If you have 20ga, then a 24ga link is the norm. If (like most ignitions) the Lightspeed's power draw is in the 1.5 amp ballpark, a 3.5 amp fusible link should be fine.

That said, I wire an ignition feed in 18ga, then use a 22ga fusible link, just so the components are physically robust.

BTW, with a fusible link at the power source, you don't need the panel breaker anymore. Pitch it.
__________________
Dan Horton
RV-8 SS
Barrett IO-390

Last edited by DanH : 04-22-2018 at 07:20 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #50  
Old 04-22-2018, 09:19 AM
Ron B. Ron B. is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Yarmouth, Nova Scotia
Posts: 2,214
Default

I was able to wire tie both ends of the fusible to the alum. battery box clamp to secure it in place so it should not move around and break.
Thanks Dan
__________________
Thanks Ron
RV-10 SOLD
RV-14 Flying
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:35 AM.


The VAFForums come to you courtesy Delta Romeo, LLC. By viewing and participating in them you agree to build your plane using standardized methods and practices and to fly it safely and in accordance with the laws governing the country you are located in.