VansAirForceForums  
Home > VansAirForceForums

- POSTING RULES
- Donate yearly (please).
- Advertise in here!

- Today's Posts | Insert Pics


Go Back   VAF Forums > Avionics / Interiors / Fiberglass > ADS-B
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #11  
Old 12-04-2018, 02:44 PM
MercFE MercFE is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: Maple Valley, WA
Posts: 242
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Shark View Post
Looking like maybe it only tracks IFR flights? Not sure really where t find the flights to be displayed but I'm thinking that if this is what I worry about, life must be pretty darn good!!
You have to register an account, even a free one, to enable the position only flights within your settings. If you're not logged in, it will not be available.

At least this is the way it is on FlightAware. I use this function as an easy way to keep up on my logbook, as it records all of my flights with off/on deck times.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 12-04-2018, 03:34 PM
snopercod's Avatar
snopercod snopercod is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: Asheville, NC
Posts: 1,438
Default

This system is ripe for abuse. Anyone can go to the FAA website and get your hex code. Anyone can re-program their ADS-B with that code. If I had nefarious intentions, that's what I would do.
__________________
(2018 dues paid)
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 12-04-2018, 04:14 PM
1001001's Avatar
1001001 1001001 is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Just Minutes from KBVI!
Posts: 782
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by flightlogic View Post
Cyber security people think about similar issues everyday. As pilots, we are a trusting group. Think a tower controller ever looks at the N number with his binoculars to see if the number is the same as what he/she heard on the radio?
NAH....
You program your plane with an ID. Who says you told the truth?
A bad actor with ill intent could not have an easier job... than spoofing ID of an aircraft in this country. Now go back to your morning coffee... I am off to the hangar.
Yes, I actually think about this kind of stuff all the time. There are a lot of holes in many automated systems.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 12-04-2018, 04:17 PM
1001001's Avatar
1001001 1001001 is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Just Minutes from KBVI!
Posts: 782
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by rv7boy View Post
That's a good idea for all of us. I, too, recently entered my own N-number into my "My Alerts" list. That way, if my airplane is in the system, I will know about it. You don't have to have ADS-B out to be tracked on Flightaware.
Generally not, but if you aren’t flying “in the system” (with a discrete 4096 code) the only way you can see most flights is as an “enterprise user.” Fortunately you can get a free enterprise account with FlightAware by operating an ADS-B feeder for them.
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 12-04-2018, 07:07 PM
RV8JD's Avatar
RV8JD RV8JD is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 943
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Shark View Post
I have the opposite question... I have made several flights since my install but I have never shown up on the tracker sites? and my FA test passed with no red boxes. Should I be worried?
Quote:
Originally Posted by MercFE View Post
If by "tracker" you mean FlightAware or one of the other tracking sites... You need to enable "position only" flights to be displayed. That is the only way to get listing of flights where you are not entered into the ATC system through a flight plan.
Quote:
Originally Posted by MercFE View Post
You have to register an account, even a free one, to enable the position only flights within your settings. If you're not logged in, it will not be available.

At least this is the way it is on FlightAware.
I have ADS-B OUT, I do not have an account with FlightAware, but FlightAware shows my recent flights (like the last weeks worth) where I'm not in the ATC system. Maybe I misunderstood something in your posts.
__________________
Carl N.
Arlington, WA (KAWO)
RV-8, 435 Tach Hours
(Pic 1),(Pic 2)
- Out with the Old, In with the New
(Pic)
RV-8, 1938 Tach Hours (Pic 1),(Pic 2) - Sold

Glasflügel Standard Libelle 201B, N564NS - Sold
Rolladen-Schneider LS1-f, N61MP - No longer owned

Last edited by RV8JD : 12-04-2018 at 07:14 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 12-04-2018, 09:25 PM
Shark's Avatar
Shark Shark is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Location: Lake Elmo MN
Posts: 25
Default Yahtzee!

Quote:
Originally Posted by MercFE View Post
You have to register an account, even a free one, to enable the position only flights within your settings. If you're not logged in, it will not be available.

At least this is the way it is on FlightAware. I use this function as an easy way to keep up on my logbook, as it records all of my flights with off/on deck times.
Thanks for your help, I registered and just like that, all my flights showed up.
__________________
Donaven
Lake Elmo MN.
RV9A
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:20 AM.


The VAFForums come to you courtesy Delta Romeo, LLC. By viewing and participating in them you agree to build your plane using standardized methods and practices and to fly it safely and in accordance with the laws governing the country you are located in.