VansAirForceForums  
Home > VansAirForceForums

- POSTING RULES
- Donate yearly (please).
- Advertise in here!

- Today's Posts | Insert Pics


Go Back   VAF Forums > Avionics / Interiors / Fiberglass > GPS
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #591  
Old 05-27-2018, 06:14 PM
g3xpert's Avatar
g3xpert g3xpert is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Olathe, KS
Posts: 2,232
Post

Quote:
Originally Posted by RV8JD View Post
Steve,

Are Garmin and ForeFlight planning to allow the GDL 50 to work with ForeFlight (like the GDL 39 series did)? If so, approximately when?

Thanks,
Hello Carl,

Many would like for Foreflight to add support for the GDL 5X series of ADS-B and SXM traffic/weather receivers, but at this point there is no indication of when or if this will happen.

Thanks,
Steve
__________________
Garmin G3X Support
g3xpert@garmin.com
1-866-854-8433 - 7 to 7 Central Time M to F
Please email us for support instead of using Private Messaging due to the limitations of the latter.
Reply With Quote
  #592  
Old 09-22-2018, 02:21 AM
Mgeiss Mgeiss is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Braunfels, Germany
Posts: 9
Default Shorten or expand GMA 25 cable

I already have an Aera 660 with Antenna GMA 25 MCX which works well, but i need to shorten the Antennacable to 3 feet (Glaresheeld) or to expand it if i mount the Antenna on the Back of the Fuselage. Is it a problem to shorten the Cable and if i want to expand it 6 feet, which typ of cable is the best.

Markus
__________________
RV7A QB, TIPUP, TMX-IO 360 flying , D-EMRV, Germany
Reply With Quote
  #593  
Old 10-01-2018, 02:57 PM
Rich8862 Rich8862 is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Location: Carlsbad, CA
Posts: 2
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by RV8JD View Post
Disappointing information, but thanks for the response.
As of 9/30/2018, ForeFlight works well with the Garmin GDL 50. Just like it did with the GDL 39.
Reply With Quote
  #594  
Old 11-30-2018, 01:19 PM
tangocharlie123 tangocharlie123 is offline
 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: QLD Australia
Posts: 28
Default Any thing New

Hi Guys is there anything new for the 660 on the horizon.
We haven't had an update or any new features for a while.

Cheers
Reply With Quote
  #595  
Old 12-01-2018, 09:41 AM
Snowflake's Avatar
Snowflake Snowflake is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Victoria, BC, Canada
Posts: 3,315
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by tangocharlie123 View Post
Hi Guys is there anything new for the 660 on the horizon.
We haven't had an update or any new features for a while.
I'm hoping for an uprgade to make it work with the Stratux, taking ADS-B traffic and weather, and AHRS data. A man can dream...
__________________
Rob Prior
1996 RV-6 "Tweety" C-FRBP (formerly N196RV)
Reply With Quote
  #596  
Old 12-30-2018, 11:31 AM
Chris Cooper Chris Cooper is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: Aberdeen, UK
Posts: 43
Default

If I connect a 660 to a stand-alone G5, what advantages do I get? Apologies if I’m being a numpty.
__________________
Chris Cooper
RV14 - building
www.vansrv14.uk
RV3A - bought
Reply With Quote
  #597  
Old 12-30-2018, 01:54 PM
g3xpert's Avatar
g3xpert g3xpert is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Olathe, KS
Posts: 2,232
Post

Quote:
Originally Posted by Chris Cooper View Post
If I connect a 660 to a stand-alone G5, what advantages do I get? Apologies if Iím being a numpty.
Hello Chris,

The G5 can display lateral and vertical (VNAV) guidance provided by the Aera 660.





Thanks,
Steve
__________________
Garmin G3X Support
g3xpert@garmin.com
1-866-854-8433 - 7 to 7 Central Time M to F
Please email us for support instead of using Private Messaging due to the limitations of the latter.
Reply With Quote
  #598  
Old 12-30-2018, 02:06 PM
Chris Cooper Chris Cooper is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: Aberdeen, UK
Posts: 43
Default

Thanks Steve, do I need anything else? Does the 660 need to go through an interface or is it a direct connection? I’m looking at a retro-fit for an RV3A.
__________________
Chris Cooper
RV14 - building
www.vansrv14.uk
RV3A - bought
Reply With Quote
  #599  
Old 12-30-2018, 02:23 PM
g3xpert's Avatar
g3xpert g3xpert is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Olathe, KS
Posts: 2,232
Post

Quote:
Originally Posted by Chris Cooper View Post
Thanks Steve, do I need anything else? Does the 660 need to go through an interface or is it a direct connection? Iím looking at a retro-fit for an RV3A.
Hello Chris,

Nothing special needed. Just connect the G5 and Aera 660 RS-232 interfaces together like shown on page 7-5 of the Rev. 4 G5 installation manual.

If you ever decide you want to expand this system to the next level, add a couple of servos and a GMC 507 autopilot control panel, and you have everything you need for flight planning, navigation, and autopilot. The GMU 11 magnetometer is optional.



Please contact us directly by phone or email shown below if you have additional installation questions.

Thanks,
Steve
__________________
Garmin G3X Support
g3xpert@garmin.com
1-866-854-8433 - 7 to 7 Central Time M to F
Please email us for support instead of using Private Messaging due to the limitations of the latter.

Last edited by g3xpert : 12-30-2018 at 02:27 PM.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:23 PM.


The VAFForums come to you courtesy Delta Romeo, LLC. By viewing and participating in them you agree to build your plane using standardized methods and practices and to fly it safely and in accordance with the laws governing the country you are located in.