VansAirForceForums  
Home > VansAirForceForums

- POSTING RULES
- Donate yearly (please).
- Advertise in here!

- Today's Posts | Insert Pics


Go Back   VAF Forums > Model Specific > RV-10
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #11  
Old 12-29-2015, 09:51 AM
9GT's Avatar
9GT 9GT is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Southern Michigan
Posts: 1,141
Default

I used the ShowPlanes FPS and like it a lot. I have a bank of 4 micro switches mounted next to the flap torque tube under the rear seat torque tube cover. Then I have strategically located bumps (rivet heads) mounted on the torque tube to close the micro switch which corresponds with the flaps position. These switches are wired to 4 different colored LED lights I have mounted and labeled next to the flap switch. Sure I have to hold the flap switch lever down for about 1/2 a second for the flap to move down to its next position but I really like it.
__________________
David C.
Howell, MI

RV-9A: Under Construction
RV-10: N959RV Completed 12/29/2013 SOLD 08/23/2016

"Donor Exempt" but donated through Dec. 2017
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 01-01-2017, 07:35 PM
Shawn25854 Shawn25854 is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Clearwater, FL
Posts: 52
Default

Hi Nick,

I just finished my design that is very similar to what you proposed except my setup uses 4 separate LED lighted pushbutton switches.

It's a row of 4 12mm lighted momentary pushbuttons labeled 0°, 10°, 20° and 30°. Zero is a green LED and the positions are amber.

All my positions are user programmable to be whatever I need them to be for my plane. These are not "timed" position but absolute positions in degrees of flap that you can program. It takes less than 1 minute to set all 3 positions that I need and you can change them anytime you want.

I can have as few as 1 preset position or as many as 5. Not sure you'd ever need this many.

Flaps up shows a green LED. Press any button or degree of flap and the actuator starts moving to that position, If you pressed 20° the LED for that position starts blinking and when they reach 20° the LED stays on solid. Press flaps up and the green LED starts blinking and they return to the up position and the green LED stays on solid.

With this setup there's no guessing where the flaps are, trying to read the small LED bar indicator or looking out over your shoulder to see where they are. Similar to yours. I can quickly glance at the flap buttons are know right where they are by which LED is on solid.

I designed this around an actuator with the feedback built in as I think they are better than the Van's actuator with the external POS-12. It has a Bourns pot which is highly accurate and there's no external linkage or POS-12 to set up. The internal pot will feed your EFIS position indicator as well if you want to use that for a display as well.

What is the actual stroke of the Van's flap motor? I dont have one of those.

My setup will work with any actuator and feedback position sensor with a 1K, 5K or 10K pot. If you choose to use the Van's actuator and the POS-12 you can. Any 12v actuator will work.

You can even keep the manual toggle switch if you want to override the user programmable settings at any time.

Mine is setup using a manually resettable circuit breaker in the event of a malfunction.

I'll post some pics when I get the buttons and labels setup.

I'd like to see your version as well. They sound similar other than the actual switches to move positions.

Thanks,
Shawn

Last edited by Shawn25854 : 01-04-2017 at 08:11 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 01-01-2017, 09:16 PM
Jesse's Avatar
Jesse Jesse is offline
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: X35 - Ocala, FL
Posts: 3,015
Default

The VP-X is the best system I have seen for doing what the OP wants to do. I don't remember if you can triple-click flaps down for full flaps or if you have to wait. I know that the VP-200 allowed multiple clicks to select a position and it would run until it gets to that point. I also really like the FPS that Van's sells. It is easy to install and works great.
__________________
Jesse Saint (Saint Aviation, Inc. - VAF Advertiser)
352-427-0285
jesse@saintaviation.com
RV Hotel (hangar, room, car) at X35 in north FL

Commercial ASEL/S A&P/IA EAA Technical Counselor

Dynamic Prop Balancing, Prebuy Inspections, Condition Inspections, Repairs and Mods, Injector Tuning, Airframe, Engine, Panel Upgrades, Ferrying, etc.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 01-02-2017, 06:18 AM
johngoodman's Avatar
johngoodman johngoodman is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Peachtree City, Georgia
Posts: 432
Default

I agree with Jesse. I have a VP-200, and it works as advertised. I've also used the standard Vans positioning system, and it works fine, as well. I'm sure the VPX would work for you.

John
__________________
John Goodman - 40572
First flight was 25 June, 2011
N711JG
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 01-02-2017, 08:42 AM
daviid daviid is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Plainville, CT
Posts: 104
Default

i did not get that vans flap position system because I had read a few places that the vpx was incompatible with it. Which is the system I intend to go with.
__________________
David King
RV-10 #41517
N484DK (Reserved)
http://rv10.daviid.net
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 01-02-2017, 10:42 AM
Carl Froehlich's Avatar
Carl Froehlich Carl Froehlich is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Dogwood Airpark (VA42)
Posts: 940
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by daviid View Post
i did not get that vans flap position system because I had read a few places that the vpx was incompatible with it. Which is the system I intend to go with.
The Van's Flap Positioning System http://vansaircraft.com/cgi-bin/stor...al&product=fps
is a stand alone unit. All you need is a toggle switch (panel or stick) to make it work. I put this in the RV-10, back fitted in the RV-8A and installed in a new construction RV-14. Interface with VPX (or anything else) is not required or desired.

The Van's Flap Position Sensor http://vansaircraft.com/cgi-bin/stor...p_position_kit
is a simple potentiometer that feeds whatever indication you want. I installed this in an RV-14 and the Dynon SkyView has a pretty flap indicator that gets displayed.

For me I have little use for the position sensor. The Flap Positioning System however is a very nice unit - and is recommended.

Carl
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 01-03-2017, 06:22 AM
johngoodman's Avatar
johngoodman johngoodman is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Peachtree City, Georgia
Posts: 432
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by daviid View Post
i did not get that vans flap position system because I had read a few places that the vpx was incompatible with it. Which is the system I intend to go with.
Actually, the VP-200 controls the flap Motor, not the flap positioning system. So I should clarify. The VP-200 runs, and powers the flap motor. You can set the stop points anywhere you want, at any angle. The VP display shows the flap positions. You only need the flap motor and a position sender.
The Van's flap positioning system uses an analog position device, that also works very well. The decision is whether you want to use a Vertical Power system, or not.
It sounds like you've decided on the VPX, and I assume that it works the same as the VP-200. Actually, you could simply install Vans system with a flap switch. The VPX would not even know about flaps. Assuming that it doesn't power the flaps - just get the power from someplace else.
John
__________________
John Goodman - 40572
First flight was 25 June, 2011
N711JG
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 01-03-2017, 06:26 AM
rleffler's Avatar
rleffler rleffler is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Delaware, OH (KDLZ)
Posts: 3,490
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jesse View Post
The VP-X is the best system I have seen for doing what the OP wants to do. I don't remember if you can triple-click flaps down for full flaps or if you have to wait. I know that the VP-200 allowed multiple clicks to select a position and it would run until it gets to that point. I also really like the FPS that Van's sells. It is easy to install and works great.
The VPX has multiple stops on the way down, but a single press to raise the flaps to the 0 degree setting.
__________________
Bob Leffler
N410BL - RV10 Flying
http://mykitlog.com/rleffler
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 01-03-2017, 08:21 PM
Jesse's Avatar
Jesse Jesse is offline
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: X35 - Ocala, FL
Posts: 3,015
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by rleffler View Post
The VPX has multiple stops on the way down, but a single press to raise the flaps to the 0 degree setting.
What I was referring to is the VP-200 feature that you can click the flap switch down 2 times in quick succession to go to the second notch, or 3 times to go to the third notch without needing to wait for it to get to one notch before hitting the switch to go to the next. I don't remember if the VP-X has this feature or not. I really do like that feature, though. Nothing else that I am aware of has this feature.
__________________
Jesse Saint (Saint Aviation, Inc. - VAF Advertiser)
352-427-0285
jesse@saintaviation.com
RV Hotel (hangar, room, car) at X35 in north FL

Commercial ASEL/S A&P/IA EAA Technical Counselor

Dynamic Prop Balancing, Prebuy Inspections, Condition Inspections, Repairs and Mods, Injector Tuning, Airframe, Engine, Panel Upgrades, Ferrying, etc.
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 01-03-2017, 09:27 PM
daviid daviid is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Plainville, CT
Posts: 104
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Carl Froehlich View Post
The Van's Flap Positioning System http://vansaircraft.com/cgi-bin/stor...al&product=fps
is a stand alone unit. All you need is a toggle switch (panel or stick) to make it work. I put this in the RV-10, back fitted in the RV-8A and installed in a new construction RV-14. Interface with VPX (or anything else) is not required or desired.

The Van's Flap Position Sensor http://vansaircraft.com/cgi-bin/stor...p_position_kit
is a simple potentiometer that feeds whatever indication you want. I installed this in an RV-14 and the Dynon SkyView has a pretty flap indicator that gets displayed.

For me I have little use for the position sensor. The Flap Positioning System however is a very nice unit - and is recommended.

Carl
honestly its been so long since I made the decision, i cant even remember the specific details behind it. I just recently started working on my -10 again. i may just end up ordering these sensors anyways.
__________________
David King
RV-10 #41517
N484DK (Reserved)
http://rv10.daviid.net
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 06:50 PM.


The VAFForums come to you courtesy Delta Romeo, LLC. By viewing and participating in them you agree to build your plane using standardized methods and practices and to fly it safely and in accordance with the laws governing the country you are located in.