VansAirForceForums  
Home > VansAirForceForums

- POSTING RULES
- Donate yearly (please).
- Advertise in here!

- Today's Posts | Insert Pics


Go Back   VAF Forums > Model Specific > RV-7/7A
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #11  
Old 04-07-2017, 05:21 PM
Carl Froehlich's Avatar
Carl Froehlich Carl Froehlich is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Dogwood Airpark (VA42)
Posts: 847
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by snopercod View Post
I ran mine up front to the starter pad. That's where the heavy load is.
+1

Use the nice ground lug on the starter motor - that is what it is there for. Wire size to the starter ground lug the same as you have providing power to the starter. Ground wire from the starter then runs to the common ground lug on the firewall (I use the one with the "forest of tabs" on the cabin side").

Carl
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 04-07-2017, 06:42 PM
BillL BillL is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Central IL
Posts: 3,608
Default

I am the odd man out.

I used the case as noted with a braided strap from B&C. Thanks for the pict, Andy.

__________________
Bill

Last edited by BillL : 04-07-2017 at 06:49 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 04-07-2017, 07:35 PM
Bavafa Bavafa is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Sacramento, CA
Posts: 1,990
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bruceh View Post
I got my engine (IO-320) grounded to the firewall (one of the lugs on the forest of tabs ground block on the interior side). The other lug on the firewall will connect to the negative side of the battery. I used 2AWG welding cable and connected it to the vacuum pump accessory location.

This is where my ground strap is bolted on to the engine and then from the same bolt on the FW goes to the battery so in essence a direct [copper] path from the battery to the engine, intercepted by the airframe.
__________________
Mehrdad
RV7A - IO360M1B
Dues paid
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 04-09-2017, 08:16 PM
RV7A Flyer's Avatar
RV7A Flyer RV7A Flyer is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: US
Posts: 1,130
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Carl Froehlich View Post
+1

Use the nice ground lug on the starter motor - that is what it is there for.
Unless it doesn't have one, like the SkyTec...
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 04-10-2017, 01:28 AM
rv8ch rv8ch is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: LSGG
Posts: 1,927
Default ground straps

Here's what I ended up doing. Click on image for more pictures.

__________________
Mickey Coggins
http://rv8.ch
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 04-10-2017, 06:32 AM
Scott Hersha Scott Hersha is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 726
Default

I used that hole on the case flange just above the lower right engine mount - the one with the red arrow in the picture above. I just tapped this hole for the appropriately sized bolt and used a toothed lock washer to secure it. It's easily accessible with the engine mounted, and not in the way of anything else on my engine.
__________________
Scott Hersha
2001 RV-6 - sold 2005
2008 RV-8 Fastback - Sold 2016
RV-14 Wings - sold 2014
RV4 - Flying
Cessna 182RG - flying
New RV8 - Under construction
Cincinnati, OH/KHAO
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 04-10-2017, 08:49 AM
LARCO LARCO is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: DVT Phoenix
Posts: 781
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BillL View Post
I am the odd man out.

I used the case as noted with a braided strap from B&C. Thanks for the pict, Andy.

Have seen many connected here as well
__________________
Larry
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 04-10-2017, 09:11 AM
RViter RViter is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Mesa, AZ
Posts: 157
Default Could be worse ...

Quote:
Originally Posted by VETE76 View Post
my friends rv7 w/lyc io360was very hard starting. we had a tech counsler come over and he asked to see the engine ground strap. so we took the cowl off and showed him. he asked us to unbolt it, we did, he looked at he place we bolted the wire to, he asked whats all this engine paint doing here? remove it. we did. engine spun over much much faster and started right away. never a problem again! food for thought.
This could have been worse, and I had it happen, on the first few attempts to start my O-360. Actually fried a wire to the ignition switch. The engine barely turned over with the plugs installed, but had turned easily on the test with plugs out of the top. After a 2nd or 3rd attempt I smelled a hot wire, saw the Tefzel deformed, and felt the heat to be sure my eyes were seeing the problem.

Due to a distraction, I'd laid the ground strap on the bench one day and never connected it to the engine or the firewall. An ignition switch lead had become the only "ground wire" because it was the only path. Replaced the lead, installed a ground strap, and cautiously tried the starter ... ZING, sounded good.

It has given me cautionary approach to starting the engine. If ever it fails to turn over well, I will check the battery voltage 1st and the ground strap continuity 2nd, before cranking away at a crawl.
__________________
gary
RV-6A QB Tip-Up, 1st Flight 3/18/17
O-360-J2A (modified & F/I), Sensenich FP (cruise)
VP-X Sport, Dynon SkyView, VFR day
(FFZ) Mesa, AZ - N234GB -
www.mykitlog.com/garyc
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:22 AM.


The VAFForums come to you courtesy Delta Romeo, LLC. By viewing and participating in them you agree to build your plane using standardized methods and practices and to fly it safely and in accordance with the laws governing the country you are located in.