VansAirForceForums  
Home > VansAirForceForums

- POSTING RULES
- Donate yearly (please).
- Advertise in here!

- Today's Posts | Insert Pics


Go Back   VAF Forums > Model Specific > RV-12
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #21  
Old 05-03-2013, 01:56 PM
Papa Bear Papa Bear is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Louisville,Ky
Posts: 3
Default My fix for RV-12 intercom problem

For the past two months I have fought audio/intercomm problem on copilots side. By chance I grounded the headset speaker jacks to the airframe contrary to 31B-17 steps 3 & 5. My radio and intercom now work. To test this theory place an alligator clip with a wire to ground and clip it to the Headset speaker jack (largest diameter pin hole) on the seat floor. I hope this helps. Gus at Vans tech support said it should not help, but it did for me. Good luck.
Reply With Quote
  #22  
Old 05-03-2013, 02:46 PM
BobTurner BobTurner is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Livermore, CA
Posts: 4,587
Default

This indicates that the wire which should be attached to that jack terminal and running back to the audio ground is not hooked up, or broken.
Reply With Quote
  #23  
Old 07-22-2013, 09:11 PM
J.Coles J.Coles is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Auckland New Zealand
Posts: 96
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by engineerofsorts View Post
The stall warning appears to be independent of the Skyview audio, and has plenty of volume. I believe the beep is generated by the magical mystery 50000 box.

My wife reported that, when flying today, with the autopilot engaged, the a Skyview-generated "CAUTION" was being generated on a regular basis, without much indication on the screen of what to be cautious about. The "CAUTION" was loud enough to hear, much louder that when the Skyview audio output test was being run.

I'll run a few more experiments next trip to the hangar.
Hi Rob,

Were you able to sort this problem out? When we engage the autopilot it works well as an autopilot however the lady keeps saying caution non stop.
There is no message on the screen to indicate what the problem is.

Cheers

Julian 120316
Reply With Quote
  #24  
Old 07-22-2013, 09:39 PM
engineerofsorts's Avatar
engineerofsorts engineerofsorts is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Austin, Texas
Posts: 293
Default Not sure what we ended up doing

Quote:
Originally Posted by J.Coles View Post
Hi Rob,

Were you able to sort this problem out? When we engage the autopilot it works well as an autopilot however the lady keeps saying caution non stop.
There is no message on the screen to indicate what the problem is.

Cheers

Julian 120316
My wife and Jetguy (John Albury) messed with multiple settings, for which I'm not quite sure what did the trick. She can't recall all the tricks, but included futzing with the volume control on our headsets while adjusting output volume and squelch on the comm radio--my guess is that since we couldn't seem to get much volume out of the the skyview, by reducing the Comm volume and increasing the intercom and headset volume, things got generally balanced. If Jetguy can recall the details of the magic, I'm sure he'll respond.
__________________
Rob Reese
RV-12 #332
N73HR Now flying!
Austin, TX
Reply With Quote
  #25  
Old 07-22-2013, 10:01 PM
txaviator's Avatar
txaviator txaviator is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Arlington, TX (DFW)
Posts: 1,162
Default

I met Jetguy while he was giving transition training to my RV-12 buddies at KGKY. He is the pro on all things Dynon. He was hearing precautionary warnings in his plane (IIRC), that many folks had yet to hear- based on settings, etc. Based upon my conversation with him, if he can't figure it out, it probably doesn't exist! He's the wealth of local knowledge on these settings. Highly recommended for his RV-12 specific Dynon expertise!
__________________
Gary Robertson
Arlington, TX

RV-12 Built / Sold / Flying
Currently Flying: Cessna Skyhawk 172
Rebuilding a true barn find J-3 Cub
Reply With Quote
  #26  
Old 03-25-2017, 07:23 PM
AirHound AirHound is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: OFallon IL now, everywhere before
Posts: 154
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by rvbuilder2002 View Post
Actually it doesn't...
If the fiberglass on the sides, has been trimmed per the plans, all screws can be removed from the fwd top skin without removing the canopy (I have done it many times).
Can it be trimmed years later? How so?
__________________
Doug
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:14 AM.


The VAFForums come to you courtesy Delta Romeo, LLC. By viewing and participating in them you agree to build your plane using standardized methods and practices and to fly it safely and in accordance with the laws governing the country you are located in.