What's new
Van's Air Force

Don't miss anything! Register now for full access to the definitive RV support community.

Harmon Rocket crash in Corona, ca (transitioned to funds for survivor)

Sorry to hear about this...

Very sobering...the pictures look like that is a survivable put down...I would have thought folks might be banged up, but...not a fatality.

Going to have to see what the NTSB says...

Prayers for the families on the way...

can we learn something?

I studied the photo briefly, hoping to see a nice, long, drag mark in this green field. Sadly, it looks like the impact was rather abrupt. Not to speculate, just observe that if we have choices, keeping the wing flying forward, at any speed, is often the key to survival.

A shame for our community, and tragic for those directly involved or related.

In the interest of safety:

I was meeting a friend at the Corona airport cafe for lunch and happened to pass by the Rocket about two hours after the accident. I thought it was an RV at first, but I could not get close enough to confirm. The police had the area cordoned off, and the NTSB was there. Of course, the ambulances had already departed. After about forty-five minutes, the cordon was lifted except for the area within about one hundred feet of the aircraft. I was able to get closer and saw that it was a Rocket. The NTSB personnel were gone.

Two eye witnesses reported to airport officials that the Rocket’s engine quit just after takeoff to the east. The pilot pulled up, turned about 140 degrees to the right, barely cleared the airport fence, and pancaked the Rocket into tall grass and weeds; folding the gear back. It looked like the Rocket slid on heading about two hundred feet, or so, and then rotated ninety degrees to the right as it stopped. In other words, the Rocket appeared to stop rather quickly in the tall, dense foliage.