VansAirForceForums  
Home > VansAirForceForums

- POSTING RULES
- Donate yearly (please).
- Advertise in here!

- Today's Posts | Insert Pics


Go Back   VAF Forums > Model Specific > RV-12
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-26-2018, 06:20 PM
AirHound AirHound is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: OFallon IL now, everywhere before
Posts: 235
Default Skyview upgrade to SVtouch or get the dynon dongle?

Is it a good value to upgrade to SVtouch for 1295? My goal is more expeditious and exacting waypoint flight planning data input. Or, does dynon dongle data transfer from ForeFlight accomplish the same for a lot less cost? Doug
__________________
Doug
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-26-2018, 06:35 PM
tomkk's Avatar
tomkk tomkk is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Port Orange, Fl
Posts: 795
Default

I don't use ForeFlight but I do a similar process with FltPlan & FltPlan GO. At least with that, the offline planning and upload into Skyview with the WiFi dongle is very smooth and, IMHO, I wouldn't upgrade to touch just for that.
__________________
Tom
Port Orange, Fl
RV-12 N121TK ELSA #120845; first flight 06/10/2015
RV-12 N918EN ELSA #120995 Eagles Nest Project
SPA Panther N26TK in progress
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-26-2018, 06:40 PM
BruceEicher's Avatar
BruceEicher BruceEicher is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Wilsonville/Aurora KUAO Oregon
Posts: 692
Default

Upgrade to touch for the faster processor, and get the dongle, works great with ForeFlight.
__________________
Bruce, Katie, Hana and RV-8 HulaGirl
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-26-2018, 07:00 PM
Jesse's Avatar
Jesse Jesse is offline
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: X35 - Ocala, FL
Posts: 3,629
Default

I would do both. $35 for the WiFi is a no brained, but touch is too if you can afford it.
__________________
Jesse Saint (Saint Aviation, Inc. - VAF Advertiser)
352-427-0285
jesse@saintaviation.com
RV Hotel (hangar, room, car) at X35 in north FL

Commercial ASEL/S A&P/IA EAA Technical Counselor

Dynamic Prop Balancing, Prebuy Inspections, Condition Inspections, Repairs and Mods, Injector Tuning, Airframe, Engine, Panel Upgrades, Ferrying, etc.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 10-26-2018, 07:20 PM
SMRacer SMRacer is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Leesburg, VA
Posts: 398
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jesse View Post
I would do both. $35 for the WiFi is a no brained, but touch is too if you can afford it.
I couldn't agree more...almost. The WiFi is indeed a no brainer. My AFS 5600T has a clumsy flight plan input, and that's solved by the WiFi and (in my case) an ipad running FlyQ EFB. The touch, however, is over-rated, and I use mostly the buttons. BUT, if you have the discretionary money, why not upgrade.
__________________
Jim
Leesburg, VA
RV4 N444JT (sold)
RV8 N37PK
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 10-26-2018, 11:44 PM
Pdtofly Pdtofly is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Reno, NV
Posts: 171
Default SkyView Touch

Another advantage to the touch screen upgrade, it is an new unit with a new 3 year warranty.

I had a 7 year classic, even though I had no problems with my unit, it was a no brainer for me.

Think about it, and decide what is best for you.

Brian.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 10-27-2018, 03:35 PM
timfwalsh01@comcast.net timfwalsh01@comcast.net is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: VA
Posts: 23
Default Touch Upgrades??

Does Dynon still have an upgrade program from Classis Skyview to a Touch?

Could not find it on their website. Tim
__________________
Tim Walsh
Velocity 173 FG N129VA
Manassas, VA (HEF)
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 10-27-2018, 05:23 PM
Pdtofly Pdtofly is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Reno, NV
Posts: 171
Default Classic to Classic Touch

Tim,

Yes they do. It is a SkyView Classic to Classic Touch upgrade only, not to a SkyView HDX.

Call Tech support, tell them you want to do a screen upgrade and they will give you a RMA number and you send in your screen and they will copy all your files and setting over from your old screen to a new one. Normally it should only take a day or so. The cost, if my memory is correct is $1295 for the upgrade.

Then they will charge your CC for the upgrade and return your new screen to you.

Personally, I would make a copy of all your settings on your own memory stick before you send yours in.

Good luck.

Brian

Last edited by Pdtofly : 10-27-2018 at 09:45 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 10-27-2018, 09:59 PM
Northernliving Northernliving is offline
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 136
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by AirHound View Post
Is it a good value to upgrade to SVtouch for 1295? My goal is more expeditious and exacting waypoint flight planning data input. Or, does dynon dongle data transfer from ForeFlight accomplish the same for a lot less cost? Doug
I do all my planning with Seattle Avionics FlyQ EFB and upload it via wifi to my Skyview Touch. It takes seconds. Simply amazing! I would think it would work in a similar way with the standard Skyview. For $35, I would try that before dropping the money for the touch upgrade.
__________________
Brian J.
Boston, MA
RV8 Based at ORH - Purchased
RV8 - The Dream - Under Construction
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 10-27-2018, 11:02 PM
RV8JD's Avatar
RV8JD RV8JD is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 916
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Pdtofly View Post
Personally, I would make a copy of all your settings on your own memory stick before you send yours in.
Also, manually record your HOBBS and TACH time, as these two pieces of information are not saved in the exported settings file. See page 21-3 of the System Installation Guide for instructions on what to do before removing your SkyView display to ship to Dynon.

Personally, I would not underestimate the flexibility and functionality of the Touch screen. I find it very useful to be able to use either the knobs/buttons or the touch fields on the screen depending on the circumstances.

For example on the PFD, it's great to be able to touch the Baro Field, Heading/Track Field, IAS Field, or Altitude Field and have the left knob automatically be set to that item for easy adjustment of that parameter.

Some other examples: Touch in the CHT/EGT section of the EMS and the Engine Page options appear on the bottom row above the buttons. It's a quick way to get to the Lean button.

For Autopilot expert mode, touch in the AP bar on the top left of the display, and if you touch on the left side the Roll menu appears in the bottom row of the display above the buttons. Touch on the right side of the AP bar and the Pitch menu comes up in the bottom row of the display above the buttons.

Touch in the Transponder box in the upper middle of the display and the Transponder menu appears in the bottom row of the display above the buttons.

All very handy.

I also run ForeFlight on an iPad Mini. I often make changes to the flight plan in-flight in FF and then send it via Wi-Fi to the SkyView Touch. Works well and is easy.
__________________
Carl N.
Arlington, WA (KAWO)
RV-8, 415 Tach Hours
(Pic 1),(Pic 2)
- Out with the Old, In with the New
(Pic)
RV-8, 1938 Tach Hours (Pic 1),(Pic 2) - Sold

Glasflügel Standard Libelle 201B, N564NS - Sold
Rolladen-Schneider LS1-f, N61MP - No longer owned

Last edited by RV8JD : 10-27-2018 at 11:15 PM.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:58 AM.


The VAFForums come to you courtesy Delta Romeo, LLC. By viewing and participating in them you agree to build your plane using standardized methods and practices and to fly it safely and in accordance with the laws governing the country you are located in.