What's new
Van's Air Force

Don't miss anything! Register now for full access to the definitive RV support community.

What to put in plug threads

Can someone tell what the correct procedure to put on plug thread I was on the understanding of putting on antiseize but a of Lamies down under say just put oil on the threads
Cheers
Charlie
Rv9a 300 hours
Building rv10

If you can find this stuff in Australia, it works very well on 18mm massive electrode aviation spark plugs. I've been using it for almost 14 years.

antiseize.jpg

http://www.aircraftspruce.com/catalog/eppages/antiseize.php

A 4 ounce bottle is a lifetime supply too.

It's graphite-based.

There's lots of warnings around the internet about never using any copper-based anti-sieze compound on spark plugs due to the risk of causing a short-circuit if any gets into the plug gap.

Last edited:
Anti seize. You would have to be a moron to apply enough to short out plug. Graphite is conductive also is it not?
If alarmist/conspiracy nuts on the internet are to be believed the best thing to do is hide in a hole.

From a Tempest engineer

Always replace the copper gasket with a new one every time the plugs are removed. The gasket flattens once the torque is applied and it can never be reused and take the appropriate shape. Also, copper has heat sync properties which assure the heat from the plug core nose is dissipated properly. Improper heat dissipation effectively changes the heat rating of the plug and can, in severe case, cause pre-ignition.

Anti-seize compound on the spark plug threads is also very important. Not only does it allow easier removal of the plugs, but jt also assures proper torque when installing the plugs.