VansAirForceForums  
Home > VansAirForceForums

- POSTING RULES
- Donate yearly (please).
- Advertise in here!

- Today's Posts | Insert Pics

  #1  
Old 03-08-2020, 03:37 AM
jelliott82 jelliott82 is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2018
Location: Dunedin, New Zealand
Posts: 17
Default Garmin GTR200 Install - RX Stuck ON

Hello

I am part way through my RV7 build and have just about finished installing my Garmin suite, including a GTR200 Comm.

The issue I am having is that from the moment the GTR200 is powered on, it is stuck in RX mode. I have tried a variety of things including:

- Removing either end of the antenna cable (either at the antenna or radio) and this instantly causes RX to turn off

- Pushing the volume button for manual squelch which doesn't help, but I am unsure how to actually increase the squelch after doing this

- Tested continuity on my antenna cable (RG400) and confirmed that I have a good connection between the centre pin to centre pin, and then shield to shield

- My RAMI AV-17 whip antenna is mounted on the belly and I am reasonably sure has a decent termination to the airframe via the 4 mounting bolts for a ground plane

Running out of ideas to work out what my issue is. Any suggestions would be appreciated.

Thanks,
Jonathan
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-08-2020, 06:18 AM
mturnerb mturnerb is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: Ponte Vedra, FL
Posts: 1,300
Default

Could you borrow another COMM antenna to be sure there's not a problem with your antenna?
__________________
Turner Billingsley

RV-14A built/sold N14VB
RV-10 in progress as of May 2020

https://tbrv10.blogspot.com/
https://turnerb14a.blogspot.com/
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-08-2020, 06:18 AM
pilot2512 pilot2512 is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Spring, TX
Posts: 429
Default

Where is your build located? It is a common problem when people are still building in their homes. Lots of electrical noise that can cause squelch to open. Especially things like LED lights. Take it outside away from the building if you can or just wait until you get to the airport, and even then you will need to be outside.

Jay
__________________
Jay
RV-9A
Empennage complete.
Wings complete.
Fuselage in progress
Wiring in progress
2020 Donation made!
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-08-2020, 07:44 AM
sjhurlbut sjhurlbut is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 792
Default Agree

Yeah agree with that. My hangar lights cause RX signals. Simple try first at least. Also try changing freq and see if that affects it.
__________________
Visit and subscribe to Stu's Aircraft Factory on

https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCGQ..._as=subscriber

Steve "Stu"
Cold Lake, Alberta
7A #70015 - C-FZQX - built - sold
7A #71629 - C-FSIS - built - sold across Atlantic
7 #70215 - C-GOJU - flying - sold
7 #70703 - C-GMIY - flying - sold
6 #60119 - C-FHBZ - built - Airventure 2016 Bronze Lindy - sold
8 #82842 - C-FSBG - Fastback with big hp IO-360-A1B6 10:1 - built - flying
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 03-08-2020, 07:54 AM
cajunwings cajunwings is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: new iberia la
Posts: 728
Default Troubleshooting

Any way to remove electrical power from the building the plane is in? My house has a main breaker.

Don Broussard
RV9 Rebuild in Progress
57 Pacer
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 03-09-2020, 03:26 AM
cderk cderk is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: Park Ridge, NJ
Posts: 489
Default

Jonathan -
What are you using to power your radio? I purchased a 12v power supply for playing with my panel. Unfortunately not all power supplies are created equal. Both my GTN and GTR radios were stuck in RX when powered via the power supply. Get a 12v battery and try it - i bet the problem goes away.
__________________
RV10 - Phase 1 Complete and Flying
http://n688cd.wordpress.com
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 03-09-2020, 10:08 AM
g3xpert's Avatar
g3xpert g3xpert is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Olathe, KS
Posts: 2,783
Default GTR 200 RX

Quote:
Originally Posted by jelliott82 View Post
Hello

I am part way through my RV7 build and have just about finished installing my Garmin suite, including a GTR200 Comm.

The issue I am having is that from the moment the GTR200 is powered on, it is stuck in RX mode. I have tried a variety of things including:

- Removing either end of the antenna cable (either at the antenna or radio) and this instantly causes RX to turn off

- Pushing the volume button for manual squelch which doesn't help, but I am unsure how to actually increase the squelch after doing this

- Tested continuity on my antenna cable (RG400) and confirmed that I have a good connection between the centre pin to centre pin, and then shield to shield

- My RAMI AV-17 whip antenna is mounted on the belly and I am reasonably sure has a decent termination to the airframe via the 4 mounting bolts for a ground plane

Running out of ideas to work out what my issue is. Any suggestions would be appreciated.

Thanks,
Jonathan
Jonathan,

To echo what a few others have said, start with the build environment, it is the easiest to rule out. Overhead lighting, noisy power supply's, etc.

If you continue to have issues, please reach out to us at G3Xpert@Garmin.com. There will be a bit of information we need from you, as well as several troubleshooting steps to run through to isolate the source of the interference.

Thanks,

Justin
__________________
Garmin G3X Support
g3xpert@garmin.com
1-866-854-8433 - 7 to 7 Central Time M to F
Please email us for support instead of using Private Messaging due to the limitations of the latter.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 03-09-2020, 06:26 PM
Scott Hersha Scott Hersha is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 1,396
Default

Could be the ON/OFF//squelsh switch (left switch). Mine was faulty on my new GTR200B. I couldn’t turn the unit off. Volume and squelsh worked on mine, but not the ON/OFF. Garmin replaced it under warranty.
__________________
SH
RV6/2001 built/sold 2005
RV8 Fastback/2008 built/sold 2015
RV4/bought 2016/sold/2017
RV8/2018 built/Sold(sadly)
RV4/bought 2019 Flying
Cincinnati, OH/KHAO
JAN2020
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 03-10-2020, 05:28 PM
jelliott82 jelliott82 is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2018
Location: Dunedin, New Zealand
Posts: 17
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by cderk View Post
Jonathan -
What are you using to power your radio? I purchased a 12v power supply for playing with my panel. Unfortunately not all power supplies are created equal. Both my GTN and GTR radios were stuck in RX when powered via the power supply. Get a 12v battery and try it - i bet the problem goes away.
Thanks for all your help and responses. I checked everything outlined here as I am still building at home but CDERK you nailed it, I was powering the plane from an AC powered 12V DC Power supply which must have been creating the intereference seen. After powering the aircraft up off a 12V battery the Radio is behaving correctly.

Now I just need to work out why my Microphone inputs / intercom aren't working! The fun never ends! Thanks all, appreciate your feedback and responses once again.

Jonathan
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:40 PM.


The VAFForums come to you courtesy Delta Romeo, LLC. By viewing and participating in them you agree to build your plane using standardized methods and practices and to fly it safely and in accordance with the laws governing the country you are located in.