What's new
Van's Air Force

Don't miss anything! Register now for full access to the definitive RV support community.

Review: Devilbiss DKups System

WingsOnWheels

Well Known Member
I haven't seen a lot of info about painting tools on the forum, so I thought I would add my 2 cents.

While I haven't painted the whole plane yet, I have painted the interior and done a lot of priming on the fiberglass to prep for paint.

I purchased the Devilbiss Dekups system in preparation for painting the bottom of the plane. I have used it (unnecessarily) during the priming to get used to the system before topcoat.

Pros:
*It works painting inverted or any other angle with a gravity feed gun!
*Cheaper than the 3M PPS System (especially the adapters)
*Pretty easy to use

Cons:
*The measuring insert is not marked for mix ratios, so you have to do the math for your 4:1:1, 2:1...etc. mix
*Since I am a hobbyist and don't have a production gun-cleaning machine, I found it made gun cleaning more difficult and messy than a standard paint cup.

*My normal method for prep and cleaning is: Use ratio cup to mix paint, pour into gun cup, apply paint, pour excess paint back into ratio cup, pour solvent into gun cup and swish, pour solvent into ratio cup, more solvent into gun cup and spray-through, Disassemble gun and put air cap and fluid tip into a small cup with solvent. Clean parts and reassemble.

With the DKups system, you can't spray solvent through the gun without using a second liner or cleaning the first liner (which defeats the purpose of making it disposable) so you are left with a filthy gun (internally) and use a lot more solvent cleaning the gun.

All that said, I bought the system so I can paint the bottom of the plane and it should work great for that. I would buy the system again, but I'll stick to a standard cup for most of the paint work.

Last edited: