What's new
Van's Air Force

Don't miss anything! Register now for full access to the definitive RV support community.

Proseal and pop rivets

XOverZero

Well Known Member
Took a hop on AA MD-80 last week, DFW to TUL. Noticed this patch on the acft and thought it looked interesting, having set quite a few blind rivets myself in the RV-12 project. That's a lot of holes to drill. Hope they got all the chips cleared out OK.

IMG_0851.jpg

What, no edge rolling? That's a heckuva patch?I wonder what caused the damage in the first place. Condor strike?

Most likely caused by ground crew running the jetway into it.

Note the reflection of the jetway in the fuse skin. It's right there. However, it could also just as easily have been flight crew taxiing the plane into the jetway. Hey, it happens.

Hmmm

I'm not an expert for sure but looks kind of sloppy to me. Guess it'll hold up to the atmosphere/cabin pressure thou. Hope that it is just a temporary patch??? Which airline please?

That is just downright ugly. It was obviously done by someone who doesn't own the plane.

proseal

I assure you that is a temporary repair and most likely has a time attached to it. Airliners don't make money sitting on the ground.
Image the interior items that are going to have to be removed to get at the other side to buck a rivet.
Cherry max rivets for sure, the sealant is to keep the pressurization in.

Considering it's an MD80 and flying from DFW to TUL, I'm going to guess it's the company I work for: American Airlines.

That repair is most definetly temporary and it would never get approved if it wasn't structuraly sound. It's all about turning the metal. Those old MD80s will be phased out within the next couple of years as they are a high time and high cycle fleet.

I am the culprit. A coworker who is a member on this forum sent this thread to me.