VansAirForceForums  
Home > VansAirForceForums

- POSTING RULES
- Donate yearly (please).
- Advertise in here!

- Today's Posts | Insert Pics


Go Back   VAF Forums > Avionics / Interiors / Fiberglass > ADS-B
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #11  
Old 05-13-2019, 05:54 PM
moosepileit moosepileit is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Floyds Knobs, IN
Posts: 492
Default

Flightaware does. I used their gear in part shaking down my Skybeacon Anonymous mode posts.

My SDR, Flightaware filter and basic +5dbi SMA antenna, same as you would find on a Stratux, records planes with UAT to 30+ NM at 2000+ AGL regularly. Just plugged into my phone, on the ground, not even on a highpoint in the open. The 1090 antenna gets enroute jets out to 120+ NM.

I am unsure of how 978mhz UAT recording will catch on vs existing 1090mhz ES/ADS-B out recording. It takes an extra receiver (SDR), extra antenna, extra USB port and extra run of line to the antenna.

31 January 2019-

https://discussions.flightaware.com/...-antenna/45405

FlightAware is pleased to announce the availability of a 978 MHz antenna designed for receiving UAT978 signals. This antenna is a similar design to our very popular 1090 MHz antenna and is offered at a similar price point. We think it offers a great value to enthusiasts that wish to experiment with UAT reception. We are offering a limited quantity of these antennas via Amazon USA to hobbyists that have built or are interested in building sites that use the “dump978” software to track aircraft that use that alternative ADS-B technology in the USA. Also remember that our bandpass filter can be used with this antenna as it is designed to pass both 978 MHz and 1090 MHz signals. Please note that this is not a dual-band antenna design and is specifically for use on 978 MHz only. You will want to use a separate receiver such as the original (Orange) Pro Stick USB RTL-SDR device to receive 978 MHz. The Pro Stick Plus is not compatible with UAT 978 reception. This is a limited quantity offering while we assess the level of interest in 978UAT among the hobbyist community. We will evaluate increasing future supply of this product based on the level of interest.
__________________
RV-6, bought from builder.
O-320, slider, carb, mags, FP

Last edited by moosepileit : 05-13-2019 at 06:37 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 05-13-2019, 06:04 PM
GalinHdz's Avatar
GalinHdz GalinHdz is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: KSGJ / TJBQ
Posts: 1,760
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ironflight View Post
Interestingly enough, I got curious about FlightAware, brought up the App, and typed in the tail number of my little jet (N958PD). I haven’t talked to anyone, nor filed a flight plan on it, yet quite a few of my test flights show up on their tracking. Not all of them, by any means, but some of them. I can’t figure out the differences between those that do, and those that don’t - almost all of the flying has been above 12,000’ so far.

Paul
If you are not in range of a FlightAware ADS-B receiving stations (not the FAA ground stations) then this will happen.

Quote:
Originally Posted by larrynew View Post
I have the older Dynon SV-ADSB-470 which is UAT only. I always show up on Flightaware and have for several years. In all 48 lower states. VFR 1200 no flight following. Their free account keeps the history for 3 months. I use it to cross check (help me remember) where I flew for my logbook.
The DYNON SV-ADSB-470 is a UAT receiver and does not transmit anything. If you are using the SV-XPONDER-26X, it is 1090MHz OUT not UAT. That is why you show up on Flightaware with "show position only flights" selected.

__________________
Galin
CP-ASEL-AMEL-IR
FCC Radiotelephone (PG) with Radar Endorsement
2019 Dues Paid
www.PuertoRicoFlyer.com

Last edited by GalinHdz : 05-13-2019 at 07:28 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 05-13-2019, 06:18 PM
Dvalcik's Avatar
Dvalcik Dvalcik is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Ellsworth, ME
Posts: 819
Default Email from support

Looks like UAT functionality is coming soon. Email below from my request to support.

__________________
David
EAA 1434 KBST
Belfast, ME
david@rv12pilot.com
2019 VAF Supporter


RV12 #568 EAB
* Started 9/30/2011
* 1st flight 8/30/12


http://www.rv12pilot.com
https://www.youtube.com/user/dvalcik
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 05-13-2019, 07:31 PM
N456TS N456TS is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Location: NC
Posts: 30
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dvalcik View Post
Looks like UAT functionality is coming soon. Email below from my request to support.
Those like me, have been feeding UAT to Flightaware for years. Anyone flying with a UAT transponder near/at KHBI is being picked up by my antennas mounted to the FBO. This was an unsupported configuration which required you to know what you're doing.

Today, you can download a pre-release SD card image with UAT support. Flightaware now sells UAT antennas on Amazon. So, anyone who wants to provide UAT coverage can now do so with a lot less effort then before. The only thing to note is to keep your expectations in-check. UAT transponders transmit at a lower wattage and typically are low flyers. As a result, it's harder to pickup those signals and there are very few people with UAT antennas uploading to Flightaware.

See: https://discussions.flightaware.com/...light-tracking for more info.
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 05-14-2019, 04:04 PM
1001001's Avatar
1001001 1001001 is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Just Minutes from KBVI!
Posts: 852
Default

They do UAT but ground stations generally have to choose to use either 978 MHz or 1090 MHz and most go with the 1090, I think. My station has a 1090 antenna. I imagine one could operate two ground stations but I don’t think the receiver dongles they sell can do both frequencies at the same time. This is based on my experience with a FlightAware ground station I have been operating since about 2015.

I’d be interested in finding out if I am wrong about this...
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 05-15-2019, 07:49 AM
ClayR_9A's Avatar
ClayR_9A ClayR_9A is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 170
Default

I have a GRT GPS+EchoUAT, and didn't do anything special but I show up on Flightaware. Creepy that anyone can type in my N number and see when and where I'm flying (and even get an alert of when I takeoff and land).

I have noticed the coverage is spotty though - sometimes only parts of the flight path appear, and the lower I am, the less it picks up. I'm based at Lancaster, TX - south of Dallas.
__________________
Clay R- RV9A - Flying since 2004 - 400 hours
VAF dues paid through end of 2019.
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 08-29-2019, 12:27 PM
rcarsey rcarsey is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: North Brunswick, NJ
Posts: 126
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 1001001 View Post
They do UAT but ground stations generally have to choose to use either 978 MHz or 1090 MHz and most go with the 1090, I think. My station has a 1090 antenna. I imagine one could operate two ground stations but I donít think the receiver dongles they sell can do both frequencies at the same time. This is based on my experience with a FlightAware ground station I have been operating since about 2015.

Iíd be interested in finding out if I am wrong about this...
This is true. I build a ground station for about $100. And once you've gone that far, its only a matter of buying a second radio/antenna for $20-30 to add a second frequency to receive and decode UAT data.

In my case, I have 3 radios attached to my $30 Raspberry Pi "computer", one for the standard 1090Mhz, one for a 978Mhz UAT, and a 3rd to receive airband frequencies. I stream the position data to various places (flightaware, adsbexchange, radarbox24 and flightradar24), and the audio is sent to LiveATC. Interestingly, one receiver can listen to a bunch of different AM airband frequencies - i suppose because each channel takes up such a small amount of bandwidth (25khz).

As for privacy concerns.. how long before someone robs my house because they see that I've gone out flying? http://www.aero-news.net/index.cfm?d...0-c1e690cb6b84
__________________
Rob Carsey, North Brunswick NJ
RV-12iS (N713)
Tail 95% done (VS fairing)
Wings 95% done (AOA)
Fuse 100% done
Finish 75% done (canopy, cowl & tail glass)
Avionics 0% done (IFR package ordered)
Dues paid 2019
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 08-29-2019, 11:21 PM
alcladrv alcladrv is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Southeast
Posts: 522
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by rcarsey View Post
As for privacy concerns.. how long before someone robs my house because they see that I've gone out flying?
To slow the crooks down, you can opt out of releasing your address on your airman certificates at faa.gov. For aircraft certification, you can change your aircraft registration address to a PO Box or some other non-descript location.

The FAA is completely irresponsible with personal and aircraft information. It's utterly bizarre to me that you can't lookup any info about the license plate of some random car or maybe the car that just cut you off, but the FAA shouts your info to the world.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 06:59 PM.


The VAFForums come to you courtesy Delta Romeo, LLC. By viewing and participating in them you agree to build your plane using standardized methods and practices and to fly it safely and in accordance with the laws governing the country you are located in.