VansAirForceForums  
Home > VansAirForceForums

- POSTING RULES
- Donate yearly (please).
- Advertise in here!

- Today's Posts | Insert Pics

  #371  
Old 06-08-2019, 06:36 PM
Piper J3's Avatar
Piper J3 Piper J3 is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Hinckley, Ohio
Posts: 1,385
Default

Would it be better to run the engine with the wings on to absorb vibration?
__________________
-
Jim Stricker
Hinckley, Ohio (1OA2)
EAA #499867
PPL/ASEL 1970 - Sport Pilot since 2007
80 hrs Flying Aeronca Chief 11AC N86203
1130 hrs Flying 46 Piper J-3 Cub N6841H
RV-12 E-LSA #120058 AWC July 2012 N633CM
RV-12 Bought Flying Oct 2015 with 48TT - Hobbs now 441

LSRM-A Certificate 2016
Special Thanks... EJ Trucks - Crew Chief A-4 Skyhawk
and MJ Stricker (CFI) - 1st Lt. Captain B-17H
Reply With Quote
  #372  
Old 06-08-2019, 06:40 PM
jcaplins's Avatar
jcaplins jcaplins is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Davis, CA, USA
Posts: 510
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Piper J3 View Post
Would it be better to run the engine with the wings on to absorb vibration?
Ha ha... It's not a Lycoming!

(somewhat kidding, and somewhat not.)
__________________
Jeff Caplins
California
RV7 N76CX
(started: Feb 2002 --> Completed: May 2016)
Reply With Quote
  #373  
Old 06-09-2019, 09:08 PM
charosenz's Avatar
charosenz charosenz is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Longview, Wash
Posts: 217
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Piper J3 View Post
Would it be better to run the engine with the wings on to absorb vibration?
Jim,

The engine is extremely smooth and there is virtually no vibration. But.....with the prop on it at high RPM there is a lot of torque roll that I do have to manage. When I had it on the test stand that was bilt with 2x6" that were 48" apart, I did have to add 6' outrigger when I did hard pulls at 5000 RPM with the prop on it, as it actually started to rock the engine stand (slightly). And as you can bet I also had to tie it to a large UTV to keep it help back. But Vibration, really none.

Charlie
Reply With Quote
  #374  
Old 06-14-2019, 08:46 PM
charosenz's Avatar
charosenz charosenz is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Longview, Wash
Posts: 217
Default labeling wiring

I had to send the radiator back to the shop to have a pin hole filled.

It gave me a chance to start getting serious about installing the engine wiring.

One point that I had struggled with in the past (may be some out there have too) is how to label thin wires, esp if the terminal is already on the wire?

One option that works well for me is to take a short length of flexible 1/8th PE tubing (the kind at the aviation isle at Home Depot) to give the label something large to wrap around and then cover both with clear shrink tube.

On important benefit is that you can cut the PE tubing lengthwise if the terminal is already on the wire, then slip the label in between the 1/8th PE and the shrink wrap. make sure to cut the clear shrink wrap just a bit longer than the PE tubing so it will shrink down around the PE and the label to hold it all in place.

Here is a pick of the finished product, and that short section of PE next to it.



You can buy cheap label makers on amazong for less than $30.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:48 PM.


The VAFForums come to you courtesy Delta Romeo, LLC. By viewing and participating in them you agree to build your plane using standardized methods and practices and to fly it safely and in accordance with the laws governing the country you are located in.