VansAirForceForums  
Home > VansAirForceForums

- POSTING RULES
- Donate yearly (please).
- Advertise in here!

- Today's Posts | Insert Pics

  #371  
Old 06-08-2019, 06:36 PM
Piper J3's Avatar
Piper J3 Piper J3 is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Hinckley, Ohio
Posts: 1,528
Default

Would it be better to run the engine with the wings on to absorb vibration?
__________________
-
Jim Stricker
Hinckley, Ohio (1OA2)
EAA #499867
PPL/ASEL 1970 - Sport Pilot since 2007
80 hrs Flying Aeronca Chief 11AC N86203
1130 hrs Flying 46 Piper J-3 Cub N6841H
RV-12 E-LSA #120058 AWC July 2012 N633CM
RV-12 Bought Flying Oct 2015 with 48TT - Hobbs now 512

LSRM-A Certificate 2016
Special Thanks... EJ Trucks - USN Crew Chief A-4 Skyhawk
MJ Stricker (Father & CFI) - USAAF 1st Lt. Captain B-17H
Reply With Quote
  #372  
Old 06-08-2019, 06:40 PM
jcaplins's Avatar
jcaplins jcaplins is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Davis, CA, USA
Posts: 516
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Piper J3 View Post
Would it be better to run the engine with the wings on to absorb vibration?
Ha ha... It's not a Lycoming!

(somewhat kidding, and somewhat not.)
__________________
Jeff Caplins
California
RV7 N76CX
(started: Feb 2002 --> Completed: May 2016)
Reply With Quote
  #373  
Old 06-09-2019, 09:08 PM
charosenz's Avatar
charosenz charosenz is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Longview, Wash
Posts: 279
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Piper J3 View Post
Would it be better to run the engine with the wings on to absorb vibration?
Jim,

The engine is extremely smooth and there is virtually no vibration. But.....with the prop on it at high RPM there is a lot of torque roll that I do have to manage. When I had it on the test stand that was bilt with 2x6" that were 48" apart, I did have to add 6' outrigger when I did hard pulls at 5000 RPM with the prop on it, as it actually started to rock the engine stand (slightly). And as you can bet I also had to tie it to a large UTV to keep it help back. But Vibration, really none.

Charlie
Reply With Quote
  #374  
Old 06-14-2019, 08:46 PM
charosenz's Avatar
charosenz charosenz is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Longview, Wash
Posts: 279
Default labeling wiring

I had to send the radiator back to the shop to have a pin hole filled.

It gave me a chance to start getting serious about installing the engine wiring.

One point that I had struggled with in the past (may be some out there have too) is how to label thin wires, esp if the terminal is already on the wire?

One option that works well for me is to take a short length of flexible 1/8th PE tubing (the kind at the aviation isle at Home Depot) to give the label something large to wrap around and then cover both with clear shrink tube.

On important benefit is that you can cut the PE tubing lengthwise if the terminal is already on the wire, then slip the label in between the 1/8th PE and the shrink wrap. make sure to cut the clear shrink wrap just a bit longer than the PE tubing so it will shrink down around the PE and the label to hold it all in place.

Here is a pick of the finished product, and that short section of PE next to it.



You can buy cheap label makers on amazong for less than $30.
Reply With Quote
  #375  
Old 06-16-2019, 10:25 PM
charosenz's Avatar
charosenz charosenz is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Longview, Wash
Posts: 279
Default fold down tray for ECU etc under panel.

I suspect I am not alone with struggling to find room for all the electrical components that need to be installed. Even more difficult is finding a way to make it secure, but accessible. One way that I have seen others do is to build a tray under the sub panel that can be removed, hinged, or even slide out on rollers.

Here is what I came up with. It is a panel that has a hinge at the back, so the majority of it can be unbolted so the tray can swing down in front of the rudder pedals for "easier" access. I do like it but i also struggle with esome interference with the throttle cable. Nothing that I cannot work around.



The next picture is of the tray swung up and bolted in to place.



Notice the 0.032 stiffners I added to the bottom just to give it some strength and rigidity.

Disregard the loose random break lines. Those qualify as a yet to be done project....and.....wait until you see the birds nest of wires that I get to clean up!

Charlie

Last edited by charosenz : 06-16-2019 at 10:28 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #376  
Old 06-21-2019, 09:29 PM
charosenz's Avatar
charosenz charosenz is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Longview, Wash
Posts: 279
Default Modifications to the engine to go in the plance

One of the questions I get asked the most is what modifications that I had to do to be able to make the engine work in the airplane. Most of the questions end up being related to how the mount attaches to the engine. So I created a video to cover a few of the highlights and I posted it on Youtube. The link is below.

One thing that I want to add is that did not modify the engine itself. I think Honda got that part right. Probably the only exception is the VTC spool valve. This device is what varies the timing of the intake valve. In the car, Honda has the PCM turn the oil control valve on an off which allows it to use the emissions friendly profile cam and then when it senses a demand for power, it flows oil over in the intake rocker arms so they utilize the Hight Output profiled came lobes. I have it set to run in the "high out put" mode all the time. This was simply a matter of energizing the oil control valve so the oil pressure engages intake rocker arms so the use the high output profile cam.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=BTseMbFHNlI

Charlie
Reply With Quote
  #377  
Old 06-25-2019, 09:04 AM
charosenz's Avatar
charosenz charosenz is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Longview, Wash
Posts: 279
Default Why not use the OEM PCM/ECU?

Why don't you just use the Honda PCM/ECU?

I do get this questions a lot. The OEM PCM has a lot going on inside, and it requires a lot more sensor input than what I need or want. For example, it is used to seeing Transmission activity, Vehicle Speed, and lots of emissions data like EGT, EVAP, Catalytic Converters info and much more.

So why not use an aftermarket ECU programmer. Well aside from the fact that I am super happy with SDSEFI, there are other aftermarket PCM and PCM programming tools. I have talk with the folks at Hondata, Ktuner, Motec, Link and more. Some of these are viable options, especially if you use a port injected engine, and not a late model GDI (gas direct injection).

If you are considering an aftermarket PCM/Programmer and you are not familiar with them, get some advice from an experience programmer and make sure they know your "unique off road" machine will not have a lot of the typical sensor data. Some sensors can be "turned off" Others cannot. MOTEC is the leading automotive standalone PCM but they are expensive. They start at $4k and go up much higher.

One of the more out-of-the-box thinkers said that most of these engines have cousins who do duty as marine engines. Yes. Very true, in fact the Honda K24, one of the most venerable honda engines has been doing just that for over 15 years. There is some very sound logic in considering this route. While some of the engines do have some changes in the design from their land based siblings, now days it is rare, and the changes are usually more beneficial to an aviation adaptation to boot. A marine PCM would not be looking for Transmission and speed data. But they do look for other controls and I am not familiar with their design layout. But the Honda Marine BF150A has excellent specs and the PCM wiring schematic is readily available on line - its even included in the owners manual. So the theory for those of you who are not afraid to innovative, you could use a BF150A Marine PCM on a land based K24Z series as it would not be required to look for transmission data etc. But you would still need an after market re programmer like Hondata, or Motec and it might be possible. For me, I am going to stick with SDSEFI because it is proven and the support is great. The only downside is that, currently, SDS does not support GDI and all but one Honda (the R18) is not GDI. So it you are looking to get one of the more late model Honda for your rocket ship. Do your homework!

My project is looking good. I have had my head (feet, arms, back) deep in to the electrical work. Nothing fun to report, other than it is going well.

On a side note. This thread passed the 50,000 views milestone last week! I have to admit that is a big number. Surprising too. There are not a lot of folks who comment, and I suspect there are quite a few lurkers who for various reason don't want to comment. If, by chance, it is because of ridicule from other members of VAF that would be a shame. I hope that is not the case. Regardless, as long as people seem interested, I will post. I realize this is not the type of venture than most builders would want to tackle, but certainly by the viewers, it is certainly something people are interested in reading about. For me it is what I enjoy the most. Experimental aviation does include the forward part of the firewall too!

Let me know if you have question, comments, or respectful disagreements, all welcome.

Good flying to you all.

Charlie

Last edited by charosenz : 06-25-2019 at 09:09 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #378  
Old 06-25-2019, 12:53 PM
Piper J3's Avatar
Piper J3 Piper J3 is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Hinckley, Ohio
Posts: 1,528
Default

Excellent Charlie. Keep crimping wires...
__________________
-
Jim Stricker
Hinckley, Ohio (1OA2)
EAA #499867
PPL/ASEL 1970 - Sport Pilot since 2007
80 hrs Flying Aeronca Chief 11AC N86203
1130 hrs Flying 46 Piper J-3 Cub N6841H
RV-12 E-LSA #120058 AWC July 2012 N633CM
RV-12 Bought Flying Oct 2015 with 48TT - Hobbs now 512

LSRM-A Certificate 2016
Special Thanks... EJ Trucks - USN Crew Chief A-4 Skyhawk
MJ Stricker (Father & CFI) - USAAF 1st Lt. Captain B-17H
Reply With Quote
  #379  
Old 07-01-2019, 10:45 PM
charosenz's Avatar
charosenz charosenz is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Longview, Wash
Posts: 279
Default working on panel

Just up date on the progress.

I have the wiring from the FWF back through the sub panel and I have a good start on the panel...

Here is a pic below. When it comes to the engine instruments you will see "traditional" gauges. I guess I am a bit old fashioned that way. The "Blank" area in the middle of the panel will be an IPAD probably running forflight.



Also, one thing I found that I really like, is a USA made, water proof, re-settable master breaker, and only $26 bucks!

Here is a link to that breaker. https://spemco.com/175-s0-090-2-mech...surface-mount/

I have this mounted on the subpanel.



Charlie

Last edited by charosenz : 07-01-2019 at 11:03 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #380  
Old 07-03-2019, 07:26 AM
Piper J3's Avatar
Piper J3 Piper J3 is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Hinckley, Ohio
Posts: 1,528
Default

Charlie

It surprises me that you are going with EFIS/EMS in order to log data on engine performance. It would seem to be a huge benefit during early shakedown flights and maintenance in general...
__________________
-
Jim Stricker
Hinckley, Ohio (1OA2)
EAA #499867
PPL/ASEL 1970 - Sport Pilot since 2007
80 hrs Flying Aeronca Chief 11AC N86203
1130 hrs Flying 46 Piper J-3 Cub N6841H
RV-12 E-LSA #120058 AWC July 2012 N633CM
RV-12 Bought Flying Oct 2015 with 48TT - Hobbs now 512

LSRM-A Certificate 2016
Special Thanks... EJ Trucks - USN Crew Chief A-4 Skyhawk
MJ Stricker (Father & CFI) - USAAF 1st Lt. Captain B-17H
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:08 PM.


The VAFForums come to you courtesy Delta Romeo, LLC. By viewing and participating in them you agree to build your plane using standardized methods and practices and to fly it safely and in accordance with the laws governing the country you are located in.