VansAirForceForums  
Home > VansAirForceForums

- POSTING RULES
- Donate yearly (please).
- Advertise in here!

- Today's Posts | Insert Pics


Go Back   VAF Forums > Model Specific > RV-8/8A
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-04-2017, 04:04 PM
RidiculousM RidiculousM is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Camarillo, CA
Posts: 75
Default Garmin G3X GTP 59 Temperature Probe Placement

I'd like to know where you have placed your GTP 59 temperature probe.

Thanks,
Mike
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-04-2017, 06:57 PM
BillL BillL is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Central IL
Posts: 4,007
Default

In the wing root space. The advice came from an impeccable source.

Some data - http://www.vansairforce.com/communit...02&postcount=5
__________________
Bill

Op Lims in hand 12-7-17
Prep for 1st flight underway.

Last edited by BillL : 11-05-2017 at 07:53 AM. Reason: added data reference
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-04-2017, 07:05 PM
maus92 maus92 is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Annapolis MD
Posts: 357
Default

The OB had installed what I think was the stock bent tubing pitot adjacent an inspection plate. When I installed a Garmin AOA pitot tube with mast, I put the G3X temperature probe in the old pitot hole. Easy, and far enough outboard to be out of the exhaust stream and prop wash for the most part.
__________________
CA
2000 RV-8A | O-360, FP, G3X Touch, VP-X, EarthX
Eastern Shore | KESN
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11-04-2017, 07:09 PM
RV3bpilot's Avatar
RV3bpilot RV3bpilot is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: New Ulm, Minnesota
Posts: 248
Default

I placed mine in the bottom of the right wing in the second inspection access cover so it was far enough away from any engine heat and on the cool side of the wing. I also used some heat sink compound in between the sensor and the aluminum skin and then attached it with glue. Securing the wires so if the glue comes loose the probe will not get into the aileron controls.
__________________
Robin Mckee
New Ulm, MN 56073
RV3b N219BB
287 hours and counting
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 11-04-2017, 10:15 PM
bhester's Avatar
bhester bhester is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Hopkinsville, KY
Posts: 790
Thumbs up Under the tail

I mounted mine in the RH inspection panel under the horizontal stab.
https://photos.google.com/share/AF1Q...NHeU5kdDBqT1Zn
__________________
Bobby Hester - Builder/Pilot/A&P
Surfing the web from Hopkinsville, KY
N857BH RV7A XP-O360 - Garmin G3X ADS-B IN/OUT 2020 Compliant
Web site: http://www.newtech.com/bobbyhester/RVSite.htm
Dec. 2017 VAF donator - alot better than any magazine subscription
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 11-05-2017, 04:23 AM
humptybump's Avatar
humptybump humptybump is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Eastern Shore of Virginia
Posts: 2,979
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by maus92 View Post
The OB had installed what I think was the stock bent tubing pitot adjacent an inspection plate. When I installed a Garmin AOA pitot tube with mast, I put the G3X temperature probe in the old pitot hole.
I did the same.
__________________
- Glen, ESVA
RV-8 FP IFR | Track my RV-8 | 53VG
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 11-05-2017, 06:51 AM
ColoRv's Avatar
ColoRv ColoRv is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Tampa (BKV)
Posts: 857
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by RV3bpilot View Post
I placed mine in the bottom of the right wing in the second inspection access cover so it was far enough away from any engine heat and on the cool side of the wing.

This has worked well on mine.
__________________
RV-8 Flying
1,235th flying RV8
SARL Race#95
SnF Homebuilt Judge

2015 Sun n Fun Kit Built Reserve Grand Champion
2015 Oshkosh Kit Built Champion
2015 Jeffco Kit Built Grand Champion
2014 Oshkosh Outstanding Workmanship Award

Broken Warrior of the Jarhead Clan
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 11-05-2017, 01:56 PM
RidiculousM RidiculousM is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Camarillo, CA
Posts: 75
Default

Thanks for all of your replies, it looks like under the wing near the root it is.

Mike
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 11-05-2017, 02:20 PM
jump4way jump4way is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Coolidge, AZ
Posts: 251
Default

I just returned from the AEA experimental avionics installation class and they were very clear that the probe needed to be exposed to the outside air. They cautioned against “hiding”the probe as it would give erroneous readings.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 11-05-2017, 11:52 PM
Robertcropdust Robertcropdust is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Tx
Posts: 39
Default Probe placement.

I mounted mine in the pilots front air Naca duct. Looks great works great.
__________________
Harmon Rocket 2 sold
Built and flying Rv8

AT-402 office
AT-502 office
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 08:35 PM.


The VAFForums come to you courtesy Delta Romeo, LLC. By viewing and participating in them you agree to build your plane using standardized methods and practices and to fly it safely and in accordance with the laws governing the country you are located in.