VansAirForceForums  
Home > VansAirForceForums

- POSTING RULES
- Donate yearly (please).
- Advertise in here!

- Today's Posts | Insert Pics

Old 11-29-2016, 09:23 AM

Default RV-10 Electrical System

With the finishing kit on order and the cabin top ready to be put down it's time to start really thinking about the electrical layout of the project. I'm not a complete novice to electrical systems/wiring but this will be by far the most ambitious and complex project I've done. My plan is to do a much wiring as I feel comfortable with but will undoubtedly have a few of the wiring harnesses made professionally.

Working off some of the base designs in AeroElectric Connection I started working up a diagram in Visio. I found myself working in circles and decided to take a step back and determine component location and understanding what I'm putting in the plane before figuring out how it all connects and interconnects.... Understanding this will all change before the project flies.

I put together this very large picture to try and conceptualize where everything is going to be placed. If I'm forgetting, missing or something is completely off base I would like to know.

Once I understand the above I can start working out schematics. I plan on using both a VPX Pro for the electronic breakers and a Garmin GAD 27 for the discrete inputs into the EFIS. They share some duplication on trim and flaps control so not clear how I'll work through that yet. Would like to hear and possibly look at any drawings where someone has both of these installed. Actually I would also settle for a schematic where someone used a VPX Pro just to see how they did it. Anything would help,

Thanks!
Donated for 2018

Last edited by AviatorJ : 01-13-2017 at 07:58 AM. Reason: Updated Graphic
Old 11-29-2016, 10:34 AM

Hey Justin.