VansAirForceForums  
Home > VansAirForceForums

- POSTING RULES
- Donate yearly (please).
- Advertise in here!

- Today's Posts | Insert Pics

  #1  
Old 02-20-2018, 10:31 AM
JBHansen JBHansen is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Simi Valley
Posts: 16
Default Skyview Problem

In the process of installing dual Dkyview HDX. I am getting a message 'Skyview Network Connection Fault - Data 2 Pair (Pins 4 & 8)'. At the same time, Skyview is not detecting my two AP servos nor the Adahrs. Any ideas would help.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-20-2018, 11:39 AM
Raymo's Avatar
Raymo Raymo is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Richmond Hill, GA (KLHW)
Posts: 1,707
Default

You'll want to ring out your serial/network cables for proper continuity and make sure you don't have recessed pins in any connectors. If both screens are showing the same error, look for a common connection to start troubleshooting.
__________________
Ray
RV-7A - Slider - N495KL - First flt 27 Jan 17
O-360-A4M w/ Catto 3 blade NLE, AFP FM-150 FI, 1 PMag, Vetterman Trombone Exh, SkyTech starter,
PlanePower Alt, FlightLines Interior, James cowl & plenum
All lines by TSFlightLines
NSDQ

"The object of the game, gentlemen, is not to cheat death: the object is not to let him play."
Patrick Poteen, Sgt. U.S. Army

Last edited by Raymo : 02-20-2018 at 12:58 PM. Reason: clarity
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-20-2018, 08:18 PM
Jesse's Avatar
Jesse Jesse is online now
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: X35 - Ocala, FL
Posts: 3,560
Default

I have seen this problem with a bad auto pilot servo, but usually it is a network cable that is not working correctly. Go into the settings and then to network status and see what devices are showing the fault. This should help you figure out where the problem is.
__________________
Jesse Saint (Saint Aviation, Inc. - VAF Advertiser)
352-427-0285
jesse@saintaviation.com
RV Hotel (hangar, room, car) at X35 in north FL

Commercial ASEL/S A&P/IA EAA Technical Counselor

Dynamic Prop Balancing, Prebuy Inspections, Condition Inspections, Repairs and Mods, Injector Tuning, Airframe, Engine, Panel Upgrades, Ferrying, etc.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-20-2018, 08:20 PM
Jeff Vaughan's Avatar
Jeff Vaughan Jeff Vaughan is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: West Chester, Pa
Posts: 528
Default Had same issue

Start here. Check the pin locations in the AHARs. I had them wrong. Once put in the correct locations all three will be detected if the rest of the wiring is correct. Canít for the life of me figure out why I had them in the wrong locations, but I did.
__________________
Jeff Vaughan
RV 12 N237VW ELSA
RV 7A N561EV Sold
West Chester Pa

[COLOR="rgb(46, 139, 87)"]=VAF= Paid up 2018[/color]
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 02-22-2018, 04:15 PM
JBHansen JBHansen is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Simi Valley
Posts: 16
Default

I would like to thank the persons who replied to my post. It did turn out that the adahrs was wired incorrectly. It is now up and looking very happy Now on to the ap servos that have not been detected either.
Thanks again.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 02-23-2018, 06:30 AM
Jpm757 Jpm757 is offline
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Sherman, CT
Posts: 208
Default

If the network does not recognize the autopilot servos then there may be a problem with the servo wiring. Pin out both harnesses for correct wiring. The autopilot calibration and servo test function will not be enabled unless BOTH SERVOS are recognized. I had this problem, and it turned out to be a faulty (new) pitch servo. Dynon happily replaced the servo and I was back in business.
__________________
Jake
RV6 completed 1991 sold.
RV7 #72018 N767T first flight 11/21/2017 150+ hrs.
IO-360M1B MT 3 blade, Dual AFS 5600.
1941 J3 Cub
2018 dues paid.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 02-23-2018, 08:41 AM
Raymo's Avatar
Raymo Raymo is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Richmond Hill, GA (KLHW)
Posts: 1,707
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JBHansen View Post
I would like to thank the persons who replied to my post. It did turn out that the adahrs was wired incorrectly. It is now up and looking very happy Now on to the ap servos that have not been detected either.
Thanks again.
JB,

Confirm you have provided 12v to the AP servos from your main bus. They cannot be powered by the serial network, as are the AHRS.
__________________
Ray
RV-7A - Slider - N495KL - First flt 27 Jan 17
O-360-A4M w/ Catto 3 blade NLE, AFP FM-150 FI, 1 PMag, Vetterman Trombone Exh, SkyTech starter,
PlanePower Alt, FlightLines Interior, James cowl & plenum
All lines by TSFlightLines
NSDQ

"The object of the game, gentlemen, is not to cheat death: the object is not to let him play."
Patrick Poteen, Sgt. U.S. Army
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 02-23-2018, 10:51 AM
alexe alexe is offline
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Temecula, CA
Posts: 245
Default

And confirm that the A/P switch on the panel is on :-)
__________________
Alex Erdelyi
RV-12 #120758, N912AE
Flying as of 4/28/15
Paid through December, 2018
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 02-23-2018, 12:06 PM
rvbuilder2002 rvbuilder2002 is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Hubbard Oregon
Posts: 7,710
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by alexe View Post
And confirm that the A/P switch on the panel is on :-)
Plus one for this^^^^

It has been the cause of quite a few AP system config. problems.
__________________
Any opinions expressed in this message are my own and not necessarily those of my employer.

Scott McDaniels
Hubbard, Oregon
RV-6A (aka "Junkyard Special ")
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 03-12-2018, 01:59 PM
JBHansen JBHansen is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Simi Valley
Posts: 16
Default

I have verfied 12v to the servos using the Vans wiring harnesses. They are stilool not showing in the Skyview Network Setup.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:09 PM.


The VAFForums come to you courtesy Delta Romeo, LLC. By viewing and participating in them you agree to build your plane using standardized methods and practices and to fly it safely and in accordance with the laws governing the country you are located in.