VansAirForceForums  
Home > VansAirForceForums

- POSTING RULES
- Donate yearly (please).
- Advertise in here!

- Today's Posts | Insert Pics

  #11  
Old 05-19-2017, 06:56 PM
BruceEicher's Avatar
BruceEicher BruceEicher is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Wilsonville/Aurora KUAO Oregon
Posts: 678
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dlloyd3 View Post
I have had a couple VDO pressure sensors go bad, giving erratic and high indications on my Dynon. Last replacement got an upgrade to a Kavlico sensor, no problems since.
Same here....with the old Van's supplied sensor, same goes for fuel pressure I found.
__________________
Bruce, Katie, Hana and RV-8 HulaGirl
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 05-19-2017, 08:39 PM
RV7A Flyer's Avatar
RV7A Flyer RV7A Flyer is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: US
Posts: 1,593
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by AlexPeterson View Post
Oil pressure is the one instrument which needs a mechanical backup. What would you have done if the error (assuming it is an indication error) had shown 20psi?
So do mechanical sensors need a backup? They can fail, too. And I'm unaware of any certificated light aircraft (Cessna, Piper, etc.) which have a backup.

And if you have a backup, and it reads differently than the primary, you now have the problem of "taking two clocks to sea". Which one is right?

The answer to your question, of course, is to land and sort it out on the ground.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 05-19-2017, 10:22 PM
Veetail88's Avatar
Veetail88 Veetail88 is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Hales Corners, WI
Posts: 863
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by RV7A Flyer View Post

The answer to your question, of course, is to land and sort it out on the ground.
which is what I'd have done if it showed 20.
__________________
Jesse Bentley
N229Z - RV-8 - Flying - Livin' the dream!
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 05-20-2017, 09:02 AM
Jab Jab is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Location: Tampa, FL
Posts: 40
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by AndyRV7 View Post
If I may, what would cause an actual rise in oil pressure during normal operation of an otherwise healthy engine?
A very high oil pressure can be just as dangerous as low oil pressure. I have had two engine failures, admittedly turbines, because there was a blockage in the oil return line. This resulted in a high oil pressure indication but temperature was normal because it was being read downstream of the blockage.

If you have faulty senders, change them. You don't want to do a precautionary landing and damage something, or yourself, because of an indication problem.
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 05-20-2017, 09:20 AM
AlexPeterson's Avatar
AlexPeterson AlexPeterson is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Maple Grove, MN
Posts: 2,070
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Veetail88 View Post
which is what I'd have done if it showed 20.
If the nearest airport is 50 miles away, would you take the risks involved in landing on a road? How about, in the case of two gauges, if one gauge still showed normal pressure, one showed 20? If one really believed the pressure was dropping towards zero, a precautionary landing on a road would be the proper course of action. However, if one gauge still showed pressure, and all other indications were normal, I'd fly on.
__________________
Alex Peterson
RV6A N66AP 1600+ hours
Maple Grove, MN
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 05-20-2017, 11:44 AM
chipf chipf is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 175
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dlloyd3 View Post
I have had a couple VDO pressure sensors go bad, giving erratic and high indications on my Dynon. Last replacement got an upgrade to a Kavlico sensor, no problems since.
What display and sensor do you have?
I had the exact same issue. With the old Dynon sensor, I would occasionally see high oil pressure on takeoff. But in the last few months it starting spiking in flight. Replaced with the new Kavlico (not exactly a drop in replacement), and oil pressure reading is back to normal.
__________________
Chip Freitag
RV-9A N207LT
590 hrs

cfrv9aproject.blogspot
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 06-12-2017, 08:02 PM
sprucemoose's Avatar
sprucemoose sprucemoose is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: MKE
Posts: 1,497
Default

Does the Kavlico output ohms like the VDO or is it a volts or amps output? The 3 wire configuration has me wondering and I cannot find any documentation.
__________________
Jeff Point
RV-6, RLU-1 built & flying
Tech Counselor, Flight Advisor & President, EAA Chapter 18
Milwaukee
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 06-12-2017, 09:12 PM
AlexPeterson's Avatar
AlexPeterson AlexPeterson is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Maple Grove, MN
Posts: 2,070
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sprucemoose View Post
Does the Kavlico output ohms like the VDO or is it a volts or amps output? The 3 wire configuration has me wondering and I cannot find any documentation.
Voltage is applied on 2 lines, and a signal voltage is measured on the 3rd line. I know in the case of the G3X, the signal is 5 volts. Not sure what range it can handle.
__________________
Alex Peterson
RV6A N66AP 1600+ hours
Maple Grove, MN
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 06-13-2017, 05:44 AM
sprucemoose's Avatar
sprucemoose sprucemoose is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: MKE
Posts: 1,497
Default

Thanks. That makes the most sense given the 3 wires but sans documentation I'm left guessing.
__________________
Jeff Point
RV-6, RLU-1 built & flying
Tech Counselor, Flight Advisor & President, EAA Chapter 18
Milwaukee
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 06-13-2017, 06:12 AM
Jesse's Avatar
Jesse Jesse is offline
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: X35 - Ocala, FL
Posts: 3,559
Default

With the Kavlico sensors and the AFS 4500:
- Black wire gets a local or an EMS ground
- Green wire connects to the wire that used to go to the VDO sensor
- Red wire gets +5VDC from the AFS pin 19 on the 37-pin EMS connector
__________________
Jesse Saint (Saint Aviation, Inc. - VAF Advertiser)
352-427-0285
jesse@saintaviation.com
RV Hotel (hangar, room, car) at X35 in north FL

Commercial ASEL/S A&P/IA EAA Technical Counselor

Dynamic Prop Balancing, Prebuy Inspections, Condition Inspections, Repairs and Mods, Injector Tuning, Airframe, Engine, Panel Upgrades, Ferrying, etc.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:09 PM.


The VAFForums come to you courtesy Delta Romeo, LLC. By viewing and participating in them you agree to build your plane using standardized methods and practices and to fly it safely and in accordance with the laws governing the country you are located in.