VansAirForceForums  
Home > VansAirForceForums

- POSTING RULES
- Donate yearly (please).
- Advertise in here!

- Today's Posts | Insert Pics

  #1  
Old 10-08-2017, 06:14 AM
BigJohn BigJohn is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Gloversville, NY
Posts: 1,467
Default Replacing G496 with G660 - Issues?

Thinking it might be time to replace the 496 that came with the kit in 2010 with the touch screen 660. Ah, the lure of a new toy. 😬

Looking for advice from anyone who has done this. Any special problems or issues with physical mounting, electrical hookup, interface with the venerable D180? Tips and tricks?
__________________
John Peck, CFII, A&P, EAA Tech Counselor, Flight Advisor.
RV-12 N37JP 120176 Flying since 2012.
VAF paid through 10/2017. Best bargain in town.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-08-2017, 07:41 AM
Jetguy's Avatar
Jetguy Jetguy is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Texas, Fort Worth
Posts: 1,211
Default Here you go!

Will have more later, busy right now. But its easy Peazy. And it way better than the 496!

__________________
John
RV12 N1212K
Flying Since June 2010
1020 Hours as of 9/30/2017
Jetguy@att.net
RV14 Wing, arrived and building at Rdog's new Hanger at 16X
S/N 140014
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-08-2017, 08:20 AM
Ironflight's Avatar
Ironflight Ironflight is offline
VAF Moderator / Line Boy
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Dayton, NV
Posts: 11,366
Default

I recently made a mount for the 660 in my RV-8 so that I can use it to display ADS-B data from my new GTX-345, and it's a very nice replacement for the 496 - as long as you are comfortable not having XM weather anymore. Great display, logic the same as the rest of the touch screen Garmin equipment, and much more modern than the 496. Very nice unit.

Of course, for full disclosure, I still have an original 696 in the cockpit (because I do a lot of testing) ... but I find that I am rarely even acknowledging the boot screen on some flights anymore....
__________________
Paul F. Dye
Editor in Chief - KITPLANES Magazine
RV-8 - N188PD - "Valkyrie"
RV-6 (By Marriage) - N164MS - "Mikey"
RV-3B - N13PL - "Tsamsiyu"
A&P, EAA Tech Counselor/Flight Advisor
Dayton Valley Airpark (A34)
http://Ironflight.com
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-08-2017, 09:25 AM
jliltd jliltd is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Farm Shack, TX
Posts: 203
Default

You can have Sirius/XM weather with the aera 660. Add a GDL-51 or GDL-51R to a configuration like Paul's (GTX 345/45R) or if you already have a GDL 39. This will add Sirius/XM weather and traffic.

If you are starting from scratch, don't have an existing GDL 39 or GTX 345/45R or want the replace an existing GDL 39 all together then you could go with the GDL 52/52R that provides 5 types of information in one, FIS-B, TIS-B, Sirius Weather and Sirius Music along with attitude through it's built-in AHRS. And the GDL-52 wiring, harness and antenna are connecto-compatible with an existing GDL-39. Also, when paired with a Garmin portable like the aera 660, 796, 696 etc, neither the GDL 39 or 52 need a view of the sky or a separate external GPS antenna as the Garmin portable will provide it with GPS position. This means that these Garmin portable ADS-B recievers can be installed out of sight for a neat integrated look when paired with an aera.

Since you mention pairing the 660 with a Dynon you would want to get two accessory cables. The "bare wire data" cable for the aera 660 and the "bare wire data" cable for the GDL 39/5x. These cables will give you all the proper wires, colored per the installation instructions for integrating the GDL to aera along with the RS232 channel(s) to your Dynon and/or radio able to accept SL-40 protocol for standby frequency loading from the aera.
You can't try to cut any corners here by reusing the included power cable or any of the direct GDL to aera data cables with cigarette lighter ends. Garmin thwarted that sort of thing by leaving out channels and randomizing the wire color codes in any cable, except for the bare wire data cables. Which shouldn't be surprise any of us. So just spend the extra $55 each for the bare cables up front. I don't have any experience or specific instructions for the Dynon integration or settings or whether this would even be an option.

If you fly multiple aircraft then get a GLD 52 and install extra quick-release base mounts in each aircraft. I am currently planning to do just that, replacing my current GDL-39 3D with a back-ordered GDL-52 with 3 extra mounts. On my fleet I unplug the USB connector and ADS-B coax from the GDL and then quick release the unit from the mount and slap it into the other aicraft. One subscription many airframes. Woola.

Jim
__________________
RV-3B

Last edited by jliltd : 10-08-2017 at 09:40 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 10-08-2017, 11:08 AM
Jetguy's Avatar
Jetguy Jetguy is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Texas, Fort Worth
Posts: 1,211
Default

John, Start with this thread link below and work through it at your leisure to become completely familiar with the 660. You can just start with the GPS then over time add accessories as you want. Its currently $750 but Im sure there will be black friday deals after Thanksgiving at Aircraftspruce and Sportys. Maybe $50 off with free shipping. The screen is the same size as a iPhone 6,7 plus. Also the touch screen feature is just as good as the iPhone or Android. Further more it is much easier to update software and data bases. Go back and look at the wiring diagram for the 496 then add another in-out serial port and that is the basic wiring for the 660. You can use the same wiring setup that is for the 496 except you have to use the bare wire mount as stated earlier in the thread. Didn't hook up the audio so can't speak to that part. Before the 660 I had a 796 and the audio in that unit caused white noise in the system that couldn't be corrected. I suspect the the 660 audio will work fine.


http://www.vansairforce.com/communit...135203&page=28
__________________
John
RV12 N1212K
Flying Since June 2010
1020 Hours as of 9/30/2017
Jetguy@att.net
RV14 Wing, arrived and building at Rdog's new Hanger at 16X
S/N 140014
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 10-09-2017, 07:45 PM
AirHound AirHound is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: OFallon IL now, everywhere before
Posts: 155
Thumbs up

Purposely underutilize 660 adsb capability, but wanted a quieter removeable hand held. I replaced the panel mounted 496 with a 660, choose to keep it a simple gizmo removeable stand alone, with battery and cigar lighter powered, to have less noise. The 496 antenna and wiring were noise sources or at least conduits. Quieter now. Use Foreflight and stratus for adsb in and dynon for adsb out capability nice seeing The traffic on a multisizeable screen, not too congested. I found a way to mod the older center panel to fit the air gizmo without removing the throttle, choke, heater cables. I rely on dynon and primarily set the 660 on nearest and have it for flight instrument/6 pack/ battery powered back up.

What do you fellows think about this concept?

I say if you aren't getting noise and got bucks then upgrade to dynon with adsb in and out . The 660 is still a small environment with all that capability and a real challenge in bumpy air to push small buttons etc....

Doug in IL
__________________
Doug

Last edited by AirHound : 10-09-2017 at 07:53 PM.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 08:43 AM.


The VAFForums come to you courtesy Delta Romeo, LLC. By viewing and participating in them you agree to build your plane using standardized methods and practices and to fly it safely and in accordance with the laws governing the country you are located in.