VansAirForceForums  
Home > VansAirForceForums

- POSTING RULES
- Donate yearly (please).
- Advertise in here!

- Today's Posts | Insert Pics

  #1  
Old 10-02-2017, 12:49 PM
unitink72 unitink72 is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Cedar Rapids, IA
Posts: 91
Default Van's Yaw Servo Mount

A few questions regarding Van's kit for installing the yaw servo.

1. Sterling at Van's said it was meant for the RV-14 but could be "adapted" for the -10. Has anybody been through that process, can you tell me exactly what that entails?

2. I'm about to assemble the tailcone. Would it be wise to install this now? It looks like one of the mounting points is shared with the bellcrank support ribs. So if I did it later, those rivets would have to come out. Not a huge deal but would much rather get it all taken care of now.


3. If you are flying the Dynon yaw servo, do you still see a need for yaw trim? I've asked a lot of folks this question, and have gotten a lot of conflicting answers.
__________________
Josh T
RV-10 #1750
N67SC reserved
http://n67sc.blogspot.com/
2016 Dues Paid

Last edited by unitink72 : 10-02-2017 at 01:35 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-02-2017, 03:41 PM
vic syracuse vic syracuse is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Locust Grove, GA
Posts: 1,998
Default Yaw servo

Yes it is much easier to do it now rather than crawl back in there later to do it. No, you will not need trim. You might still need a trim piece on the rudder, as he yaw servo only trims the ball to center when it is engaged.

Vic
__________________
Vic Syracuse

Built RV-4, RV-6, 2-RV-10's, RV-7A, RV-8, Prescott Pusher, Kitfox Model II, Kitfox Speedster, Kitfox 7 Super Sport, DAR, A&P, EAA Tech Counselor/Flight Advisor, CFII-ASMEL/ASES
EAA Homebuilt Council
Van's East Coast Representative
Mallards Landing, GA (GA04)
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-02-2017, 04:56 PM
GaryK's Avatar
GaryK GaryK is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Zeeland, Michigan
Posts: 313
Default

Josh,
I installed in my flying RV10, not a hard job just uncomfortable. I would install the bracket during the build since everything is open.

You'll still need to crawl into the luggage area at some point to install the servo, wiring and bridle cables.

Gary
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 08:51 AM.


The VAFForums come to you courtesy Delta Romeo, LLC. By viewing and participating in them you agree to build your plane using standardized methods and practices and to fly it safely and in accordance with the laws governing the country you are located in.