VansAirForceForums  
Home > VansAirForceForums

- POSTING RULES
- Donate yearly (please).
- Advertise in here!

- Today's Posts | Insert Pics


Go Back   VAF Forums > Model Specific > RV-14
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #11  
Old 10-02-2017, 10:18 AM
g3xpert's Avatar
g3xpert g3xpert is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Olathe, KS
Posts: 1,676
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MED View Post
Brian, you said:[*]
Will the G3x, the GAD27, or the GEA 24 provide speed-selectable limits on trim speed, like the Safety Trim system Van's sells? I understand that is important and I am currently determining just how broke Stein is going to make me . . .
In addition to automatic trim (which runs with our autopilot engaged to trim out the airplane), we also include speed scheduled manual trim. First, you get this speed scheduling as a standard feature with our GSA 28 servos. The servo gets wired directly to your trim motor and allows you to set up the speed schedule. If you opt for the GAD 27, you can wire both pilot/co-pilot trim inputs into the GAD 27 to combine them into a single trim output. If you have GSA 28 servos, you will wire the GAD 27 output to the GSA 28 servo, then the GSA 28 servo output to the trim motor. If you don't have our GSA 28 servo, you can still run the GAD 27 output directly to the trim motor. Reference Figure 26-2.2 in Rev AB installation manual.

Regards,
Brian
__________________
Garmin G3X Support
g3xpert@garmin.com
1-866-854-8433 - 7 to 7 Central Time M to F
Please email us for support instead of using Private Messaging due to the limitations of the latter.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 10-02-2017, 11:03 AM
MED MED is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Aiken, SC
Posts: 152
Default

Thank you, Brian. Just what I needed.
__________________
MED
140236
N435MD reserved
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 10-03-2017, 12:32 AM
Z-EDD's Avatar
Z-EDD Z-EDD is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Harare, Zimbabwe
Posts: 146
Default

Although I am a long way from flying with such a system, it strikes me that a function that would allow switching through MFD screens or toggling between split and full screen from a stick switch would be very handy. Can't find any evidence that this is possible though.
__________________
Ed Fleming
RV-7- Wings done for now, canoe riveted.
Harare, Zimbabwe
Paid 2017
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 10-03-2017, 07:08 AM
g3xpert's Avatar
g3xpert g3xpert is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Olathe, KS
Posts: 1,676
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Z-EDD View Post
Although I am a long way from flying with such a system, it strikes me that a function that would allow switching through MFD screens or toggling between split and full screen from a stick switch would be very handy. Can't find any evidence that this is possible though.
Good morning Ed. Not to say we wouldn't consider possible future additions. But there is definitely a balance between adding switches to the stick and using the very nice interfaces built into the display. I get having some functions that are on the stick. But in most of our planes the panel is up close and personal. So I find it is really convenient to just use the display interface. If you get a chance to play with one of our displays in person I think you'll find it very simple and intuitive to set the display up how you want it. A few examples of how that is possible:
  1. Switch from full screen to split screen mode by touching the dedicated split/full key (upper right corner in the example below). Very easy to access at the top of the screen and always in the same location so you can quickly toggle back and forth.
  2. Use the dedicated BACK button to toggle between split and full screen modes.
  3. Touch one of the nice inset windows while in full screen mode to quickly jump to the associated page in split screen mode. Or simply touch the engine strip to jump to the dedicated engine page.
  4. When in split screen mode, use the touchscreen page navigation to select your page, or just grab the outside knob and scroll easily through the series of pages. Scrolling here is very similar to the GPSMap 696 and original G3X and is my go to method out of habit. Some people prefer the touchscreen navigation.


Regards,
Brian
__________________
Garmin G3X Support
g3xpert@garmin.com
1-866-854-8433 - 7 to 7 Central Time M to F
Please email us for support instead of using Private Messaging due to the limitations of the latter.

Last edited by g3xpert : 10-03-2017 at 07:48 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 10-03-2017, 09:33 AM
Bavafa Bavafa is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Sacramento, CA
Posts: 2,071
Default

Brian/other G3X Users,
I have been reading more about the G3X system and leaning towards the G3X for my project and I wonder how most people wire the system at the engine start up time to get the critical engine info right away, things like oil pressure.

Do you need to start up the G3X system and let it boot up completely before cranking? How long does it take normally to boot up and how much power does it rob from the starter?

Ideally, I would like to have one on-off Avionics switch that turns on all my avionics. In my pervious plane, I had GRT EIS wired to the master which would give me the oil pressure and would take seconds to boot and be ready. Once all was good, I would turn on the Avionics switch.

There are many futures in GRT that I will miss
__________________
Mehrdad
RV7A - IO360M1B - SOLD
Dues paid
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 10-03-2017, 10:29 AM
Rick_A's Avatar
Rick_A Rick_A is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Highland Village, TX
Posts: 1,353
Default Start-up question

I have a backup battery that I use to power up my primary PFD screen an a few of the critical supporting components prior to engine start. It takes maybe 2 minutes to boot the system so that I can display the engine page before I start the engine. (I've never actually timed it)

Once the engine is running and I've checked oil pressure, etc., I power up the rest of the avionics. Since I use the BU battery for the G3X during start-up, it doesn't use any main battery power.

I'm using a small EarthX battery for the backup battery - mainly because it is the way I had my panel wired before I did the G3X upgrade. If I were starting from scratch, I'd probably use one the TCW batteries for my start-up/back-up battery.
__________________
Rick Aronow,
A&P, iRMT
Flying 7A Slider;
RV-12 (ELSA, Dual G3X), SOLD
Highland Village,TX
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 10-03-2017, 12:29 PM
n982sx n982sx is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 174
Default

I start up all the avionics when I get into the plane and start fastening my seatbelt. The G3x is up and running by the time I'm strapped in, although in the latest release of the software I now notice it takes longer for the ADAHRS to align. I get a progress bar on the G3x regarding the alignment. It doesn't take much time to finish.

I do have the ADAHRS and MFD wired to the GAD 27 which has a pin that will hold output voltage to 12v during engine cranking for them. I have noticed no effect on engine cranking even if I sit in the plane with the avionics on for awhile.

In my first plane, I had a separate avionics switch but I opted to go without in this one. Turn on the master all the avionics come on. I have had no problems with the system operating during engine cranking and I don't expect it to.

I do have a hook up to ground power if I want to run the avionics in the hanger for any extended period of time or recharge the battery if need be.

Optional things like lights and pitot heat have their own switches.
__________________
Bob Meyers

Built and Flying RV-14A N626KM SN 140093 http://n626km.com
Built and Flying Sonex N982SX http://n982sx.com
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 10-03-2017, 12:49 PM
Bavafa Bavafa is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Sacramento, CA
Posts: 2,071
Default

Thank you Rick and Bob for the info. I can't think of any good way (for me) to wire this as each have a down side to it.

Rick,
Is your back up battery wired to the master and would it switch to the ship's battery automatically when the main power is flipped on, presumably after the engine start? Which battery are you using? Do you know if it is possible to have a warning light at the panel that indicates lack of oil pressure and only power up the EIS during the start up?
__________________
Mehrdad
RV7A - IO360M1B - SOLD
Dues paid
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 10-03-2017, 02:59 PM
Rick_A's Avatar
Rick_A Rick_A is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Highland Village, TX
Posts: 1,353
Default

Mehrad,
The backup battery is just for avionics. It has a separate switch that I turn ON prior to engine start and leave it ON until I land and shut down. When on turn the BU bat on, the G3X (PFD) turns on - all the other avionics remain off. When I'm ready to start the engine, I turn the Master ON. After engine start I turn on the rest of the avionics.

The main battery voltage is slightly higher (about 0.3 or .04 volts) then the BU bat, so once the engine is running everything runs off the main battery/alternator (externally regulated B&C). The Electrical tab on the G3X engine page shows the Voltage of each battery and the Amp output of the alternator.

My brother helped me with the design of the electrial system during my panel upgrade and it is essentially exactly how it does it for all the G3X installations that he does in his shop and on his own plane.

I do have a Low Voltage idiot light that is independent of the G3X (it comes off the voltage regulator). I also have a Master Warning light but it is driven by G3X. I had an independent Oil Pressure warning light in my old panel but I decided not to put it back in when I went to the G3X.

If you want an stand alone Oil Pressure light, all you need to do is install a simple pressure switch wired to a light. I had mine on the standard 3 port/3 postion manifold that is in the Vans FWF kit.
__________________
Rick Aronow,
A&P, iRMT
Flying 7A Slider;
RV-12 (ELSA, Dual G3X), SOLD
Highland Village,TX
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:01 AM.


The VAFForums come to you courtesy Delta Romeo, LLC. By viewing and participating in them you agree to build your plane using standardized methods and practices and to fly it safely and in accordance with the laws governing the country you are located in.