- Donate yearly (please).
- Advertise in here!

- Today's Posts | Insert Pics

Go Back   VAF Forums > Model Specific > RV-10
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Old 09-03-2017, 07:59 PM

Question Older RV-10 QB kits - any changes

RV-10 guys,

I have a friend looking at a partly finished RV-10 kit for sale.

The kit is good and seems fairly priced but he asked a question about any QB kit changes over the years.

I have no knowledge on the 4 seater development and changes, so can anyone tell me if there have been any major changes over the last decade or so to the RV-10 QB kits?

Anything special to look for, other than construction quality?
RV-6A N61GX - finally flying
Grumman Tiger N12GA - flying
La Cholla Airpark (57AZ) Tucson AZ
Old 09-03-2017, 08:10 PM

Everything fiberglass (wing tips, cabin top, cowling) seems to have been improved.
Fuel valve placement: valve was lowered, extension to handle added, improved handle, better fuel line routing. All about March 2008
Old 09-03-2017, 08:30 PM

Also check the Van's web site to ensure that any S.B.'s have been incorporated, or be willing to do it yourself. I had to do one a kit that I bought 3 years ago.

Larry Anderson
Indianapolis
RV-8 N88XT Flying
RV-10 QB in Progress
Helicopter Instructor Pilot
Standardization I.P.
Instrument Examiner
U.S. Army Retired
EMS Pilot for LifeLine
At IU Health
Fee Exempt, but Dues Paid for 2016
Old 09-03-2017, 09:32 PM

Smile

Quote:
Originally Posted by BobTurner View Post
Everything fiberglass (wing tips, cabin top, cowling) seems to have been improved.
Fuel valve placement: valve was lowered, extension to handle added, improved handle, better fuel line routing. All about March 2008
The builder (an A&P) who has it for sale mentioned he had modified the circuitous routing of those lines by adding a union...
Old 09-04-2017, 10:42 AM