- POSTING RULES
- Donate yearly (please).
- Advertise in here!

- Today's Posts | Insert Pics

Go Back   VAF Forums > Model Specific > RV-12
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Old 06-12-2017, 06:51 PM

Default Oil Change Instructiions

OK, I have been changing oil for over 65 years, but thought I would check to see if my newly acquired Rotax was any different. To my dismay, although th previous owner included many manuals and papers, I can find NOTHING on changing the oil. Where should I be looking?
Retired US Army Officer
http://www.mykitlog.com/users/index....X&project=1903
Old 06-12-2017, 07:18 PM

For a simple oil change just drain and refill the tank without leaving it empty for long. With the filter also, there's a little more to it. You should be able to google some good videos about what to do with each line when you pull the can to wipe it out. If you let oil out of certain lines you have to do a pressure purge.
RV Hotel (hangar, room, car) at X35 in north FL

Commercial ASEL/S A&P/IA EAA Technical Counselor

Dynamic Prop Balancing, Prebuy Inspections, Condition Inspections, Repairs and Mods, Injector Tuning, Airframe, Engine, Panel Upgrades, Ferrying, etc.
Old 06-12-2017, 07:58 PM

There is a lot of information on maintaining the ROTAX 912 ULS on the following sites: 1.) www.rotax-owner.com and 2.) http://www.flyrotax.com/services/tec...mentation.html

One unique caveat regarding the 912's oil change (and in general): Do not turn the propeller backwards. That may cause air pockets to form in the various oil lines and require a "purging" of the oil system. "Purging" is not the same as the more typical "burping" of the oil system. This is all explained in the ROTAX service publications and various informational videos.

Keep in mind that the 912 is not like a Cont/Lyco/Frank -- the 912 requires specific maintenance techniques and procedures that are somewhat different from those used on traditional aircraft engines.