VansAirForceForums  
Home > VansAirForceForums

- POSTING RULES
- Donate yearly (please).
- Advertise in here!

- Today's Posts | Insert Pics

  #1  
Old 10-11-2017, 11:26 AM
sblack sblack is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Montreal
Posts: 1,145
Default iefis lite - transponder hookup

I saw in one of the manuals that the iefis lite can't output encoded altitude for a transponder. Is this correct? Or can it output it in some form, just not the traditional graycodes? I searched around on their knowledge base but I couldn't find anything. Anybody know?
__________________
Scott Black
RV 4, with an engine...and other stuff
VAF dues 2016
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-13-2017, 04:09 AM
dutchroll dutchroll is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 76
Default

The iEFIS "Lite" versions output serial (RS232) altitude encoder data. They don't output the older style "Gray" (Gillham) code format. The full flavoured version outputs both.

This is only a problem if your transponder doesn't accept serial altitude data, which shouldn't be an issue with any newer/modern style transponder.

They both use the same altitude encoder as far as I know (the Lite's encoder is in the display unit, and the full variant's encoder and its Gillham output socket is located in the "iBox", which you don't get with the Lite). The whole thing about the "Lite" is just that it sacrifices certain input/output connectivity, which includes Gray code format, for a much more compact system. It uses the same software & hardware - connectivity aside.

Just had a "Lite" installed in my Pitts connected to my Trig TT22 transponder. No issues as far as I'm aware.
__________________
Mike
Down Under

Last edited by dutchroll : 10-13-2017 at 04:23 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-13-2017, 10:32 AM
sblack sblack is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Montreal
Posts: 1,145
Default

Thanks Mike,

How do you like the Lite?

Scott
__________________
Scott Black
RV 4, with an engine...and other stuff
VAF dues 2016
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-13-2017, 04:50 PM
dutchroll dutchroll is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 76
Default

I haven't flown much with it since the install (which is very recent) due to other unrelated issues, but first impressions are very favourable.

I love the near total flexibility of the screen layouts, which takes some time to learn but once you get the hang of it you can do some pretty cool things via your PC and a micro SD card. Nav and firmware updates are super easy too.

If you need more connectivity you can connect their "extender module" which gives you a bunch of extra serial ports, etc. However for my VFR 2 seater, it has everything I need and the Explorer (8.5") screen just fits perfectly in my panel!

__________________
Mike
Down Under

Last edited by dutchroll : 10-13-2017 at 04:53 PM.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:06 PM.


The VAFForums come to you courtesy Delta Romeo, LLC. By viewing and participating in them you agree to build your plane using standardized methods and practices and to fly it safely and in accordance with the laws governing the country you are located in.