VansAirForceForums  
Home > VansAirForceForums

- POSTING RULES
- Donate yearly (please).
- Advertise in here!

- Today's Posts | Insert Pics

  #11  
Old 10-09-2017, 11:47 AM
RONSIM's Avatar
RONSIM RONSIM is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Largo, FL
Posts: 758
Default Environmentally friendly disposal

Ron, please send your EXP to me for proper "disposal"!

Thanks,

Ron
__________________
RV-10 Co-built (sold)
RV-8A Maintained and flown (Sold)
RV-6A Bought and Flying (N177RV)
IO360, 180HP/CS
Very Happy Contributor
Based at KCLW (Clearwater, FL)
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 10-09-2017, 01:50 PM
Ron77 Ron77 is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Location: Kemah, Texas
Posts: 12
Default Adios NavWorx

I have already purchased another ADSB solution for my plane. However, I will wait until the deadline to order the NavWorx "piggy-back GPS" to see if any units have actually shipped (not holding my breath). If not, my EXP will be disposed of.

If you want to punish yourself, I will sell my EXP now for $250.00. Just PM me.

Ron B.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 10-09-2017, 02:49 PM
N363RV's Avatar
N363RV N363RV is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Arlington, tx
Posts: 199
Default I have lost confidence as well...

I really hate to pile on here... but it's pretty uncool to force us to buy another dang gps receiver. I have a 430w and just want to send data like folks with the -b units do. But I frankly have had other problems with the unit so I don't want to waste any more time on it. I will wait until within a few months of the 2020 dead line before I gamble any more airplane money on another solution.

By the way... you should be able receive the weather regardless if you have a navworx or a stratux or whatever. Only traffic gets shut off due to sil 0.
__________________
Builders: John & Amanda
Model: RV 6A
Airworthiness issued Aug 2010
Based - GPM
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 10-09-2017, 02:59 PM
jliltd jliltd is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Farm Shack, TX
Posts: 205
Default

I too have an EXP model. New in the box with connectors. I bought it a few weeks before the FAA shut down Navworx a year ago. Then couldn't get a peep of a response back from Navworx. I should have learned my lesson years ago with the Blue Mountain debacle. This is right up there.

The sad thing is that this mainly hurts the other 2nd and 3rd tier device makers. I know many former Blue Mountain owners who went with the big G after their experience dealing with Blue Mountain. This is unfortunate for the likes of uAvionix, Skyradar, Freeflight etc. who, unlike Navworx, provide great customer support but might still be passed over by those same potential customers burned by Navworx and so choose to go Garmin from now on to make sure they can keep flying. A real shame.

Jim
__________________
RV-3B

Last edited by jliltd : 10-09-2017 at 11:53 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 10-09-2017, 08:19 PM
donaziza's Avatar
donaziza donaziza is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Atlanta
Posts: 466
Default Me 2

Me 2. I'm just sitting on an EXP in it's box-----reading all of this for "forever" already.
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 10-10-2017, 09:25 AM
GordonR GordonR is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Elkton, MD
Posts: 14
Default Technical issue on SIL

By the way... you should be able receive the weather regardless if you have a navworx or a stratux or whatever. Only traffic gets shut off due to sil 0.

I am receiving traffic on my 600EXP now. I do not know what is the transmitted SIL (how can I determine that?), but I think that the SIL=0 will only get transmitted if we install 6.0.0 software. Is that so?

If we put in the $300 doghouse and install 7.0.0 then SIL=3 will be transmitted. But for now, and without 6.0.0, I still get traffic.

Can any technically competent folks explain this to us?

GordonR
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 10-12-2017, 02:08 PM
DavidBunin DavidBunin is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: Rockwall, TX
Posts: 51
Default

That sounds right to me. If you're running the current software, it is broadcasting a SIL of 3 which is what makes the FAA mad but also makes everything work correctly.
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 10-12-2017, 02:33 PM
DennisRhodes DennisRhodes is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Taylorsville, Ga
Posts: 502
Default

The performance report you ask for will indicate the sil number that the unit is transmitting.
__________________
DRRhodes
2017 VAF dues paid
RV9 N908DR
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 10-12-2017, 03:15 PM
BobTurner BobTurner is online now
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Livermore, CA
Posts: 4,609
Default

Yes, get a report to see your SIL. Remember that even with no transmitter at all, an ADSB-in receiver will get some traffic, but not necessarily all (relevant) traffic.
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 10-16-2017, 03:47 PM
RobinHou RobinHou is online now
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Pasadena, California
Posts: 189
Default 600EXP Doghouse GPS

From Dallas Avionics:

"Limited production run, all orders must be received by Dec 1, 2017"

I just order mine, and am keeping my fingers crossed.

Do it at your own risk, but you can go here to place your order:
https://www.dallasavionics.com/cgi-b...tion=ads600exp
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:04 PM.


The VAFForums come to you courtesy Delta Romeo, LLC. By viewing and participating in them you agree to build your plane using standardized methods and practices and to fly it safely and in accordance with the laws governing the country you are located in.