VansAirForceForums  
Home > VansAirForceForums

- POSTING RULES
- Donate yearly (please).
- Advertise in here!

- Today's Posts | Insert Pics

  #1  
Old 07-14-2019, 10:46 AM
bob888 bob888 is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Fresno, CA
Posts: 242
Default VP-X Disconnect Problem

I have a Vertical Power unit with a G3X system. Recently there have been random disconnects of the AHRS unit. I can reset it on screen using the VP-X page and then OK for the rest of the flight. Anyone else experienced this? Fix?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 07-14-2019, 11:20 AM
g3xpert's Avatar
g3xpert g3xpert is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Olathe, KS
Posts: 2,464
Post

Quote:
Originally Posted by bob888 View Post
I have a Vertical Power unit with a G3X system. Recently there have been random disconnects of the AHRS unit. I can reset it on screen using the VP-X page and then OK for the rest of the flight. Anyone else experienced this? Fix?
Hello Bob,

You will want to make sure that Current Fault Detection is not enabled on the VP-X for this unit.

The VP-X manual warns that this feature should not be enabled for low current avionics devices like the GSU 25.

Thanks,
Steve
__________________
Garmin G3X Support
g3xpert@garmin.com
1-866-854-8433 - 7 to 7 Central Time M to F
Please email us for support instead of using Private Messaging due to the limitations of the latter.

Last edited by g3xpert : 07-14-2019 at 11:22 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 07-14-2019, 11:29 AM
rongawer rongawer is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Brentwood, CA
Posts: 505
Default

I have experienced this issue, however it reset on its own within seconds. I do have active logging on one second increment and looking at my logs, I donít see any interruptions with the VP-X, voltage or over current faults. What makes you suspect the VP unit? It seems more likely to me that there is an issue with the ADHRS (I have a GSU 25).

I had not experienced this until I updated the G3X to v8.3. Itís happened twice since then, but I have no idea whatís causing it or how to repeat it.

This topic probably belongs in the avionics forum...
__________________
Ron Gawer

- RV10, Build in progress.
- RV12, N975G, "The Commuter"
- Several others that are now just great memories for me.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 07-15-2019, 06:28 AM
Bill.Peyton's Avatar
Bill.Peyton Bill.Peyton is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: St. Louis, MO
Posts: 1,691
Default

I saw this same issue over the weekend. Message says AHARS 1 disconnect, or something like that. Traffic unavailable warning and then it rectified itself within 10 seconds or so. I am going to check the logs today and see what's up. Never seen this message before. Also saw the system act as though the MFD was failed and the engine instruments appeared on the PFD for a few seconds, then disappeared. This has happened twice now since the software update. This is a non-touch system.
__________________
Bill Peyton
RV-10 - 950 hrs
First Flight Oct 2012
WA0SYV
Aviation Partners, LLC
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 07-16-2019, 08:33 AM
rongawer rongawer is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Brentwood, CA
Posts: 505
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by g3xpert View Post
Hello Bob,

You will want to make sure that Current Fault Detection is not enabled on the VP-X for this unit.

The VP-X manual warns that this feature should not be enabled for low current avionics devices like the GSU 25.

Thanks,
Steve
I don't Current Fault Detection enabled for this device.

Due to the fact I have the VP-X Sport with fewer power circuits than the Pro version, I have my GSU 25 fused to the same power circuit as my GEA 24. I've not had any interruptions with my engine indications, so the issue is not with the VP-X, but rather it's the ADAHRS or related component.
__________________
Ron Gawer

- RV10, Build in progress.
- RV12, N975G, "The Commuter"
- Several others that are now just great memories for me.

Last edited by rongawer : 07-16-2019 at 10:25 AM. Reason: Correction
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 07-16-2019, 08:59 AM
Brantel's Avatar
Brantel Brantel is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Newport, TN
Posts: 7,441
Default

I know these issues can end up being very specific on what components are installed and the critical specific details but as one data point:

I have a dual screen G3X Touch System.
PFD - Uses a GSU73 as its primary AHRS
MFD/PFD - Uses a GSU25 as its primary AHRS
VPX-Pro

I have not experienced any drop outs of the GSU25 that I have noticed with ver 8.30 firmware. Possible I have missed em though if they are fast.
__________________
Brantel (Brian Chesteen),
Check out my RV-10 builder's BLOG
RV-10, #41942, N?????, Working on Emp/Tail Cone
---------------------------------------------------------------------
RV-7/TU, #72823, N159SB
Lyc. O-360 carbed, HARTZELL BA CS Prop, Dual P-MAGs, Dual Garmin G3X Touch
Track N159SB (KK4LIF)
Like EAA Chapter 1494 on Facebook
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 06:38 PM.


The VAFForums come to you courtesy Delta Romeo, LLC. By viewing and participating in them you agree to build your plane using standardized methods and practices and to fly it safely and in accordance with the laws governing the country you are located in.