What's new
Van's Air Force

Don't miss anything! Register now for full access to the definitive RV support community.

voltage adjustment

13.7 is not enough? That appears to be a pretty good charge rate. I don't know that it can be increased short of surgery. Talk to Joe Gores, he is the resident expert.

I believe that the voltage should be between 14.0 & 14.2. In any case, the Dynon shows it usually in the yellow zone and I'd like it to be green.

Thanks for your quick response.

You might want to rig up some temporary test wires and check the charging voltage at the battery with a multimeter as an independent check before messing with anything. I have no direct knowledge of the Dynon unit, but such instruments with multiple power inputs often have diodes inside that stop current from going in unwanted directions but also drop the incoming voltage down by 0.5 volts or so, which is exactly the discrepancy you are concerned about here. In short, 13.7 V may be completely normal.

erich

I haven't done as you've suggested yet but I had planned to do just that. Excellent suggestion. Thanks.

The Dynon will show lower voltage. I have the ability to read actual volts as well as what shows on the engine monitor. Its always .5 volts less then actual.

George

No can do!

If you have a stock RV12 with the rotax engine then you cannot adjust the voltage.:D

I checked my RV-12 voltage with two meters, the engine off, master switch on and avionics on. One meter read 12.35 and the other read 12. 25. The meter average is 12.3. The Dynon D-180 voltage was 12.1 for a difference of 0.2 volts. While flying, my D-180 displays 13.6 volts. If the Dynon EMS voltmeter is anything like handheld digital voltmeters, there could very well be slight variations between Dynon units.