What's new
Van's Air Force

Don't miss anything! Register now for full access to the definitive RV support community.

New RV-12 SB13-12-12...

There's gotta be a better way

than removing the instrument panels with all the stuff that's now attached to them! This looks like a recipe for all kinds of avionics failures. Anybody looked at doing this from the outside with the upper fuse skin (attached with screws) off?

Those of us flying sport pilot shouldn't be in precip but there are airplanes outside, I guess

:confused:
Wayne 120241/143WM

Removing F-1240 upper fuse skin

Sure looks like the simplest way to handle this is the remove the upper fuse skin, apply Boelube and sealant and then reattach. Agree that reaching in through the instrument panels to apply a bead of sealant doesn't look like the best way to do this, but the SB suggests that for flying aircraft.

Am I missing something?

I am a VFR only pilot , in a VFR only airplane so tell me why I need to seal the avionics bay? I have been flying for 2.5 years. It was obvious that in rain, water might get into the avionics. But, I fly LSA, no IFR, no rain, no problem! I am guessing that the RV-12 isn't so hot in ice either. Come on Folks, the 12 is a VFR airplane. Don't fly into rain, which usually seems to be associated with clouds and/or IFR conditions. When I wash my airplane I try not to spray water in a way to get my expensive avionics wet. I have had no problems wih moisture to date. If I parked my plane on the ramp, I would not depend on RTV to keep water out, I would buy a quality canopy cover.

Maybe not in Kalifornia, but I've been flying for over 45 years, all VFR, and I've flown in lots of rain.

I fly LSA, no IFR, no rain, no problem!