What's new
Van's Air Force

Don't miss anything! Register now for full access to the definitive RV support community.

Who is qualified?

milt1492

Hey everyone, I was wondering who is qualified to fly the phase 1 flight testing? I am new to this, but I have found some references to the FAR/AIM and here is what it said. I'm paraphrasing by the way.

"will be flown by a qualified pilot"

My question is...What qualifications does someone need to be a qualified? Is it PPL, Instrument, and CFI or is it more? Is it less?

Thanks,
Milt

...My question is...What qualifications does someone need to be a qualified? Is it PPL, Instrument, and CFI or is it more? Is it less?

Thanks,
Milt
It isn't a piece of paper, other than to have a private pilot's license or above. It is subjective. It is someone you think is capable!

Call you Insurance agent

Check with your insurance company. I have found that the insurance companies regulate who can fly your plane more then the FAA. Of coarse they can not stop you from having any FAA qualified person fly your plan but they can deny coverage if something goes wrong.

Also, depends on some common sense. Since I had no RV experience, I got a local RV pilot (Brad Ransom) to do my first flights. He also did the stability tests and, when we got that far, the G testing and aerobatics. I was Ok to do the fuel burn, W&B profiling, and rate of climb testing. So, not necessarily a single test pilot. Best man for the job...

I asked Kahuna to do my first flight. Glad I did too. He undoubtedly saved my engine when he shut it down on a high downwind and dead sticked the airplane. Search on the forums here and you'll find the write-up of my first flight.

Was I qualified to fly the airplane? Certainly.
Was he MORE qualified to fly the airplane? No doubt about it.
Was MY first flight in my airplane any less exciting? I don't think so.

Only PPL required.
"Can Fly the plane" is not known and is absolutely not required.