What's new
Van's Air Force

Don't miss anything! Register now for full access to the definitive RV support community.

Should I wait to install my fuel servo and engine controls?

jcarne

Well Known Member
Patron
Hello, I hung the engine today (pics to come in my build log) and won't have much to do until late tomorrow when my dad comes to help me rivet on the forward top skin.

Long story short, would there be any issue with mounting the fuel servo and hooking it up before doing the cowl? Just trying to keep the ball rolling here. It would also be nice to have the controls hooked up before closing the top skin.

It is a horizontal induction M1B. I don't see what the problem would be but figure I better check with the pros. :D

I am not a professional but i don't see any reason not to do so. The fuel servo and associated control cables are well within the build space of the lower cowl. The cowl will not care if there's a connected fuel servo or not.

Last edited:
I am not a professional but i don't see any reason not to do so. The fuel servo and associated control cables are well within the build space of the lower cowl. The cowl will not care if there's a connected fuel servo or not.

Those were my thoughts exactly but I wanted to make sure there wasn't some ridiculous gotcha that would make me take it all apart or if it would be in the way while maneuvering the lower cowl 100 times.

I had the procedure of fitting then finalizing FWF installations as there were a lot of potentially conflicting demands for space. In this case, I can not think of a single reason not to fit it now, establish that the routing, length and potential interferences are acceptable, mark the stops for travel then move on. But beware, it may have to come back off for one reason or another.