What's new
Van's Air Force

Don't miss anything! Register now for full access to the definitive RV support community.

Navigation transition from ground based to satellite

I'm in

I have no ground based navigation capability in my aircraft - it's all GPS. Two separate units (one IFR, one VFR) with battery back ups.

Granted, if I was counting on the airplane for hard IFR on a scheduled run I would have it, but for the kind of flying I do I didn't see the need.

My 2 cents.

Just my thoughts...

OK... I'm an engineer... I think in terms of "What If". In nuclear power we design and plan around low risk/hi probability and high consequence/low probability. Managing risk in the national air system is much the same. Frankly, I really worry about depending on all GPS navigation because there are numerous single events that could entirely wipe out navigation capability on the sea as well as air. Large solar flares can certaintly happen. I know this sounds a little "off the wall", but what I worry about most is a space based EMF detionation that could easily be done by any number of nations. Then what is the back up plan? Back to dead reckoning? I've just never liked having all my eggs in one basket.

I really don't think it's in our national security interest to rely solely on GPS for finding our way around. I think it's short sighted. It's just my thoughts on the subject.

Mike, read the newsletter. Your answer is in there.

Also download/read the Federal Radionavigation Plan