VansAirForceForums  
Home > VansAirForceForums

- POSTING RULES
- Donate yearly (please).
- Advertise in here!

- Today's Posts | Insert Pics

  #1  
Old 10-29-2017, 03:38 PM
JDA_BTR JDA_BTR is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Baton Rouge, LA
Posts: 459
Default Dynon heated pitot probe with G3X system

Iím building up a G3X system and happen to have a heated Dynon pitot probe. I donít think there is any reason not to use it. Iím curious about the status line. Does anyone know what that status line does exactly? Any reason I should not use it with the garmin system? Iíll wire the status lead up to my gad27 as a discreet input.
__________________
<------------------------------------------------->
N1463 seems a good number....
<------------------------------------------------->
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-03-2017, 01:24 AM
Tag Tag is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Phoenix, AZ and Senoia, GA
Posts: 40
Default Dynon Status

Go to Aircraft Spruce site for the Dynon Probe and they have a link to the Install Manual. It says the Status line sends a signal to activate a light whenever the Pitot Heat is either turned Off or Failed. I suspect your plan should work.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-03-2017, 10:39 AM
Bavafa Bavafa is online now
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Sacramento, CA
Posts: 2,116
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tag View Post
Go to Aircraft Spruce site for the Dynon Probe and they have a link to the Install Manual. It says the Status line sends a signal to activate a light whenever the Pitot Heat is either turned Off or Failed. I suspect your plan should work.
It sends a signal (ground connection) to the light if the pitot tube is turned on and not working(failed) so one of the discrete connection on GAD 27can be used for this. BTW, there was a recall for Dynon heated pitot tube, just in case you had not heard of it, you may want to check with them.
__________________
Mehrdad
RV7A - IO360M1B - SOLD
Dues paid

Last edited by Bavafa : 11-03-2017 at 10:42 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11-03-2017, 06:25 PM
DRMA DRMA is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: Sugar Land, TX
Posts: 141
Default

You might want to check on the compatibility of the Dynon pitot with the G3X Angle of Attack (AOA) input. I don't know if it will or won't work, but the AOA may be different between the two probes?
__________________
Dave Macdonald

RV-10 Finishing Kit in-progress
2017 VAF Dues Paid
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 11-05-2017, 07:22 AM
Jesse's Avatar
Jesse Jesse is offline
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: X35 - Ocala, FL
Posts: 3,160
Default

It should work fine. Iíd be surprised if the AOA doesnít work too.
__________________
Jesse Saint (Saint Aviation, Inc. - VAF Advertiser)
352-427-0285
jesse@saintaviation.com
RV Hotel (hangar, room, car) at X35 in north FL

Commercial ASEL/S A&P/IA EAA Technical Counselor

Dynamic Prop Balancing, Prebuy Inspections, Condition Inspections, Repairs and Mods, Injector Tuning, Airframe, Engine, Panel Upgrades, Ferrying, etc.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 08:00 PM.


The VAFForums come to you courtesy Delta Romeo, LLC. By viewing and participating in them you agree to build your plane using standardized methods and practices and to fly it safely and in accordance with the laws governing the country you are located in.