What's new
Van's Air Force

Don't miss anything! Register now for full access to the definitive RV support community.

Proseal out of date

pappa

Ready to do my second tank and my sealer is one month out of date...3/19
In my mine it can't be bad, but what say you? Should I get a fresh can? Would you use it? Thank you for your time and excellent opinion.

I agree with control. I've this question before, and one individual from Vans said "if you can get it out of the can, use it". But, I have 2 "old" cans (several years) and just started on my tanks, I bought some new stuff.......cheap insurance.

I think, in your case, one month out......I'd probably use it.

I would not worry about something that is a month out of date. It gets harder to work with over time. I would not hesitate using it on my tanks.

Use it

My day job is keeping the KC10 fuel tankers flying...we use Proseal by the truckloads. A month is nothing, and I have used "expired" sealant that is 2 years past date with no issues.

My day job is keeping the KC10 fuel tankers flying...we use Proseal by the truckloads. A month is nothing, and I have used "expired" sealant that is 2 years past date with no issues.

Same experience for me using 2 year expired proseal with no issues.

I used ?in - date? ProSeal for my tanks. They don?t leak. When I filled them the first time and saw no blue streaks, that was a BIG RV grin.

Hi,
Spoke to Proseal manufacturers regarding use by dates and using out of date material. (These answers were "off the record ")
They said that the the six month use by date was to ensure product was guaranteed to be as stated in specifications.
Provided product was kept stored within temperatures (preferably at the cool end) and a test sample went off at the approx stated time interval following mixing the product would be fine to use however old it was.