What's new
Van's Air Force

Don't miss anything! Register now for full access to the definitive RV support community.

Bonding Impedance

rvmv

I'm new to the electronics stuff. I ran across this in the install instructions for a transponder.

"Bonding impedance between aircraft ground and the unit chassis must be less than 2.5 milliohms."

Is this the resistance to current flow from the chassis to ground and can you measure it by using a multimeter on the ohm setting with one probe on the chassis and the other on the aircraft body where it attaches? Thanks

I think that practically this just means a good electrical connection, and a good electrical connection is made by creating a good physical connection. Measure it with an ohm meter, usually a multimeter set to ohms.

You're not going to measure that with a regular ohm meter. The simplest way to ensure a good connection is to just use a 'star washer' or internal tooth lock washer under the screw head and the nut.

You're not going to measure that with a regular ohm meter. The simplest way to ensure a good connection is to just use a 'star washer' or internal tooth lock washer under the screw head and the nut.

The above will work, however this method should only be used in non-structural applications (star washers will damage aluminum).
Info on proper grounding installation/assy can be found in 43.13 1B chapt 11.